We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Casa de Leda Beautiful Boutique Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Casa de Leda - a Kali Hotel
Ranked #2 of 67 Hotels in Santa Marta
Certificate of Excellence
Denver, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
“Casa de Leda Beautiful Boutique Hotel”
Reviewed December 3, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at Casa de Leda. Our room was on the main floor right off the lobby which initially made me worry about noise. You can definitely hear some lobby noise, but overall the room is very quiet. Not much natural light, but the blinds can be adjusted to brighten the room. The living space itself was beautiful and unique; designed to have a loft feel. Bedroom and bathroom on the main floor with an elevated lounge area which included a fold out futon. The service was excellent and many of the staff spoke or understood English. The hotel is small with only 10 rooms but has plenty of privacy. The rooftop patio is wonderful for breakfast or happy hour during the evening. The hotel has WiFi, sauna and cooling pool. It's well decorated, with good attention to detail and special touches throughout. The only thing missing was a full sized swimming pool and/or hottub... although I doubt any hotels in the area can offer this, however after speaking with the owner/manager there are plans to expand the hotel itself and put in a rooftop pool.The price and location are right, you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank ContentToWander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacob_Schwarz, Owner at Casa de Leda - a Kali Hotel, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Thank you for this review. You really hit the nail on the head with what we are trying to achieve here. In designing the hotel, we tried to make the rooms as spacious as possible while still allowing for many open common spaces. I'm glad you enjoyed our hotel so much, as it was a pleasure to have you. Don't forget to always book directly with us (over the phone, email, or via our website) for the best discounts and promotions.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

519 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    427
    68
    17
    5
    2
See reviews for
61
317
31
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mek'ele, Ethiopia
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2013

I spent 3 nights in this boutique hotel and I would recommend it for its good location, details and comfort of the room and for the great services of the staff. Dont miss out the spa and massage who are divine!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank angelique a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacob_Schwarz, Owner at Casa de Leda - a Kali Hotel, responded to this review, December 8, 2013
We greatly appreciate your review! We are very glad you enjoyed your time here. We put a lot of time and energy into designing the rooms and thinking about the details, so it is great to hear that you noticed them. But, as you noted, even the nicest hotel is nothing without its staff, and we are very lucky to have such a dedicated team. Thanks a lot!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2013

We stayed in this hotel just for one night before going to NP Tayrona, but it was an excellent stay. We have a room on the second floor, where we have had drinks and food prepared by Giovanni - a very charming and friendly barman. The views from the terrace over the city and Santa Marta's Cathedral were something special.

The room (especially the shower) is very comfortable, and the all the staff were great and helpful. In light of our experience, we have booked a night in another hotel of the Kali group just outside NP Tayrona (Villa Maria).

I have only one suggestion to the owners / Jacob: it would be great if you could serve good coffee (e.g. like Juan Valdes).

Anyways, it was a great stay. Thanks!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LAvdP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacob_Schwarz, Owner at Casa de Leda - a Kali Hotel, responded to this review, December 8, 2013
Thank you for your kind words. We are so happy that you chose us for your stay in Santa Marta, and that we were able to make your time here incredible. Giovanni is a great asset to the hotel, and I will be sure to pass along your wishes to him. I am so glad that your time at Casa de Leda inspired you to go to Villa Maria. That property is a true slice of paradise and I wish that everyone who stayed in Santa Marta could experience it. We hope to see you again soon, and be sure to book directly with us for the best discounts and promotions.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2013

Nice hotel, new, very clean. We stayed recently three night, we accommodated in the suite!
Pros: cleanness, near everything, modern
Cons: the swimming pool is located besides the entrance, not private at all. Useless!
Poor variety of breakfast after three days you've tried all the possibilities. Maybe that king of hotel has to think in a breakfast buffet, some another suggestion for light dinner...
Wi-fi is really poor at the rooms!
The heart of the hotel is Francisco! He oriented us better that the people from the reception desk!
With a little changes this hotel could be the top of Santa Marta.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveler I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brian_sutcliffe, Owner at Casa de Leda - a Kali Hotel, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Thank you for your review, and I would like to address some of the issues you mentioned.

The spa area is not meant to be a lap pool. It is located near the steam room and massage parlor, and is meant to have a Roman bath feel for escaping the midday heat and refreshing after a long day in the sun. It is not visible from the front desk, and only hotel guests are allowed to enter the area. I am sorry about any confusion of spa versus lap pool.

We have 6 WiFi routers throughout the hotel. Due to heavy construction and thick walls, we have placed 6 routers in a space that normally needs just 2. I sincerely apologize for the weak signal you experienced in your room, and am currently investigating how we can improve reception. If it takes 1 router per room, then that's what we'll do.

We have 10 rooms and offer a personalized made-to-order breakfast. A buffet is not functional for a small hotel, and it would bring down the quality of items we can offer. We offer six different breakfast choices, ranging from typical American breakfasts to traditional Santa Marta dishes. We make each breakfast to the taste of the guests with all fruit and eggs produced on our organic farm at Villa Maria. I hope you understand that a buffet breakfast is more typical of a large resort with hundreds of rooms. As we are a small boutique hotel, we try to give as personalized service as possible at all times.

Thanks again for staying with us, and we hope to see you again in the future
__
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garanhuns
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 23, 2013

We stayed there for only two nights, before going to Tayrona National Park, and it was absolutely great! The top floor open area, where we can have a drink or eat one of the meals prepared by Giovanni - accompanied by a bread that had just got out of the oven - while looking at the illuminated Santa Marta's Cathedral was something special. The room is extremely comfortable, and the whole staff, specially Giovanni, Francisco and Eder were great and helpful. The breakfast is great - we had arepa d'huevo and pancakes -, and the swimming pool and the sauna in the first floor are nice - though it seems a bit strange to be in a pool just beside the reception, where people are getting in and out the hotel the whole time. It would be better if it were on the top floor.

I have only one suggestion to the owners: it would be nice to have a door to the shower box, so that it doesn't get too cold when we're having a shower, and that it doesn't get wet outside.

One final comment: on the day we left, we asked at the reception that they booked a room at Casa La Fe in Cartagena, also part of the Kali Hotels group, where we would go back to after spending a few days in Villa Maria, another hotel of the group. We asked once and confirmed the request later, before we left. When we were in Villa Maria we talked to the receptionist again on the phone, to be sure the booking had been made, and they answered back confirming it. When we finally got to Cartagena two days later, late at night, what a surprise we had when we were told the reservation hadn't been made. All they did, as people at Casa La Fe told us, was calling and asking if there were rooms available, not actually booking a room for us. Fortunately we managed to get a room anyway, and everything went fine, but it could have happened otherwise, and it could have been a problem - specially because my wife is pregnant.

Either way, the hotel is great.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Otavio R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brian_sutcliffe, Owner at Casa de Leda - a Kali Hotel, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Thank you for this great review. We apologize for the issue with the reservation. We investigated throughly and realized the issue was a breakdown in communication at our reception. This has been corrected and it will not happen in the future. We experienced some procedural misunderstandings with how to handle Casa la Fe reservations. We appreciate your understanding and patience with us as we grow into the best option in Colombia. We look forward to your return. Thank you again for pointing this out and your understanding.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flemington, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for 3 nights in mid Sep 2013 and we absolutely loved it. One of the owners, Jacob, was on premises and readily available to accomodate all of our needs. We stayed in one of the suites, which was stunning and offered every amenity we could imagine. The view of the cathedral was icing on the cake. This suite would be perfect for a honeymoon couple. The hotel was beautifully decorated, the staff top notch, and the complimentary breakfast was delicious, served on an outdoor patio. We were able to easily walk to the city center. The hotel is very near to the ocean, parks and restaurants. If we ever return to Santa Marta, we would definitely stay at this luxury hotel again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Josh W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brian_sutcliffe, Owner at Casa de Leda - a Kali Hotel, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Thank you for the great review. I love the view of the cathdral as well. I really enjoy sitting on the terrace in the evening as there is a cool breeze and at dust everyday a flock of tropical green parakeets come the sit in the tree. there must be thousands chirping away and then as quickly as they came the leave. It is some sort of daily ritual that I love to watch:)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnaby
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2013

What an amazing hotel. They have thought of everything from the spa shower to the eucalyptus steam room and the roman dip pool, with disco lights, waterfall and candlelight. Its a very romantic place. The rooms are gorgeous, we stayed in 2 different ones and they were both unique and gorgeous. The breakfast are great, very nice presentation, service and all made fresh to order with a menu. The service is amazing. Everyone is very thoughtful. The best hotel in our whole 3 weeks in Colombia. Also, very reasonabley priced for a 5 star. Love it.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank somoney3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brian_sutcliffe, Owner at Casa de Leda - a Kali Hotel, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Thanks for the kind words! We spent a ton of time and money planning all our properties. We appreciate guests taking notice and hope to build a loyal clientele! When you return always book direct for best rates and try to combine our hotels for better discounts Cartagena, Santa Marta and Tayrona.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Marta
0.2 mi away
Casa de Isabella - a Kali Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hotel Boutique Casa Carolina
Hotel Boutique Casa Carolina
#3 of 67 in Santa Marta
474 reviews
7.0 mi away
Zuana Beach Resort
Zuana Beach Resort
#8 of 67 in Santa Marta
1,539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Hotel Tamaca Beach Resort
Hotel Tamaca Beach Resort
#5 of 67 in Santa Marta
628 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Boutique Don Pepe
Hotel Boutique Don Pepe
#6 of 67 in Santa Marta
217 reviews
22.7 mi away
Villa Maria Tayrona - a Kali Hotel
Villa Maria Tayrona - a Kali Hot...
#1 of 3 in Tayrona National Park
543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa de Leda - a Kali Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa de Leda - a Kali Hotel

Property: Casa de Leda - a Kali Hotel
Address: Calle 18 No. 4-38 (Calle del Pozo) | El Centro Historico, Santa Marta, Colombia (Formerly Casa de Leda Hotel & Spa)
Location: Colombia > Magdalena Department > Santa Marta District > Santa Marta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 67 Hotels in Santa Marta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Casa de Leda - a Kali Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa de Leda is the newest addition to Kali Hotels. Its luxurious and relaxing spa complements each room's unique and grand style. First owned by a wealthy family of Santa Marta's golden age, the original house where Casa de Leda sits dates back to the late 19th century. While most of that house no longer stands, we salvaged its original fluted columns, facade, and floor tiling. In this remodeling, as with Casa de Isabella, we consistently chose classical style, maintaining the building's original integrity whenever possible. With Casa de Leda, we proudly present a full service boutique hotel and spa. Spacious rooms under vaulted ceilings give way to open bathrooms with plenty of natural light. The open terrace, flanked by cascades of green vines and equipped with a cooling mist system, overlooks the Santa Marta Cathedral. Each room includes an aromatherapy kit, and some have in-room hot tubs. Flat screen TVs in every room have media players with music stations and video libraries. We also provide free WiFi, international calling, and breakfast cooked-to-order. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Casa de Leda - a Kali Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing