We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Santa Marta
Post
Inbox
Search
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (68)
Filter reviews
68 results
Traveler rating
55
6
3
2
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
55
6
3
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews huge pool happy hours a day ping pong entire block quality place cinema room on site restaurant social atmosphere great atmosphere pool table great place to chill air conditioning cartel vibe netflix adrenaline moto
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 68 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed at drop bear hostel for one night in a private room. Even though we read it is not a party hostel we definitely had the impression it is. The music was loud already when we arrived in the afternoon and stayed loud until early morning (approximately 4 am). This is why it was only possible to sleep with earplugs.
In our opinion the hostel could still improve regarding cleanliness. There were some spots on our bed sheets and on the towls we received.
The breakfast which is included for persons staying in a private room is VERY basic: scrambled eggs, 2 toast and black coffee (not even butter / milk).
The kitchen which can be used was not the best equipped. We had trouble finding enough cutlery to eat. However, the guy working in the kitchen was very helpful.
We had burritos for lunch which were good!
Other than that we were very thankful that we could store our bags at the hostel for several days before our stay. This worked perfectly fine.
The hostel is a bit outside Santa Marta, which is convenient if you only want to make a short stop in Santa Marta to catch a bus from the terminal. That way you avoid going all the way to the city.

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank chruschtschoph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2019 via mobile

Great pool, great bartender, great people. Would recommend for a solo traveler looking for a good time. Definitely a party hostel atmosphere so come here ready to play and meet new backpackers. Well worth it.

Date of stay: October 2019
Trip type: Traveled solo
Thank dallasliketexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2019

The hostel is central located, has a beautiful pool and a very nice social atmosphere. The staff is bilingual and very helpful. As somebody ho has been travelling for a year this is definitly a recommendation.

Date of stay: October 2019
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank Nick F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2019

In a town full of 5-star beach resorts, this place definitely stands above the rest when it comes to budget accommodation. I paid hostel prices for suite accommodation. Even as a hostel, this place had plenty to do (pool, bar, several televisions). I immediately received an upgraded room once confronted with maintenance issues. This is a great place to stay whether you are a backpacker or more sophisticated traveler.

Value For Money: 5/5 ​Security: 4/5 ​ Location: 3/5

Facilities: 5/5 Staff: 5/5 Cleanliness: 4/5

Date of stay: August 2019
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rbrow018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dropb208, Gerente at Drop Bear Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2019


Thanks for your comment. You are always coming!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2019

Do not overlook this place! yes it is a little further away from town and the beach but it is worth it! The hostel is a huge ex cartel mansion which takes up an entire block! the pool is one of the biggest i have seen in Santa Marta! The food from the kitchen was great! the vibe was great! this place is just all round great! Bar is very social and has loads of happy hours and ways to win free drinks! staff were friendly and the neighbourhood is nice with a supermarket 5 blocks away

Date of stay: August 2019
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank magicmicky1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews