We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ex-cartel mansion...yes please!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Drop Bear Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Drop Bear Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
40 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Ex-cartel mansion...yes please!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

From the staff to the fact you get to stay in a mansion from the 70's, this is one of my favorite hostels. The rooms & bathrooms are clean yet basic for a good price range. The common areas are spacious and entertaining...pool, hammocks everywhere, ping pong table, huge flat screen and a cool bar. ;)
Gabe the owner knows a lot about the area so helped us plan some great mini trips to beaches, minca, ciudad perdida, etc. While I was there the hostel hosted an array of social events including tour of the mansion (owner, hidden tunnels, crazy stories, etc), party chiva bus, salsa night too!
The cook, Willy, is also awesome...so make sure to order at least one meal from him.
This is a great pick and comfortable place to stay while cruising around Santa Marta area!

Room Tip: Pay the extra $5 for the room with AC. If you have the budget, stay in the suite...it's like a r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank allisonsnyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    193
    56
    17
    2
    6
See reviews for
1
84
75
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Medellin, Colombia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

Absolutely brilliant hostel, one of the best I´ve stayed in on my trip, the owner can´t do enough for you, his tour of the house (it used to be owned by drug cartel) is really interesting, the food is great and a really comfortable stay here. Would reccomend this to anyone, it will soon be one of the big hostel destinations in Santa Marta, should be in LP!

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank smpp92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013

We stayed here on and off for 3 weeks as we visited sites in the area around Santa Marta such as Tayrona National Park and Palamino.

This is a great hostel with lots of character as it is run out of a former Cartel house. The staff are very friendly and helpful with advice for activities in the area and facilities are great including:
- Great pool
- Huge kitchen
- Good fast Wifi
- Info and advice on the Santa Marta area posted around the place
- Bar
- Theater room

The hostel is not really a party hostel. People do have large nights in the bar but the hostel is so big that you can chill in many other areas away from the noise and noise wont reach the rooms.

Also checked out the Dreamer while we were in Santa Marta for two nights and were less than impressed when compared to Drop Bear.

Thanks to Gabe and his staff for a great stay!

Room Tip: If you are staying in a private room Doble 3 is the best - its large and quiet. Don't stay in Do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Higgiewig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
36 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013

Really lovely hostel. The rooms and hostel are huge. Loads of places to find your own space to chill out by yourself or to meet other people. Great kitchen. Really close to a big supermarket.

Cool bar. Pool was a great treat. The tour of the house and its Cartel history was really interesting.

A little bit out of town but there's not a massive amount to see in Santa Marta it's self.

We used it as a base to visit the surrounding attractions.

The only really negative I have is that the shower in the air conditioned dorm was rubbish! But there are other showers that you could use.

I'd definitely recommend staying here!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank baileyOT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

Fantastic hostel with one of the best rooms we have stayed in, one of the best kitchens, a great communal area, a pool, and a really interesting history/house tour.
There really is no need to go to any other hotel - the staff are friendly, the location is a bit out of the centre but it's well worth the effort that this may cause.
Easy to get to Tayrona and a massive supermarket close by for self-caterers.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sean M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

The best chillout hostel we have ever stayed in! It has everything you need, the rooms are big, cool and clean, the kitchen is clean and spacious & there is a supermarket nearby, the pool is an added little luxury and the bar is great! All the staff were friendly and approachable and went out of their way to help with organising trips etc but at the same time weren't overbearing & you really felt you could just chill out & have your own space. Party time & rana competitions in the bar were amazing fun, we had a couple of great nights up dancing with other guests & staff (Regina who works in the bar has got the moves!). However, if you do need some shut eye, the place is so big & the walls so thick that you won't hear a thing! Santa Marta itself is a bit crappy but a stop off for a lot of people before Tayrona so I would encourage a stay at this great hostel on your way!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Josie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

huge rooms. comfy beds. hot water all the time. cool bar. GREAT pool. great kitchen. staff was friendly and helpful. great place to stay just needs more people as its new and needs the word of mouth to pass on the message!!

Room Tip: 8 bed doom has hammocks all around it and great views of the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank abarrongirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Marta hotels
1.5 mi away
Hotel Miami SM
Hotel Miami SM
#36 of 68 in Santa Marta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
1.0 mi away
La Guaca Hostel
La Guaca Hostel
#3 of 145 in Santa Marta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
1.5 mi away
Masaya Hostel Santa Marta
Masaya Hostel Santa Marta
#2 of 145 in Santa Marta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 666 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
La Villana Hostel
La Villana Hostel
#9 of 145 in Santa Marta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
0.6 mi away
Zleeping Hostel
Zleeping Hostel
#23 of 145 in Santa Marta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Dreamer Hostel
The Dreamer Hostel
#4 of 145 in Santa Marta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Drop Bear Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drop Bear Hostel

Property: Drop Bear Hostel
Address: Carrera 21 20 - 36 | Barrio Jardín, Santa Marta 470005, Colombia
Location: Colombia > Magdalena Department > Santa Marta District > Santa Marta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 145 Specialty Lodging in Santa Marta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come experience coastal Colombia and all that Santa Marta has to offer in the Australian Drop Bear Hostel. We are the central hub of Santa Marta for your day trips, treks and tours. Perfectly placed for easy access to the city centre, PARQUE TAYRONA, THE LOST CITY, DIVING, TAGANGA, PALOMINO AND MUCH MORE. As well as nearby supermarkets and ATMs. The hostel in extremely spacious with a restaurant, self-catered kitchen, massive TV/chill-out/games room, bar, gardens, over 20 hammocks and a giant pool. Not mention the most comfortable and clean beds in Santa Marta. So come join us for a cocktail, enjoy our daily activities like Monday Movie nights by the poolside cinema, Saturday night party buses, Thursday trivia and much more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Drop Bear Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing