We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Burgers and Staff!”
Review of La Placita Burger Bar - CLOSED

La Placita Burger Bar
Price range: $5 - $13
Cuisines: Bar
Dining options: Late Night, Private Dining, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Private Dining, Reservations
Reviewed December 9, 2012

This was our favorite restaurant during our two week stay in Colombia! The staff are very friendly and they know how to make a darn good burger too! My fiance' and I shared a burger and a salad-both were very good and left us feeling satisfied! You must go here while in Santa Marta!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Ashley U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (177)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

43 - 47 of 177 reviews

Reviewed November 30, 2012

I went to this place with great expectation by reading the various reviews but I must say that this is not a great hamburger joint. First meat is cooked on flat top and not charbroiled (less tasty) and most of all fries are pre-cut frozen unacceptable in a place that sells only fries and burgers. freshly cut fries are a must in my agenda! Stay away from patties topped with cheap Kraft BBQ sauce.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
4  Thank FrankieTa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
david m, Owner at La Placita Burger Bar, responded to this reviewResponded December 2, 2012

Hi, thank you for your comments, however allow me to inform you a couple of things. At La Placita we work every day to give our customers not only good food, but also we are committed to our customer's health, that's why we don't use charcoal, because the usage of this element is prohibited by law on closed areas, clearly stipulated in Colombian normativity.
Second of all, cooks, chefs and foodies, know that there are several ways to cook fries, our method is to cut them , making a first frying , then freezing the product, and finally deep frying it , achieving a nice puree on the inside and a crispy layer on the outside. That is called thermal shock. Also it's mandatory in this kind of weather to freeze all the perishable products.

Finally I disagree with you on your last comment. Heinz , Kraft, Hunts etc are very good bases to start a nice sauce as our BBQ made with a red beer reduction.

Thank you; hope you had a nice time in Colombia.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2012

La Placita has the best Burger in Town, is hard to get good food when you are traveling but this place is definitely the best way to have a great time in Santa Marta!! Definitely the best burgers and service in town. Something else the staff is unbelievable.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Ana_CaceresGonzalez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
david m, Owner at La Placita Burger Bar, responded to this reviewResponded December 2, 2012

Thank you for your comments Ana , hope to see you soon !!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2012

The decor is bright and fun and the staff was su[er friendly! The food was fantastic, too - reminded me of the burgers back home! It's located in a nice area with bars nearby - a great place to hang out for the night. Check this place out!

2  Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
david m, Owner at La Placita Burger Bar, responded to this reviewResponded December 2, 2012

Thank you or your comments, hope you had a nice time in Santa Marta. Hope to see you back at La Placita

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2012

I went with high expectations from reviews on this page, but I found a very slow service and a good burger. For foreign people is the best burger, but for people from Bucaramanga is a regular burger. There are sites in Bucaramanga like Mercagan or El garaje, which are much better.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Javier H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Placita Burger Bar also viewed

Santa Marta, Santa Marta District
Santa Marta, Santa Marta District
 
Santa Marta, Santa Marta District
Santa Marta, Santa Marta District
 
Santa Marta, Santa Marta District
Santa Marta, Santa Marta District
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing