We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go to Minca and stay at Oscar's Place!”
Review of Oscar's Place

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Santa Marta
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Oscar's Place
Ranked #11 of 117 Santa Marta B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 25, 2014

We stayed for 2 nights at Oscars and could have stayed much longer. The jungle setting of the hostel and waking up to the sound of howler monkeys, as well as the most dreamlike sunsets and clear skies for star gazing make this place something else. We stayed in a 4-bed dorm, but I slept on the veranda outside the dorm in a hammock both nights, listening to the insects humming, which was awesome.Oscar and his wife Sandra couldn't make you feel more welcome, and the communal home-cooked dinners, as well as Oscar's famous fixer-upper cocktail, make you feel like part of the family. Minca itself is great for trekking and has excellent places for swimming in the lakes and jumping into waterfalls! If you are lucky (as we were) you can also spot sloths and toucans in the trees. Go to Minca and stay at Oscars!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kingy26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (64)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

43 - 49 of 64 reviews

Reviewed May 13, 2014

Oscar's Place is my favorite place to stay in Minca. Oscar himself is very friendly and helpful, and speaks perfect English. The food served at the hostal is delicious, and features local produce. The view is completely mindblowing. At night you can see the beautiful lights of Santa Marta and billions of stars. Oscar's Place is powered by a variety of cool renewable energy sources. Also, the place has really good vibes, so only cool people stay there! You won't know what you're missing out on if you don't check it out, and once you do, you'll want to stay forever!

Room Tip: Ask for a blanket if you stay in a hammock, as it can get a little chilly up i the mountains at nigh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robert D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2014

I can't even describe how happy I was at Oscar's Place. Delicious food, wonderful people, the view was spectacular. Sleeping in the hammocks was definitely the way to go, they're perched out away from the jungle so it's breezy and there are very few bugs and mosquitoes while you sleep. I would recommend this place to anyone who is looking for a relaxing and quiet place to stay. Thank you so much Oscar!!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lulasocial
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2014

The place is incredibly peaceful and relaxing. I spent three nights at Oscar's place and it was my favorite part of my trip. The area is beautiful and has many ecological sites. There are enormous trees, hiking trails, and beautiful mountains on the property. The property has its own filtered spring water too. To get more information about the ecological project, go to oscarsplace.com.co

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alex R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2014

If you are looking for a natural heaven, sounds of the jungle and perfect sunsets, this is your spot !! The couple owning the hostal are charming and interesting to chat with, Eva Maria and Miguel forming the staff are fabulous as well !
You'll also enjoy great healthy food as well as an iconic rum cocktail not to be missed, and Sandra can provide you with acupuncture if needed
The accomodation range is wide, going from open sky hammock to private bungalow, personaly i tried the 'jungle loft' and the hammocks, both great.
This place has been the final part of my holidays and is one of the best memories.. the type of place that will surely be part of my dreams in cold winters..
Thank you and keep well!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jim0ntheway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2014

I had a wonderful stay at Oscar's Place. It is about 15 minutes walk along a trail from the town. There are plenty of trails around. I took the blue trail to the water falls, which was great.

Minca was a nice break from the heat of Santa Marta as it is cooler at night.

Oscar was great and Eva Maria was fantastic! She was usually moving before I finished asking for anything.

The view is the real selling point of the hostel! I would suggest that you are parked and ready to watch the sunset.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2014 via mobile

We heard about this place from friends so we went to oscars place.
The view is stunning above santa marta and rodadero. Also the hikes we did during our stay were great. The waterfalls, rivers. It is so calm and peaceful.
We slept two nights in the hammocks and it was cold so take warm clothes with you and a sleeping bag.
Unfortunately we did not had a good experience with the staff. Well oscar is a really nice, helpful and a warm person.
But the cook is such a rude person and he treat us so bad. We had a reservacion for two nights in the hammock and after the first night i asked to change in a dorm because i was sick. So oscar told me there isnt any problem even they have a lot of people but i dont have to sleep outside. So we spent the hole day in the village and when we came back in the night the cook almost screamed at us that we have to leave the place right know cause i was not here during the day and even we have a reservacion for the hammock we have to leave.
We were really friendly and so happy to stay at oscrs place and did not have any idea why he was that rude.
Well it was his fault he overbooked my room. Fortunately the two hammocks were still free...
We are so badly disappointed cause the place seems that every one is welcome and theres just love... obviously not!

Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
Thank mataja23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Marta hotels
7.3 mi away
Hotel Miami SM
Hotel Miami SM
#53 of 67 in Santa Marta
62 reviews
5.8 mi away
Irotama Resort
Irotama Resort
#15 of 67 in Santa Marta
674 reviews
7.5 mi away
Hospederia Casa Familiar
Hospederia Casa Familiar
#39 of 67 in Santa Marta
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Hotel Medellin Rodadero
Hotel Medellin Rodadero
#41 of 189 in Santa Marta
33 reviews
7.5 mi away
Hotel Nueva Granada
Hotel Nueva Granada
#10 of 117 in Santa Marta
174 reviews
6.3 mi away
Hotel Palma Blanca
Hotel Palma Blanca
#33 of 67 in Santa Marta
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oscar's Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oscar's Place

Address: Finca la Fortuna, Minca | Sierra Nevada de Santa Marta, Santa Marta, Colombia
Location: Colombia > Magdalena Department > Santa Marta District > Santa Marta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 117 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Marta
Price Range: $8 - $25 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oscar's Place is a breath taking property which is positioned on the end of a spectacular ridge north of Minca with huge drops on either side meaning views through trees & flowers to successive mountain ranges and the valley to Santa Marta and the most beatiful sunsets over the Caribbean below. Some of the accommodation is open air with 30km views from your pillow. All showers and bathrooms have spectacular views to jungle and coastline. The food is healthy and excellent. WELCOME TO MY HOME! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing