We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food”
Review of Tierra Negra - CLOSED

Tierra Negra
Price range: $4 - $23
Cuisines: Caribbean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: Located in the heart of the Historic Center, Tierra Negra is a place inspired by the Sierra Nevada of Santa Marta that seeks to promote the local cuisine with a gastronomic offer based on the great variety of ingredients of its mountains, the freshest seafood of Caribbean Sea and all the products, preparations and culinary influences that are part of the traditional foods of this privileged region of Colombia.
Neuheim, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
Reviewed January 21, 2014

Food not cheap, but excellent, wine is expensive for the small quantity provided; service was very good

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Frank R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

145 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    84
    32
    13
    9
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Berkeley
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Over priced ”
Reviewed January 10, 2014 via mobile

The place and food are nice but prices are outrageously high. Probably the most expensive in town with prices way above the quality of food and decor
Ok if you don't mind about your money.

Helpful?
Thank ILuvCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Great fresh food. Awesome ambiance. Average service.”
Reviewed December 25, 2013

Service was annoying about little things. Bread took too long. It took them five minutes to serve our food for all five of us so some of us waited and our food got cold. Serve everyone at once!!!! I asked for three bottles of water and they gave everyone a bottle of water. It was tough to hail down a waiter at times. When they get busy after 9pm they definitely slow down. We were fast because we ate at 745p tonight. It was obvious that once it got crowded, it slowed down. Awesome ambiance but the radio was a little loud at times and they had to turn it down. The fans were set to turbo which was annoying. Little things like that force me to take a star away.

Food was super fresh. My salad was great. They serve the same fish five different ways and it was all terrific. The lentil cakes were ok. The chocolate dessert is pretty standard but the mango dessert is AWESOME. The best meal I've had so far in santa marta. Eat here.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank chillsnthrills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent, lovely restaurant!”
Reviewed October 28, 2013

Food was excellent, especially the creamy avocado soup with 'grilled' strips of white, firm cheese on top. We had fried red snapper which was beautifully presented and fresh. Very generous portions.
Service was mildly slow, and there were very few others dining at the same time, but we were in no rush. The decor is lovely, very pleasant and peaceful.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank laurajb1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Food”
Reviewed October 26, 2013 via mobile

Good food, awful service... We waited for 1.5 hours for our food... The owner is really nice, and gave us a wine for free, but food and service were sooo late that it really didn't compensate for the bad experience...

Helpful?
1 Thank Carlos M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tierra Negra also viewed

Santa Marta, Santa Marta District
Santa Marta, Santa Marta District
 
Santa Marta, Santa Marta District
Santa Marta, Santa Marta District
 
Santa Marta, Santa Marta District
Santa Marta, Santa Marta District
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing