We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tayrona - An Unforgettable Experience”

Parque Nacional Natural Tayrona
Book In Advance
More Info
$79.00*
and up
Tayrona National Park and Beach Day Trip from Santa Marta
Ranked #1 of 68 things to do in Santa Marta
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: This 37,000 acre ecotourism park includes reefs, beaches, mangroves and Tayrona Indian ruins.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
56 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Tayrona - An Unforgettable Experience”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

I am sure you didn't get here by mistake, so yes, I assure you we had a great experience in Tayrona. We stayed there for three days in one of the cottages. Yes, electric power is only between 5PM and 9AM, but there is drinking water all the time and it is very good. Yes, don't expect world class cuisine at dinner, but be amazed by the local daily catch.
The only thing NOBODY told us was that you could get to the beaches (at least to Arecife) easier and faster WITHOUT climbing the mountain or horse-riding, especially if it just rained, via Bahia Concha, following the beach line.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank corcodush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,636 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,131
    1,025
    319
    103
    58
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Antofagasta
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Beach”
Reviewed February 23, 2013

Great beach with perfect, clear, blue water. Be sure to bring cash to get in the gate and pay for the boat to the beach. Good, local, lunch options on the beach. Great way to spend a day in Santa Marta.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Sara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
75 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“An out of the way gem”
Reviewed February 23, 2013

This area is pristine, few people, a lot of sunshine. The long beaches are very isolated, but not for swimming. For us, the effort to get here from Ohio was worth the effort.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Alicia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Villavicencio, Colombia
Level Contributor
127 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Beautiful, Natural, Clean Beaches!”
Reviewed February 22, 2013

Tayrona National Park was a highlight of our trip to Santa Marta. We only spent a day in the park but wished we had planned an overnight in a tent or hammock at Cabo San Juan Beach. The park entrance is a little hard to find but once your inside its a straight drive to the parking area. From there you can either rent a horse or walk the 1 to 2 hours to Cabo San Juan. Along the way you pass two or three beautiful beaches but I definitely recommend making the hike all the way to Cabo San Juan. This is by far one of the most beautful beaches I have ever seen. I am not sure why this didnt make the Trip Advisor list over the Florida beaches. The park is very natural and was well kept and clean when we were there during a busy holiday week plus there were no crowds. The hiking trail can be difficult in some spots and is shared with the horses. The path is well worn so there is no chance of getting lost. There were several others on the trail along with guides and police officers on horseback. We never felt unsafe during our time in the park. If I were to overnight in the park I would probably take a bus or taxi so I didnt not have to leave my vehicle unattended in the secluded parking area overnight though. There is a full service restaurant and small store at Cabo San Juan. There are also restrooms and showers available. Compared to other beaches we visited on our trip to Santa Marta this was BY FAR the cleanest and best kept. There was no trash on the beach or in the water. Everyone was friendly and polite.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank DaytonaMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Santa marta must do”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

If your in this area it may be the highlight of your trip. It is awesome if you take the time to ingest it all. We had been fighting the crowds in santa marta wondering what colombia was all about and this is part of it. Places like this remind you of Costa Rica and probably what you were expecting from colombia.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Paxsonic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Parque Nacional Natural Tayrona also viewed

Santa Marta, Santa Marta District
Santa Marta, Santa Marta District
 
Santa Marta, Santa Marta District
Santa Marta, Santa Marta District
 

Been to Parque Nacional Natural Tayrona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing