We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful Hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of GHL Comfort Hotel Costa Azul

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
GHL Comfort Hotel Costa Azul
Ranked #25 of 68 Hotels in Santa Marta
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
156 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Beautiful Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

This is by far the best 3 star hotel I have stayed in. The rooms are large, clean and modern. The staff are very polite and helpful. The pool and restaurant are beautiful and provide a lovely setting for the hotel. The only problem I found for this hotel is the distance from town, which is probably why it is very good value for money. It is a long way from the town. But I would highly recommend this hotel. Bus and cab fares in Colombia are cheap.

Room Tip: We had a room that overlooked the pool which was a very nice view to wake up to every morning
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Broncos06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Costa Azul Hote... B, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at GHL Comfort Hotel Costa Azul, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Google Translation
Reciba un cordial saludo de todo el equipo humano del Hotel Costa Azul, quienes estamos muy agradecidos por ayudarnos a evaluar nuestro servicio, cada comentario y cada calificación son importantes para buscar mejorar nuestra calidad.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    93
    64
    27
    27
See reviews for
109
94
4
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Punta del Este, Maldonado, Uruguay
Level Contributor
268 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013 via mobile

We spent 4 nights in Costa Azul. The hotel is ok, if you prefer pool to beach and if you are with children. The pool is phantastic, the staff too, very helpful. But if you wanna go out in the night, it is definitively not the best location. And a lot of things need to be refreshed and better maintained. And Santa Marta is also not the place with nice beaches.... But the parks in the region are beautiful!

Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank cristiansuiza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Costa Azul Hote... B, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at GHL Comfort Hotel Costa Azul, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Google Translation
Reciba un cordial del grupo de colaboradores de GHL Comfort Hotel Costa Azul, quienes siempre estamos dispuestos a ofrecer nuestro servicio con calidez y confianza. Agradecemos por ayudarnos a evaluar nuestro servicio, cada comentario y cada calificación son importantes para buscar mejorar nuestra calidad. Esperamos contar nuevamente con su presencia en nuestro hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manizales, Colombia
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2012

My four year old daughter and I spent Christmas here. It is very close to the airport and the weather was hot and sunny everyday. From other reviews, I asked for a room in the new building and it was a very clean room with modern finishings...a little too modern for my taste and I do wish that Hoteliers would realize that it is preferable to have somewhere to hang a towel, or to be able to assess the temperature of the shower without having to be in it, than to have granite countertops. The room only had a shower, so if you need a bathtub you will have to stay in the main building. There was lots of hot water, a minibar, flatscreen tv, a safe and a hairdryer.

Other than walking through the lobby to get to the pool and the restaurant, I was not in the main building of the hotel. There are two large pools, one for adults and one for kids and these are in between the restaurant and the hotel. The restaurant is basic as is the breakfast, bread, fruit, arepas, eggs, coffee and juice. The menu is also pretty basic and it is Colombia so the food is decent and well priced, but not super tasty. We did not have the all inclusive package so we usually ate lunch by the pool and had a small supper in our room.

The pools are definitely the best feature of the hotel. If you have small children, you will be very happy. There is a huge kids pool, 1/2 meter deep with a slide, and some fountains and because it is beside the restaurant and the restaurant has no walls you can sit and drink your coffee and watch your kids in the pool. The adult pool is only about 4.5 feet deep, but it is also huge and has a swim up bar, volleyball net and fountains. And the best thing about both is that the water is actually warm. They were also both very clean and Wilfredo the life guard is very accommodating. He took my daughter into the big pool because she wanted to learn how to swim and gave her some tips and let her sit on his back while he swam around the pool.

The beach was disappointing. There is a good view of the ocean from the hotel but you have to walk down some stairs beside the restaurant to the hotel's small section of the beach. The one time we went it was very rough and the water churns up all of the sand so that it is very brown. Also the fact that there are cargo and fuel ships a short way off shore doesn't make it feel very clean.

To address some of the issues in other reviews, you absolutely must speak Spanish because the staff knows very little English. My daughter, though 4, is fluent and I speak passable Spanish so we were fine. Also, having lived in Colombia for a year and a half now, I understand that service is never fast so I found that the staff were very helpful and friendly and went out of their way to make us feel welcome.

As for it being a day-use facility, I only noticed a few families using the hotel for the day. This is a bit ironic because one of the reasons I chose this hotel was due to the review that complained that there were too many Colombian families at the hotel. Having an only child I wanted to make sure that she had lots of playmates, so I thought this would be a good thing. There were children staying at the hotel but not swarms of them. The pools were never over-crowded, in fact the adult pool was almost empty a lot of the time and the common areas and the washrooms were very clean. I also had no security concerns and often left my bag with Kindle and camera on the pool chair while I was swimming with my daughter and had no problems.

So perhaps it comes down to culture, language and expectations. I would definitely recommend this hotel to families that speak some Spanish, who just want to relax and play in the pool. I know that if we return to Santa Marta we will definitely stay here again. Fabian the bellman, Marietha on the front desk and Wilfredo the lifeguard always had smiles and ensured we had a great vacation.

Room Tip: If you want a tub ask for the main building. If you want new, modern rooms ask for the new building...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Colombiagurl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mazatlan
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2012

This is a difficult review to write because there are some very real discrepancies amongst the various areas being rated. Unit satisfaction is quite high; the room was clean and well appointed and the beds and linens were satisfactory albeit they‘re now well worn. The activities and amenities were also quite good; the two pools are huge and kept clean and well maintained except for one glaring issue which I’ll get to in a minute. The hotel is VERY isolated so there’s not much in the way of restaurants or shopping anywhere nearby but the hotel can’t be held to blame for this; it is what it is. And while the restaurant had a limited menu the food quality was quite high and the prices were reasonable given the circumstances.

The real downfall however was the level - or lack thereof - of anything remotely resembling customer service. My wife and I were the only two non-Colombians in the hotel for six days and we were made to feel like second class citizens. The way we were treated in comparison to other guests was glaringly obvious and while mildly amusing at first, quickly became frustrating and made us feel awkward, uncomfortable and unwelcome. We were in Colombia for four weeks and have traveled extensively through Mexico and Central America and this was the first time we have ever come across such behavior or have ever been treated in such a manner.

The other disappointment was the hotel is a day use facility on week-ends and the two pools were overrun with large family groups all day on Saturday and Sunday. I have to be careful in how I present this because it would be easy to interpret this as a prejudicial remark but this couldn’t be further from the truth. How the resort generates cash flow on week-ends is entirely at the hotels discretion. I just feel that this should be published so paying guests are made aware of this fact and understand that they most likely won’t have access to the pool facilities on weekends. There are also security concerns because during the day any number of people were able to wander at will from the beach to the hotel with no controls in place whatsoever. The other concern was cleanliness. The number of day-use customers obviously overwhelmed the cleaning staff and the washrooms and public areas quickly became dirty to the point of being a health hazard because of overflowing toilets etc.

My overall review is therefore completely unsatisfactory and I would urge anyone but a Colombian family to give this hotel a wide berth.

Room Tip: The rooms in the new tower are much better apppointed
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CanuckinMaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Santa Marta hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Tampere, Finland
Level Contributor
50 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2012

As a non-spanish speaking couple we struggeled a lot in this hotel. One of the bellboys spoke english a bit, and a girl at the reception even less. We missed a lot of information because of this language barrier.
With a help of an other guest we managed to book a tour to Cartagena with an english guide at the hotel tour agency. We waited at five in the morning as planned but nobody ever showed up, and we never got an explanation what happened (or we did- in spanish, didn't help a bit). Bad, bad service!
The rooms were old and we had a troop of ants there. The floors were so dirty I used shoes all the time. But the view over the ocean was great and that saved a lot. Plus we had wi-fi connection on the balcony. Also a big plus for the small mercado on the property.
The pools were big but dirty, and no clear water at the beach either. The food wasn't anything special and El Rodadero and Santa Marta were too faraway...
Wouldn't recommend this place, stay in Santa Marta instead wich is a lovely city.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on higher floors- the view is great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Susanna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2005

This is a very peaceful small hotel with a huge swimming pool and one for the kids as well. Nice little poolside resaurant. Ok beach. No white sand or clear water, but ok. No AC in the rooms but not a big deal. Nice balconies. Suspect the maid pilfered some pesos so make sure you put all the valuables in the safe when you leave. OTherwise good service, although they lost the reservation so if you make it on line you may want to confirm with the hotel. Very clean and overall a good experience with minor problems. Not much English spoken by hotel crew.

Stayed November 2005
Helpful?
17 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Marta hotels
3.0 mi away
Mercure Santa Marta Emile
Mercure Santa Marta Emile
#6 of 68 in Santa Marta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
6.5 mi away
Hotel Tamaca Beach Resort
Hotel Tamaca Beach Resort
#4 of 68 in Santa Marta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 542 reviews
4.2 mi away
Estelar Santamar Hotel & Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Santorini Hotel & Resort
Santorini Hotel & Resort
#46 of 68 in Santa Marta
3.5 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
2.4 mi away
Zuana Beach Resort
Zuana Beach Resort
#7 of 68 in Santa Marta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,354 reviews
3.5 mi away
Sanha Plus Hotel
Sanha Plus Hotel
#23 of 68 in Santa Marta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to GHL Comfort Hotel Costa Azul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about GHL Comfort Hotel Costa Azul

Property: GHL Comfort Hotel Costa Azul
Address: Zona Franca Pozos Colorados Km 19, Santa Marta, Colombia (Formerly Costa Azul Beach Hotel)
Location: Colombia > Magdalena Department > Santa Marta District > Santa Marta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 68 Hotels in Santa Marta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — GHL Comfort Hotel Costa Azul 3.5*
Number of rooms: 67
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your GHL Comfort Hotel Costa Azul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing