We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always distrust a restaurant where you are the only one eating....”
Review of Santa Mesa

Santa Mesa
Ranked #86 of 365 Restaurants in Santa Marta
Price range: $16 - $200
Cuisines: Colombian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Santa Mesa, food of origin that rescues the flavors of the Caribbean Coast and Magdalena Grande. Cooking without "mise en place" where the flavors and aromas are the protagonists. Ask about the specialty that the chef has for you today. Chef tasting menu seafood and land. Special tapas menu to share
Reviewed June 2, 2018 via mobile

Came here on recommendation of a guide we are using for a few outings here and was a bit disappointed. First, with an 8:30 reservation, we found ourselves the only people really eating here. (A few other people who seemed to work at the restaurant were walking around). Then, we asked for more bread with our ceviche appetizer and as best we understood, there was none. Third, my poor Caribbean salad was nothing but 4 fried shrimp on a bed a wilted iceberg lettuce and a few limp cherry tomatoes with an odd vinegary dressing. Fourth, I wanted to see the dessert menu and instead I got the check. In retrospect, this last thing should likely be viewed as a plus. On the very positive side, this is such an interesting space, beautifully decorated.

Thank Barbara E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Mesa R, Gerente at Santa Mesa, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2018


Good evening, with pity we answer this email because it refers to the restaurant was empty, usually a weekday and more if it is a Monday the flow of people is low, with respect to the food we offer an apology if it was not Your liking, which is not normal because our dishes are of excellent quality and taste. good night

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (71)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 71 reviews

Reviewed April 29, 2018 via mobile

We loved this restaurant! Very cool decoration and great dish presentation. The food was delicious and the juices to die for!! I ordered a Shrimp dish, and it was fresh and a delicious combination of Colombian fusion cuisine! My husband had the meat, and my daughter pasta. All the choices were perfectly cooked and presented!! The owner of the restaurant is very nice guy, and very knowledgeable of the area! Everyone was very nice and pleasant. We had a wonderful time. And, it’s located at the center, near the Cathedral.

Thank GemFA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Mesa R, Gerente at Santa Mesa, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2018


thank you very much! It will always be a pleasure to serve you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2017 via mobile

Lunch stop was part of guided tour. Nice restaurant and good food. We had vegetable soup, fish filet dessert and fruit juice.

Thank Mónica M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2017 via mobile

I really enjoyed this restaurant! Service was nice and attentive. Really liked the decoration. Would definitely come back on my next visit

Thank Ana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2016

It was my first time here...Food was ok, good atmosphere and service good. Its is good place to celebrate big reunions, we had a big party and they aloud us to had recreations and activities.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Marta S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Santa Mesa also viewed

Santa Marta, Santa Marta District
Santa Marta, Santa Marta District
 
Santa Marta, Santa Marta District
Santa Marta, Santa Marta District
 
Santa Marta, Santa Marta District
Santa Marta, Santa Marta District
 

Been to Santa Mesa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing