We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little place!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Casa Candela y Chocolate
Reviewed February 28, 2014 via mobile

I stayed here three nights with a friend and we were so happy to have discovered this little place! It's a great location to the main street, the beach, restaurant and bar strip and supermarket. Best of all breakfast is included and the price of the dorms is cheapest I've seen in santa Marta! Now it gets very hot at night! No AC but there are personal fans and it does get noisy from the street but the juice and biscuit you get on arrival make up for it :) the staff are lovely and helpful, but brush up on your Spanish skills as it's the only language spoken here!

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joanna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (72)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

19 - 25 of 72 reviews

Reviewed February 16, 2014

I stayed here for two nights. On arrival, I was given a juice and a biscuit - which was most welcome after the long, cold, sleepless bus journey from Medellin.

Daniel is very helpful. Nero, the dog is crazy and the cat and turtle and chilled.

The rooms are big and beds are comfortable. It's nice to have your own treasure chest in which to store your belongings. The individual fans on the beds are welcome as Santa Marta is very stuffy at night.

The breakfast is a decent size: toast, butter, jam, fruit salad and eggs. All made with loving care and at a great price, included in the cost of the room.

My washing came back clean and fresh and the WiFi is fast.

It's a friendly and relaxing hostel. It's close to the beach to watch the sun set (but not to swim!) and to the square for a relaxing beer and watching the world go by. There is a bank and supermarket nearby too.

The sleep quality is poor because it's so stuffy and can be noisy outside on the streets but I think that's true of Santa Marta in general.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Baby M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2014

We stayed in the big dorm room.
It was hot indeed no airco but that is something which you know in advance.
In our room there was like a innovation of mosquitoes but after asking incense sticks they immediately came with them.
The people are really friendly and the breakfast you have every day two options which is really nice.
If you don't want the party hostel this is the place to be.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Maarten W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2014 via mobile

I was so pleasantly surprised with this place. Booked it last minute as part of a trip to Santa Marta, and it was lovely.

They have a lot of nice touches that make you feel welcome. I received a freshly made strawberry drink upon arrival. The dorms lack air con, but the lower bunk beds have little individual bed fans attached, in addition to the ceiling fans. The breakfast is free and surprisingly hearty -- you also get to choose between two options. The staff is super sweet and friendly, and the neighborhood nearby has several test options. Santa Marta in general doesn't have a ton going on, but if you find yourself there, this hostel is a wonderful, affordable option.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kissie326
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2013

We stayed one night because the rooms were very hot and there were countless mosquitoes. There was also a cockroach in the shower (which also flooded the bathroom floor when using it), and the dog on the premises kept dragging his butt across the floor. Positives? The people who work there are nice, and it's close to the waterfront area and a few decent restaurants.

I know the owners can't control the weather, but this stood out as the worst hostel I'd encountered in Colombia.

Room Tip: Try the room closer to the kitchen with extra fans.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelingupward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2013

We stayed at this hostel for one night as part of our trip to Punta Gallinas, we get there by car around 11 PM and there was a 24 hour parking lot nearby. Its location is very central and is really close to "san andresito" and many bank offices.

It is a big old colonial house very well maintained. The person who received us, was very kind and helpful.

The beds were clean and comfortable, the room was a little bit warm but nothing you can't handle, it had a ceiling fan that worked good. The shared bathrooms were clean. We had "free" breakfast the next day (coffee, eggs, fruit, juice). The wi-fi network worked with no problems.

I think is a very good option, you get what you pay for. Certainly I'll return.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bayona-j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2013

Staff is very nice and helpful, rooms are spacious, and breakfast is pretty good for Colombia. The rooms are VERY hot though. There are only ceilining fans, so unless you can handle super hot nights, I'd find a hostel with AC. Neighborhood directly surrounding th hostel was a bit sketchy- a women got mugged at 8 in the morning directly outside the hostel on my last night there. Plus side is that it is 3 blocks from the beach, and they have great bag security if you want to leave your luggage for up to 6 days at a time.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank Happytraveler4226
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Marta hotels
0.8 mi away
Hospederia Casa Familiar
Hospederia Casa Familiar
#40 of 72 in Santa Marta
72 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Miami SM
Hotel Miami SM
#44 of 72 in Santa Marta
65 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Medellin Rodadero
Hotel Medellin Rodadero
#51 of 215 in Santa Marta
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Nueva Granada
Hotel Nueva Granada
#7 of 127 in Santa Marta
179 reviews
6.3 mi away
Irotama Resort
Irotama Resort
#15 of 72 in Santa Marta
687 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hotel Valladolid
Hotel Valladolid
#30 of 72 in Santa Marta
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Candela y Chocolate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Candela y Chocolate

Address: Carrera 12 # 3-01, Santa Marta 470004, Colombia
Location: Colombia > Magdalena Department > Santa Marta District > Santa Marta
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #107 of 215 Specialty Lodging in Santa Marta
Price Range: $13 - $21 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Casa Candela y Chocolate 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Candela y Chocolate Guest House is 100% made and attended by Colombian People, We are Located on a Little Ancient House in Santa Marta Historic Downtown. Our main Goal is be the best hosts for city and all the wonderful natural treasures around us promoting its preservation. We are proudly environmentalist and we have a desire: make this project sustainable and friendly with the environment ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and HostelWorld so you can book your Casa Candela y Chocolate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing