We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dirty, rude staff, noisy”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel San Miguel Imperial
Ranked #14 of 110 Santa Marta B&B and Inns
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Dirty, rude staff, noisy”
Reviewed January 23, 2014

To make a long story short:
- Filthy: the room hadn't been cleaned when we arrived: the bathroom was filthy (dry urine all over the toilet seat, faeces inside the toilet bowl), dirty sink, filthy shower; sheets hadn't been changed: full of hair and food crumbs.
- Day receptionist and cleaner did not care about the state of the room, all they did was vaguely clean the toilet.
- Day receptionist was extremely rude.
- Night receptionist gave us a new room (after suggesting I change the sheets myself).
- Breakfast was disgusting (old cereals with tepid milk) and served 45 minutes late (we had a bus to catch so really annoying).
- Extremely noisy hotel due to the bar next door (extremely loud music) and poor sound proofing (bad windows).
- Needless to say we cancelled our second night there
- I wrote an email to the manager afterwards to complain and she did apologize very much for the situation - the only positive thing about it alll.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room (I'm not sure they have any though, even the one we finally slept in at the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vane802014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    44
    10
    4
    2
See reviews for
15
28
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bogota, Colombia
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2014

The hotel was very clean and confortable. Good price and very nice staff. The breakfast was fine. The hotel is in a good neighborhood close to downtown, . They dont have minibar inside the room but theres a fridge with all kind of beverages in the first floor.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Juscategui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013

During our trip to Santa Marta we stayed affordable and nice hotel. Upon our arrival the girl at the front desk asked us if it was our first time in Santa Marta, right away she gave us a tourist map and explain us how to get to every single interesting site in the area. She was very helpful as I couldn't remember much of the city. The rooms have A/C and flat screen, thought there is not a mini bar inside the room there's a big fridge in the ground floor where you can get water and other soft drinks.

As it is located next to the cemetery and you have to local pubs in both end of the street it can be a little bit busy at night, however we slept good. The hotel is close by to supermarkets, restaurants and main sightseeing areas downtown.

Good value for money! A hotel to recommend!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Akbar T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bend, Oregon
1 review
Reviewed July 19, 2013

Hotel San Miguel Imperial was very convenient for us while visiting Santa Marta. It is situated within walking distance to downtown, and close to supermercado, where we took a bus to Palomino. While the rooms are sparse... they are clean and comfortable...and also has terrific air conditioned rooms. We had a room with a double and a twin, which was perfect for us back packers....oh, and affordable for the 3 of us. The roof patio gives a panorama of the city and the mountains. The staff was extremely pleasant, and helpful with advising where to get transportation. We did have to speak some Spanish, and the staff did speak some English :) We would stay there again. Thank You, Katherina

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank 51766Katherine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2013

In the city center (you may prefer to be near a nice beach)
Behind a cemetery
Vey nice staff. Good Wifi (at least in my room)
Good neighborhood
Paid 32 a night
But they wanted me to change the room for no reason...
AC included
Noisy at night because of 2 bars in street
Clean and Safe with a little luxury feel for a good price
Breakfast is good but very limited

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank frenchexpatriate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2013

Keeping in mind the price range (we paid $30/night per person), this is a decent enough hotel. The hotel is decorated adequately enough with nice large beds, air conditioning, 24-hour reception, free Wi-Fi and breakfast included. The downsides of the hotel are that the Wi-Fi range is very limited (we could barely access it in our room), tiny bathrooms (you could barely open the door) and no safe. Again, for the price, it was not a bad deal but if you're looking for amenities, you should probably pass this hotel by.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AmericanTourist78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2013

We only stayed one night but really enjoyed our stay here - the room was well appointed, very clean and very comfortable bed. There was a TV, wardrobe, bedside cabinets, nice bedding, good air con with temperature control, and nice tiled floor. The bathroom was compact but nice with good shower (cold as always on the coast). The location is fantastic - really close to everything in the centre, all walking distance. The reception staff were very helpful and spoke good English. There is a computer in the communal area with internet access which is free to use. And best of all it's an excellent price.

Other reviews have mentioned the music and noise - yes it was noisy during the evening, but by the time we wanted to sleep it had stopped so it didn't actually bother us.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JSAHW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Marta hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Miami SM
Hotel Miami SM
#47 of 67 in Santa Marta
60 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hotel Palma Blanca
Hotel Palma Blanca
#33 of 67 in Santa Marta
38 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hospederia Casa Familiar
Hospederia Casa Familiar
#40 of 67 in Santa Marta
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Hotel Valladolid
Hotel Valladolid
#31 of 67 in Santa Marta
75 reviews
2.6 mi away
Portobahia Hotel
Portobahia Hotel
#53 of 67 in Santa Marta
38 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Tayromar
Hotel Tayromar
#38 of 67 in Santa Marta
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel San Miguel Imperial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Miguel Imperial

Property: Hotel San Miguel Imperial
Address: Carrera 21 No. 6-96, Santa Marta 470005, Colombia
Location: Colombia > Magdalena Department > Santa Marta District > Santa Marta
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 110 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Marta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel San Miguel Imperial 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Hotel San Miguel Imperial reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing