We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value and room, in a great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel San Miguel Imperial
Ranked #14 of 107 Santa Marta B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Excellent value and room, in a great location”
Reviewed February 7, 2013

We only stayed one night but really enjoyed our stay here - the room was well appointed, very clean and very comfortable bed. There was a TV, wardrobe, bedside cabinets, nice bedding, good air con with temperature control, and nice tiled floor. The bathroom was compact but nice with good shower (cold as always on the coast). The location is fantastic - really close to everything in the centre, all walking distance. The reception staff were very helpful and spoke good English. There is a computer in the communal area with internet access which is free to use. And best of all it's an excellent price.

Other reviews have mentioned the music and noise - yes it was noisy during the evening, but by the time we wanted to sleep it had stopped so it didn't actually bother us.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JSAHW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    44
    10
    4
    2
See reviews for
15
28
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for Christmas, the room was 38 English pounds a night. We feel mixed about this hotel. The hotel is lovely, the room is really nice and the amenities are fine (we didnt sample breakfast). The location is ok, its a bit of a walk to the beach but its near enough to all the good restaurants and the bank.

However, the area is also quite noisy. We stayed in two seperate rooms and in both cases the noise woke us up, either music playing or dogs barking. The most upsetting thing about this hotel, and the price we paid, is that they have NO HOT WATER AT ALL. Now normally we wouldn't mind this, but at the price we were paying we felt it was kind of unforgivable. Lastly we put some washing in on the day we arrived (Christmas Eve) and were told it would be ready Boxing day, admittedly its our own fault but we didnt ask how much the washing would cost. When we get it back on Boxing day we were shocked; 22 English pounds to wash about 20 items!! We couldnt help but feel we may have been ripped off. Still, as we didnt ask the price beforehand not much we could do.

So our experience of the hotel is mixed. No doubt we could find somewhere for a similar price that is slightly better however we also didnt have a terrible stay.

The main possitive of the hotel; The reception staff are brilliant, they are very helpful! They helped us many times, with getting taxis to Taganga, with booking our onward travel to Cartagena. It seems that for every item we felt disgruntled about they made up for it with.

In summary we wouldnt stay again but this is mainly due to price. If the hotel had been cheaper we wouldnt have found the issues as bad. Having travelled for 3 months now we have a pretty fair grasping of what to expect for our money and this just didnt quite meet our expectations.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vicky08Uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio de Pereira, Colombia
Level Contributor
232 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2012

My wife and I, and a mutual friend, stayed at this property during December 2012. We booked through booking.com and got a rate of COP$ 150,000 per night. We ended up here due to a "navigation error" on my part. After one night, we move out of centro, and to another tourist-oriented hotel on the malecon of El Rodadero.

During our very short stay at the hotel, the three of us shared a 12 SQ MT triple room with three small, hard standard beds. There was no room to move around, so we took turns walking to the closet...LOL. The bathroom has adequate dimensions, is clean, but has no hot water. There are no eye-level windows in the unit... probably because the vista is a field of tin roofs. There are lots of barking dogs outside the hotel, but they seemed to pipe down after 11 pm. The bedroom has a small closet, and a nightstand with three tiny drawers, so we kept most of our clothes in our luggage. The condition of the rooms and common areas is very good, and the hotel was clean throughout. The staff was friendly and courteous.

Hotel San Miguel Imperial is in one of the centro barrios of Santa Marta... at least 7 long blocks from the ocean. I would describe the neighborhood as dicey, and would not be out and about during night time. There is NO hotel security at the front door/reception area. On the plus side, the hotel is a few blocks from the main shopping district and an Exito and Gino Pascarelli outlet is only two blocks away.

In short, we ended up at San Miguel Imperial by "mistake," but recovered nicely, and moved to another hotel on the beach, and enjoyed the rest of our short vacation. I would not stay at this hotel again. I am also VERY disappointed with booking.com's pricing for this hotel. The value of this hotel is about half of what we paid.

Room Tip: Unless you are in Santa Marta on business, or have relatives in Santa Marta centro, do not book here...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eulenspeegel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
67 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2012

I have spent three nights at San Miguel Imperial hotel and it was better than I expected. To begin with, it's affordable, which is a plus in a touristic city. Secondly, the premises look new and well-kept, good shower and air-conditioner, clean room and basic but decent breakfast. Added to all this, the kindness of the reception staff, giving tips of where to go. If you don't mind the fact that the hotel is located very near a cemetery (but you see this from the street, not from 2nd floor rooms like mine), this is definitely the place to stay!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnaCris1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte Amalie, null, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2012

This hotel was great! Very clean, affordable, great shower and AC. Friendly staff that din't mind my broken Spanish. Although the bar next door was very loud on the street, once I got into my room I couldn't hear it at all. Nice place, I'd be happy to stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zach W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barranquilla, Colombia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2012

I really liked this place for the friendly atmosphere and the quality of the rooms and service for a great price.
The location is great, on a buzzing lively street facing onto a lovely park with flower stands. Inside the hotel it is bright and fresh and clean. The rooms are nice and quiet and so its a get get away either for business or tourism.
The roof terrace is a great place for a drink and to watch the sunset or the world go by ....

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Center O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Marta hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Miami SM
Hotel Miami SM
#46 of 67 in Santa Marta
58 reviews
4.0 mi away
Hotel Mar Azul
Hotel Mar Azul
#40 of 67 in Santa Marta
20 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Tayromar
Hotel Tayromar
#37 of 67 in Santa Marta
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Boutique Casa Carolina
Hotel Boutique Casa Carolina
#3 of 67 in Santa Marta
460 reviews
2.6 mi away
Portobahia Hotel
Portobahia Hotel
#49 of 67 in Santa Marta
37 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hospederia Casa Familiar
Hospederia Casa Familiar
#39 of 67 in Santa Marta
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel San Miguel Imperial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Miguel Imperial

Property: Hotel San Miguel Imperial
Address: Carrera 21 No. 6-96, Santa Marta 470005, Colombia
Location: Colombia > Magdalena Department > Santa Marta District > Santa Marta
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 107 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Marta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel San Miguel Imperial 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your Hotel San Miguel Imperial reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing