We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“beautiful hotel in restored colonial house”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of La Casa

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Santa Marta
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
La Casa
Ranked #38 of 68 Hotels in Santa Marta
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“beautiful hotel in restored colonial house”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2010

la casa is by far the best place to stay in santa marta. a little bohemiam, artistic b&b with a very warm staff that is eager to help the guests enjoy their stay. some of the little touches, like the artwork and the calming music that accompanies breakfast, set it apart from your average hotel. the food at breakfast, in particular, was very impressive.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Viento_lleve-me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    6
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
4
26
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2010

After making our booking via email - which due to our in-transit nature, was honoured without the usual up front deposit - we still had no address of how to get to this place. After asking many taxi drivers and locals if they knew the hotel, eventually one of these locals called them for us to ask for the address. (the local phones ate all our coins!)

After the initial trouble of finding it, we found it was well worth. Perfect for what we needed. A nice, clean place to stay, great Wifi and as a bonus, the decor and architecture added a great atmosphere.

The staff were very attentive and all requests fulfilled quickly and with care. Awesome breakfasts were made fresh for you in the morning whenever you were ready for breakfast - none of this annoying "only until 10am" stuff. The ability to use the fabulous kitchen was great, as we hadn't cooked our own meal for a while it was a nice change to do so. And as an added bonus you get free fruit! They lay fruit in a bowl in a common are where you can walk by and take what you want.

The only down side we found was that every time we wanted in or out, a staff member had to unlock the door for us. It's not that this was annoying to us, but it felt we were always disturbing someone, but it seems most Colombian hotels/hostels operate this way, so it was something that we weren't used to yet.

I do highly recommend this hotel if you budget allows it. Pricier than your average hostel, but you get what you pay for!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lizsterine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
genova
Level Contributor
122 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2010

All in this hotel was perfect! We choice the room "suite caribe" and every detail in the room was very very charming (precious sheets, natural bath sponge, old-fashion forniture, ecc.). The position was excellent (in the middle of the town). The staff was very helpful and professional: they help us to arrange the trasport to/for Parque Tyrona and taken our luggage for free during the two days of our trip in parque Tyrona. When we came back they offered us a very good drink and they help us to arrange the transport to Cartagena. We arrived in the hotel very late in the evening (2.00 a.m.) and they were sitll waiting for us! But maybe the best thing of this hotel was breakfast: unforgettable! The best breakfast in my life! I suggest to stop in this hotel and take a taxi to Parque Tyrona (cause in the park the accomodation was expencive...). Thank you Angela!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gio74Genova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shenandoah Valley, Virginia
Level Contributor
94 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2010

My husband and I stayed at La Casa for ten days last April. I don't understand the comments of the previous reviewer about La Casa being dilapidated and needing painting. La Casa has been recently restored and the faux finishes on the walls create the impression of an older residence. Perhaps the decor was not the taste of the reviewer, but La Casa is hardly dilapidated. The bathrooms are very imaginatively designed as are the rustic touches to the rooms. If what you are looking for is a slick US style hotel, this is not the place for you. As the weather was beastly hot when we were there, the small swimming pool and strong air conditioning was much appreciated. Attentions by the staff were impeccable and hospitable and we felt very pampered. Our wishes were their commands! The location is still in the process of restoration but will in time be much improved. The wonderful Plaza Gourmet Bistro is but a block away on the same street, and the Caribbean but two blocks in the other direction. I would not hesitate to recommend La Casa.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neferteria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2010

Just a small boutique hotel, the breakfast was good, but over all a little pricy compared to other hotels in the area. This hotel is located about 4 blocks from the beach, It is a 3 bedroom hotel and a little run down, there is a lot of work to be done on the walls and ceiling, a little upkeeping will go a long way. service was good and helpfull locating and doing reservations. Will recomend to others.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leylu78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
50 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2010

Mostly I've agreed to the reviewers on Trip Advisor. However, this time I was disappointed with my choice. At one time, La Casa, was most likely a beautiful home. Unfortunately, the owner has allowed it to become dilapidated. The plaster on the walls in the hotel room and dinning room are falling down. The whole place needs to be painted, something that has not been done in a while.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank felicia-toronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, NY
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2010

My husband and I stayed at La Casa for one night before traveling to Tayrona, and it was perfect for our stay. Prior to our arrival Angela was very helpful - providing us with a transportation recommendation and making our reservation/deposit process easy. The hotel is incredibly charming and the breakfast was amazing! Perhaps the best meal of our entire week in Colombia. Her staff was very nice and tried their best to be helpful even though our Spanish is awful. The gentleman working there actually walked my husband to find an ATM machine because we couldn't understand his directions.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Spencers_BrooklynNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Marta hotels
0.1 mi away
La Calzada del Santo
La Calzada del Santo
#13 of 68 in Santa Marta
5.0 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ribai Hotels Santa Marta
Ribai Hotels Santa Marta
#54 of 68 in Santa Marta
3.5 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
0.1 mi away
Caribe Mar Hotel
Caribe Mar Hotel
#56 of 68 in Santa Marta
3.5 of 5 bubbles 18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Casa Bugambilia
Hotel Casa Bugambilia
#17 of 68 in Santa Marta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
2.7 mi away
Portobahia Hotel
Portobahia Hotel
#33 of 68 in Santa Marta
3.5 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
1.6 mi away
Park Hotel
Park Hotel
#48 of 68 in Santa Marta
3.0 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Casa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Casa

Property: La Casa
Address: Calle 18 # 3-52, Santa Marta, Colombia
Location: Colombia > Magdalena Department > Santa Marta District > Santa Marta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 68 Hotels in Santa Marta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — La Casa 3*
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing