We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Experience and People!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Quimera Divers

Quimera Divers
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: We are a group of enthusiastic marine biologists committed to Teach people about dive and our natural resources through the alternative environmental education, available to Colombian and foreign population, to create sensitivity and increase knowledge, and create a change in the way people see the natural resources and how they interact with natural conservation. Creating environmentally responsible individuals.
Falls Church, Virginia
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful Experience and People!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

I got PADI certified with Quimera Divers in 2011, and it was a great and personalized experience provided by Diego and Julie, and their fellow marine biologists. I have since been back on two weekends to dive with them and each time has been spectacular, with small groups, personalized attention, and a nice boat! The coral reefs in Tayrona Marine Park are world-class, and I love way the mountains come cascading down to the sea. Julie and Diego also help point out and explain interesting animals and plants from a biological perspective.

I have also tried the Taganga diving scene and it wasn't as pleasant, as the groups are bigger and more impersonal. Quimera Divers is located in the historic center of Santa Marta where there are lots of good hotels and restaurants. Tanganga is more of low budget backpacker scene, but the costs of going with Quimera Divers is about the same.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Greg B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    86
    1
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Trondheim, Norway
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Diving and snorkelling incredible family experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2012

We had a fantastic experience with Diego, Juliana and Felipe. Felipe went snorkelling with our children Isak (12 years) and Ingeborg (10 years). Felipe showed and teach our kids about Caribean corals and fishes. My husband and me could dive while the children enjoyed the sea with Felipe. Diego and Juliana went with us diving and we had a great time experiencing the tropical ocean wild life in Tayrona National Park. The complete team is very friendly and highly professional.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ivonne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Texas
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A classroom in the reef for divers”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2012

Quimera Divers offers an unmatched experience in the sea. Diego is a trained marine biologist who did a year internship with the London Aquarium. His passion is to share the sights and miracles of the seas. From the specialties of each type of fish, the myriad crustaceans that climb out from under the rocks, to structure of the different types of coral,and snails that have their gills on the outside the shell in beautiful patterns, Diego's personal touch and vast practical knowledge makes this a very different type of dive tour.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank ChiliRobinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Certified in a one of a kind way”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2012

Diego pulled in a freelance Dive instructor, Carlos, is their go to go. Carlos was very personable, and speaks English incredibly well. Most people get PADI certified in the pool, but you get certified in the ocean. What's not to love? Worth every penny, which is not that much either, 450 USD for 4 days of diving and PADI certified. 400 with no PADI certified, you can't beat those prices in very many places in the world.

Diego is a marine biologist, and knows so much about the sea. He is young, full of energy, speaks english, and has a passion for teaching people about the OCEAN!!! You would be crazy to dive with anyone else.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Trey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Awesome Experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2012

A great and friendly experience, with an opportunity that established a true world-wide friendship. I can't say enough about Diego and Julie, and the professionalism - yet down-to-earth - instruction they provided. As a first diving experience, it was truly remarkable. Their knowledge and patience made the entire adventure an awesome experience. From assisting with accommodations, to providing a lunch at sea, to even a follow-up in the evening to make sure we got to where we were going, they went above and beyond what was needed to make the dive (and the stay in Santa Marta) the best it could be. Highly recommend, and if I make it back to Santa Marta, Quimera Divers will be at the top of my list to visit again. Best of luck to Diego and Julie!!

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank WStCharles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Quimera Divers also viewed

Santa Marta, Santa Marta District
Santa Marta, Santa Marta District
 
Santa Marta, Santa Marta District
Santa Marta, Santa Marta District
 

Been to Quimera Divers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing