We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Santa Marta
Post
Inbox
Search

“I loved the food! ”
Review of Donde Chucho

Donde Chucho
Ranked #34 of 471 Restaurants in Santa Marta
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We asked local people which CARIBBEAN food we should visit and they did not hesitate suggesting Don Chucho, the food is amazing, we arrived a little bit early for a lunch (12:20 pm) and service was great, quick and since we were almost alone in the restaurant, everything was super fast! I ordered a Cazuela de Mariscos and it was super tasty but a bit overpriced compared to its size. I won’t rate the restaurant with 5 stars because not even one of our dishes has a salad side, they just come with platain, which was delicious but common you pay around 20 bucks and don’t receive not even one tomato with lettuce. Besides this, the place was great!

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank X5886ESjessicag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (1,888)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5 - 9 of 1,888 reviews

Reviewed January 5, 2020

We waited 30 minutes for someone to take our order, waited 70 minutes for our food to be served, and then had to ask for the bill 5 TIMES over the course of 30 minutes. The food was average but the high prices and terrible attention from the staff made it a one star experience.

Date of visit: January 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank daisy21988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2020

Place was recommended a lot by locals but it’s not worth the try. Really overpriced and tacky plates.

Service was terrible as it was really crowded. Wouldn’t recommend this place

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank juanpablorojass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2019

The food took more than 48 mins to arrived. The shrimp soup was cold and it tasted like a flavored soup mix. Didn't taste fresh.

La comida llegó después de 48 minutos. La cazuela estaba fría y sabía a sopa de sobre. No sabía fresco.

Date of visit: December 2019
Thank LinaM919
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2019

The front desk at Casa de Leda recommended this restaurant when we checked in after our road trip from Cartagena and wanted a late lunch. It was a short walk from the hotel and we sat outside and ordered grilled fish (sea bass) with a garlic sauce, an almond sauce and accompaniments like coconut rice, patacones and french fries. The fish was delicious and we all had a large portion. The patacones were slightly different to the ones we have tried so far on this trip and were softer and not so crispy - very nice. All in all a lovely meal and nice to have some simple grilled fish in a nice location.

Date of visit: December 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank ElMundo66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Donde Chucho also viewed

Santa Marta, Santa Marta Municipality
Santa Marta, Santa Marta Municipality
 
Santa Marta, Santa Marta Municipality
Santa Marta, Santa Marta Municipality
 
Santa Marta, Santa Marta Municipality
Santa Marta, Santa Marta Municipality
 

Been to Donde Chucho? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing