We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food and ambiance in Parque los Novios”
Review of Donde Chucho

Donde Chucho
Ranked #7 of 286 Restaurants in Santa Marta
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Caribbean, Latin, Seafood, Soups, South American, Colombian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Business meetings, Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Medellin, Colombia
Level Contributor
75 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great food and ambiance in Parque los Novios”
Reviewed August 3, 2014

Nestled in a flower-filled corner of the Parque los Novios, Donde Chucho offers all the ambiance and cuisine you are looking for. The the risotto mariner, was excellent. All the seafood FRESH and expertly prepared. The kabobs with shrimp and halibut were simple but perfect. Our waiter, Ramiro, was attentive perfect. Highly recommend!!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 446leelal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,210 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    527
    397
    166
    58
    62
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Never a bad meal”
Reviewed July 22, 2014

In Rodadero, there are a lot of mediocre restaurants and a few good ones. This place is the best in regards to value and quality. Every dish that we've ordered there has been tasty, fresh and well prepared. The prices are reasonable and the service is good. We ate there once a day ... for dinner or lunch... everyday during our visit to Rodadero.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank viajeroSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedminster, New Jersey
Level Contributor
82 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Need to improve quality control and time”
Reviewed July 6, 2014 via mobile

I used to enjoy any meals at "Chuchos" but my husband and I were very unlucky this time (also I have heard the poor rumors about it). We arrived around 3pm, it was not crowded (Chucho was there too), however the waitress took about 20 minutes for bringing just 2 beers. The meals (seafood rice and Chuchos platter) took about 40 minutes and arrived cool (there were over the outside counter at least 10 minutes before bringing to our table). The "sea food rice" did not have any flavor. On top, the waitress did not mention her changed shift and took so long to get the bill. My husband named that visit like "Hasta Luego Chucho". Hopefully Chucho and his staff take controls to avoid this kind of comments.

Helpful?
5 Thank Isa2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Not sure what the rave is about Chucho sauce, but good spot”
Reviewed July 5, 2014 via mobile

Superb spot on the plaza de los novios courtyard with outdoor seating.

The Chucho sauce is absolutely nothing to write home about - basically sweet and sour sauce which was odd on a salad with prawns?!

However, huge portions and the mixed kebab (steak, langoustines and chicken breast) cooked to perfection. Succulent chicken, rare steak as ordered and good prawns. Coconut langoustines were good in bread crumbs and coconut but slightly overdone, a little too much coconut and way too much for one person.

Overall a good spot, huge portions, strange sauce.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Bear5308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Marta, Colombia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great quality, great variety!”
Reviewed May 14, 2014

"Donde Chucho" is located right at the beautiful "parque de los novios" but in one of the calmer corners. The food has great quality and the menu a big variety which makes it hard to choose. Because of the lovely location and the foods high quality is this place perfect to enjoy a special evening! Me gusta mucho Chucho :)

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SpanishTeacherSM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Donde Chucho also viewed

Santa Marta, Santa Marta District
Santa Marta, Santa Marta District
 
Santa Marta, Santa Marta District
Santa Marta, Santa Marta District
 

Been to Donde Chucho? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing