We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Casa de Isabella - a Kali Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Casa de Isabella - a Kali Hotel
Ranked #1 of 68 Hotels in Santa Marta
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
68 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2014

Very well designed. Well managed. Friendly staff.

Unlike most hotels in Colombia, the hotel has very modern interiors. It was very clean and very comfortable. Perfect boutique hotel in a great location.

It helped that we had room 10. I think its their best room with a rooftop plunge pool. I fell in love with eating mangos with salt and pepper (common in Colombia) so I would buy mangos on the street and the kitchen staff always offered to peel them for me.

Breakfast was great on an awesome second floor landing outside, under tress, between the buildings.

One problem we had was that the AC stopped working the first night; the hotel owner I believe (Jacob), came up personally. He couldn't get it fixed that night, but had it fixed the next day and offered a 25 percent reduction in the rate without hesitation. Bad things happen no matter where you are but good management takes care of it in a way that makes you forget it.

Finally, the only somewhat negative aspect is parking. Its not in the hotel but in a private lot right beside it. It was safe and convenient, but the parking lot owner first quoted me a price, then gave some nonsense explanation as to why he was going to double it after he saw we had an expensive car. The hotel deskman told him in Spanish (which I speak fluently) ..."no...you quoted one price and you can't change it"...and he agreed. So, don't get taken by that guy.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alwaysontherun2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacob_Schwarz, Owner at Casa de Isabella - a Kali Hotel, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
Thank you so much for this review! We are proud of Casa de Isabella, and do our best to offer world class service and quality for a great price. I was very sorry about the air conditioning situation that evening, but was glad to get it fixed first thing the next day as well as offer you a discount for the trouble. We hope you make it down here again, and for next time, be sure to book direct with the hotel for great discounts and promotions.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

582 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    475
    90
    14
    2
    1
See reviews for
64
298
43
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2014

Went here because it was number 1 for hotels in Santa Marta on TripAdviser and it lived up to the billing. Beautiful hotel, fabulous service and pretty good value for money. On checking out I was asked if I would consider adding a 5% tip to the bill and happily agreed - worked out at around £20 for six nights' stay.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Restaurantfanandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacob_Schwarz, Propietario at Casa de Isabella - a Kali Hotel, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
You have given us one of the best compliments any hotel could ask for. Thank you very much for this fantastic review, and we are so glad you enjoyed your stay. If you are ever back in Colombia, we would love the chance to impress you again, or maybe you would like to try any of our other Kali hotels spread across the coast of Colombia. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2014

Very clean place we receive a good welcome, the swimming pool very useful if you are afraid of the polution on the closed beaches around the city. We stayed 3 nights and we ll come back for sure withe all the family

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Red S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacob_Schwarz, Propietario at Casa de Isabella - a Kali Hotel, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Thank you so much for this review. We are proud of Casa de Isabella, and are ecstatic when we hear feedback about a great stay. We hope that you make it back here some time soon. Next time, may you would like to check out our jungle retreat by Tayrona National Park, called Villa Maria. We are currently building some new bamboo bungalows that should be ready by the summer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
33 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2014

We spent 2 nights at this gem and it was the best hotel of our 2 week vacation - it was absolutely gorgeous. All of the rooms are decorated differently and you can't go wrong with your selection. They have a prime location within the town and have a great complimentary breakfast. Ana and Luis were very friendly along with all of the staff at the hotel. The rooftop pool is very relaxing - particularly when they bring up some handcrafted beverages. I would highly recommend this hotel when traveling to Santa Marta.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are great - you can't go wrong.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Juliana N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacob_Schwarz, Propietario at Casa de Isabella - a Kali Hotel, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
We are so happy that you enjoyed our hotel to the fullest. Our goal is for every guest to leave as happy as you did. Thanks for mentioning our breakfast! We hope you find the time to visit Santa Marta again soon. Remember to book directly with the hotel (email, phone, or our website) for great discounts and promotions.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2014

This was a great find in Santa Marta (although not difficult to find since it was listed #1 hotel in Santa Marta on TA)! This was a short getaway with my husband from where we now live in Colombia. We planned to be there two nights and we ended up staying a third night because we had a great experience!

Rooms are very clean and beautifully decorated with nice bathrooms. We stayed the first two nights in one of the second floor rooms. The third night we upgraded to one of the suites that has a roof-top plunge pool and terrace. Views are beautiful from up there, especially for sunset. Only recommendations for the rooftop terrace would be that the pool be heated just a little bit (just so it isn't freezing when you want to go in at or after sunset) and that there be a large sun umbrella for daytime shade. The suite is definitely worth the $$ if you want to spend time at the pool and want to enjoy the nice sunsets.

Location couldn't be better in Santa Marta. A two block walk to the promenade along the marina/beach. A two block walk the other direction brings you to the Parque de los novios (square with restaurants, bars, etc.) Area was safe and well trafficked.

Hotel doesn't have it's own parking lot but we parked in a lot next door that was run by a family. Worked out well and no concerns there.

Service by the staff was excellent. Very helpful, punctual and courteous. Breakfast was very nice every morning. Nice options that included some local flavors.

Beds are a little hard for my taste but I'll take a hard bed over a soft one anyday, so no major complaint here.

Room Tip: I'd spring for the rooftop suite if you can. Lot of bang for your buck. But the basic rooms are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kayla C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacob_Schwarz, Owner at Casa de Isabella - a Kali Hotel, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Thank you so much for this review! We always appreciate hearing from guests, and all the better when they have a great experience. You made a good choice with the suite, as the rooftop terraces are spectacular. We hope to see you again soon, and please make sure to contact us directly at the hotel for great discounts and promotions.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2014

Casa de Isabella was a refreshing place to stay on our 11 day exploration of northern Colombia. The staff was the nicest on the trip (which says a lot compared to other friendly Colombian hosts). Additionally, the facilities were clean, modern and well maintained.

Frankly, the best part of the stay was enjoying one of the two rooms with roofdeck patio, pool, and lounge chairs. Yeah- a little pool for us to take in the sun, relax and devour an excellent poolside breakfast.

The location was great- one big block away from the 'scene' so that it was quiet yet accessible.

If I go back to Santa Marta, I will certainly

Room Tip: Get the suite with the roof deck and pool! It made the stay go from really good to unbelievable!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Billydelgesu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacob_Schwarz, Owner at Casa de Isabella - a Kali Hotel, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
We greatly appreciate this review. Its amazing to hear when people have such a good time at our hotel and feel compelled to share their experience with others. Thanks for mentioning our staff. We are so proud of them and their constant dedication to a great experience at Casa de Isabella. We hope to see you again soon! Be sure to book directly with the hotel for great discounts and promotions.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei, Taiwan
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2014

There are two beautiful and romantic rooms with privet pool in the rooftop, and you must to stay no. 9 and 10 if you gonna stay this hotel. We are lucky to get good deal with breakfast, but I think normally the price should be higher. It's functional, apple TV and internatinal(Europe, USA, and south america) phone calls included, but there's on bath which is strange if your room have a privet pool. The staff there are all nice and helpful. Breakfast is okay.

Room Tip: Number 9 and 10 with privet pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank seven1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacob_Schwarz, Propietario at Casa de Isabella - a Kali Hotel, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Thank you very much for writing this review. We are proud of our staff, and are glad you noted their constant devotion to a quality stay. Room 9 and 10 have very nice terraces with private plunge pools. The common pool on the second floor is also a nice place to cool off during the day. Thanks for mentioning our free international calls! Next time, remember to book direct with the hotel for great discounts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Marta
0.2 mi away
Casa de Leda - a Kali Hotel
Casa de Leda - a Kali Hotel
#2 of 68 in Santa Marta
5.0 of 5 bubbles 479 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Boutique Casa Carolina
Hotel Boutique Casa Carolina
#3 of 68 in Santa Marta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 420 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hotel Tamaca Beach Resort
Hotel Tamaca Beach Resort
#4 of 68 in Santa Marta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Zuana Beach Resort
Zuana Beach Resort
#7 of 68 in Santa Marta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,354 reviews
22.9 mi away
Villa Maria Tayrona - a Kali Hotel
Villa Maria Tayrona - a Kali Hot...
#1 of 2 in Tayrona National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 478 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Boutique Don Pepe
Hotel Boutique Don Pepe
#5 of 68 in Santa Marta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa de Isabella - a Kali Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa de Isabella - a Kali Hotel

Property: Casa de Isabella - a Kali Hotel
Address: Carrera 2 N. 19-20 | Centro, Santa Marta, Colombia (Formerly Casa de Isabella Hotel Boutique)
Phone Number:
Location: Colombia > Magdalena Department > Santa Marta District > Santa Marta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 68 Hotels in Santa Marta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Casa de Isabella - a Kali Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa de Isabella pays homage to the charm and history of Santa Marta's colonial era while ushering in a future rich in culture and beauty. Founded in 1525, Santa Marta is Colombia's oldest city. Its natural port provided a refuge from long journeys on Spanish galleons, and its position on the north coast allowed explorers to use it as a base camp for trips to the interior. Casa de Isabella sits in the Centro Historico, the Old City of Santa Marta. This area, first developed after the Manzanares river receded in 1850, holds buildings that reflect traditional Mudejar architecture. The building's original owners inhabited the house for four generations and contributed significantly to the city's growth in the 19th and 20th centuries. In renovating the hotel for the modern era, we consistently chose classic style, maintaining the original integrity of the building and its surrounding neighborhood. Our guests feel the simplicity of Santa Marta's natural charm while enjoying modern comforts. From the greenery of the courtyard to the intimacy of a personal rooftop pool, Casa de Isabella fuses the tranquility of Colombian culture with top quality hotel conveniences. With lighting fast Wi-Fi, complimentary I-Pads, and Apple TV, as well as restored furniture and handmade adornments, this hotel stays anchored in tradition while looking ahead toward a bright future. We have proudly renovated the most beautiful boutique hotel in the Colombian Caribbean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Casa de Isabella - a Kali Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing