We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful, well-located boutique hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Casa de Isabella - a Kali Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Casa de Isabella - a Kali Hotel
Ranked #1 of 68 Hotels in Santa Marta
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
65 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Beautiful, well-located boutique hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2014

We stayed in a 2nd-floor room for three nights and enjoyed every part of the experience.

The location was great. It was just a block from the ocean and a few blocks from the Marina, where we took our dive trips. It's also a few blocks from a couple of public squares and a main street for trendy bars and restaurants.

The service was great. The breakfast was really good. I recommend "eggs in the hole." All breakfast options come with a luscious tropical fruit salad.

The staff is very accommodating. Since we were staying at other Kali hotels in near Tayrona National Park and Cartagena, they arranged transportation among them.

Our room was super comfortable and spacious too.

Room Tip: We liked our room on the 2nd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LittleMySF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacob_Schwarz, Owner at Casa de Isabella - a Kali Hotel, responded to this review, January 4, 2014
We are so honored that you enjoyed your stay. Thanks for the review! We are proud to offer a world class level of service here in Santa Marta. We train our staff to provide the best possible experience. Its great that you stayed at Villa Maria as well. Its a perfect addition to your Santa Marta vacation, or as a stand alone adventure. We hope to see you again soon. For next time, don't forget to book directly with the hotel (email, phone, or our website) for the best discounts and promotions.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

581 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    474
    90
    14
    2
    1
See reviews for
64
297
43
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2013

Firstly the hotel is beautiful, the room gorgeous and the bed divine. But the thing that really makes this hotel stand out is the standard of service. Everyone who works there, no matter what their job is is eager to accommodate and please. I took food there, which I brought home from a tour and when I asked, they were only too happy to heat it up for me and brought it back to me served like a restaurant meal. The desk staff speak English, are helpful and friendly! They were patient while I tried to think of all the Spanish words I knew to say too.

The reason for less than 5 stars for the restaurant is just that it is only open for breakfast.

I would love to stay here again and am now keen to look for Kali hotels when I go to other places. I can't imagine anyone being disappointed here!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LJH37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacob_Schwarz, Owner at Casa de Isabella - a Kali Hotel, responded to this review, December 25, 2013
Thanks for the great review! We're so please to have given you an unforgettable experience. Our goal is to constantly go above and beyond with customer service, as the details are truly what make the experience. We hope to see you again soon. Always remember to book directly with us via email or on our website for the best discounts and promotions.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plantation, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2013

>
> Comments:







Casa Isabella’s facility is beautiful, charming, and pristine; the 360 panoramic view (ocean, city, and mountains) from the penthouses’ private terraces is spectacular; the pool area is comfortable, relaxing, and again immaculate; the rooms will not let you down, the same care was given to each room, each individually decorated and appointed. Top it off with an attractive, professional, genial staff that is always attent on making your stay as pleasant as possible and a hands on ownership and management that keeps Casa Isabella in this light… Lastly during your stay make sure you ask about Villa Maria, their awesome property by the ocean next to Tyrona.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maurice P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacob_Schwarz, Owner at Casa de Isabella - a Kali Hotel, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Wow, thank you so much for this amazing review. We are proud of Casa de Isabella, and are so happy that you enjoyed your stay. The building has much detail, but it means nothing without our dedicated staff. Our whole team works so hard to keep the place running perfectly, and we are indebted to them. Thanks for mentioning Villa Maria as well, since its the perfect jungle addition to your Santa Marta vacation. Don't forget to book directly with the hotel for the best discounts and promotions.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, New Jersey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2013

This hotel is a refuge in Santa Marta. This city has its charm, but this hotel is an oasis of luxury. From the check in time, we felt cared for. We arrived early for check in, so we roamed the city and had lunch, and by the time we got back our room was ready. Even though it was still before their offical check in time, they worked hard to prepare the room early for us. Breakfast had many options, and I was pleasantly surprised by the local Santa Marta dish. I forget what it was called, but it was tasty and kept me full for our long hike into Tayrona National Park! Through and through, this hotel completly impressed me. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacob_Schwarz, Owner at Casa de Isabella - a Kali Hotel, responded to this review, December 15, 2013
We are so happy you enjoyed your stay! We always try to get rooms ready as quickly as possible to allow for early check ins. There is no reason you shouldn't get into your room early if we can get it ready early for you. The traditional Santa Marta dish is called Cayeye, and it a green plantain purée with sausage and cheese. Its a local favorite, and we'd love to provide you the recipe if you are interested. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 3 nights and the room was very nice, comfortable, good shower. The service is like a 5star, super friendly people, Ana, Emilse prepared the best breakfast with homemade bread :) and Luis and Javier were helpful all the time; the decoration is beautiful, makes a very cozy environment!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Arne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacob_Schwarz, Owner at Casa de Isabella - a Kali Hotel, responded to this review, December 15, 2013
Thank you so much for your wonderful review! We were so happy to have you, and to help with any and all things. The homemade bread is something we enjoy making every day, and are glad you noticed. We put a lot of time and effort into the hotel's details and decoration, but it means nothing without our amazing staff. We are very lucky to have such a dedicated team. Remember to book directly with us over the phone, email, or our website for the best prices and promotions. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2013

I am so happy that I chose Casa de Isabella for my time in Santa Marta, Columbia. I had been looking at a few boutique hotels in the area, and I settled on this one because of the great reviews I had read. The staff were so attentive and considerate during my entire stay. Every time I was sitting out by the pool they were quick to offer me a refreshing drink. The reception answered all my questions with knowledgable and informed answers, and they recommended some great restaurants nearby. I loved Ouzo. I didn't get to stay in the suites, but from the pictures with their rooftop terrace and private pool, they seem amazing. I cannot remember the name of the receptionist who helped me out, but special thanks to him for making this trip easy and special.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Adam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacob_Schwarz, Owner at Casa de Isabella - a Kali Hotel, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Thank you kindly for your review. We greatly appreciate your stay with us, and we're so glad you enjoyed your time! Great service is so important to us, and we cannot tell you how happy we are that you took note of it. Thanks again, and remember for next time to book directly with us (over the phone, email, or via our website) for the best discounts and promotions.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claremont, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2013

My stay at Casa de Isabella was truly incredible. From arrival, I felt at home and cared for. The receptionists all spoke English (A huge plus for me with my limited spanish), and were very knowledgable about the surrounding area. I slept very deeply, I almost missed breakfast! But I am glad I didn't, since its cooked to order with a bunch of menu options. Casa de Isabella really made my trip to Santa Marta, and I will have great memories.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacob_Schwarz, Owner at Casa de Isabella - a Kali Hotel, responded to this review, December 8, 2013
Thank for you taking the time to review our hotel. We are very proud of what we have created here, and are elated that you enjoyed your stay. The English-speaking reception is very important to us, as answers to questions in your own language can be so much more helpful than in a language you are just learning. When traveling, you want to get the most accurate information as possible, so English can be a great help. We hope to see you again soon, and be sure to book directly with us (over the phone, email, or the booking portal on our website) for the best discounts and promotions.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Marta
0.2 mi away
Casa de Leda - a Kali Hotel
Casa de Leda - a Kali Hotel
#2 of 68 in Santa Marta
5.0 of 5 bubbles 476 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Boutique Casa Carolina
Hotel Boutique Casa Carolina
#3 of 68 in Santa Marta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 420 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hotel Tamaca Beach Resort
Hotel Tamaca Beach Resort
#4 of 68 in Santa Marta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Zuana Beach Resort
Zuana Beach Resort
#7 of 68 in Santa Marta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,354 reviews
22.9 mi away
Villa Maria Tayrona - a Kali Hotel
Villa Maria Tayrona - a Kali Hot...
#1 of 2 in Tayrona National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 478 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Boutique Don Pepe
Hotel Boutique Don Pepe
#5 of 68 in Santa Marta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa de Isabella - a Kali Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa de Isabella - a Kali Hotel

Property: Casa de Isabella - a Kali Hotel
Address: Carrera 2 N. 19-20 | Centro, Santa Marta, Colombia (Formerly Casa de Isabella Hotel Boutique)
Phone Number:
Location: Colombia > Magdalena Department > Santa Marta District > Santa Marta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 68 Hotels in Santa Marta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Casa de Isabella - a Kali Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa de Isabella pays homage to the charm and history of Santa Marta's colonial era while ushering in a future rich in culture and beauty. Founded in 1525, Santa Marta is Colombia's oldest city. Its natural port provided a refuge from long journeys on Spanish galleons, and its position on the north coast allowed explorers to use it as a base camp for trips to the interior. Casa de Isabella sits in the Centro Historico, the Old City of Santa Marta. This area, first developed after the Manzanares river receded in 1850, holds buildings that reflect traditional Mudejar architecture. The building's original owners inhabited the house for four generations and contributed significantly to the city's growth in the 19th and 20th centuries. In renovating the hotel for the modern era, we consistently chose classic style, maintaining the original integrity of the building and its surrounding neighborhood. Our guests feel the simplicity of Santa Marta's natural charm while enjoying modern comforts. From the greenery of the courtyard to the intimacy of a personal rooftop pool, Casa de Isabella fuses the tranquility of Colombian culture with top quality hotel conveniences. With lighting fast Wi-Fi, complimentary I-Pads, and Apple TV, as well as restored furniture and handmade adornments, this hotel stays anchored in tradition while looking ahead toward a bright future. We have proudly renovated the most beautiful boutique hotel in the Colombian Caribbean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Casa de Isabella - a Kali Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing