We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quite surprised and amazed, with a few things to improve”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Casa de Isabella - a Kali Hotel
Ranked #1 of 66 Hotels in Santa Marta
Certificate of Excellence
Medellín, Colombia
Level Contributor
217 reviews
111 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
“Quite surprised and amazed, with a few things to improve”
Reviewed October 16, 2013

The place is very beautiful and I was really surprised to find such a nice place in Santa Marta, and will definitely go back. The setting is amazing and the rooms not only spacious, but also very comfortable and modern. The rooms has all the most modern tech gadgets (apple TV, antenna, internet, etc) and the comfort of a 4-5 star hotel. They also have a nice touch in its decoration and liked every corner of the room.

The breakfast was delicious and the table setting also nice, though they seemed to be understaffed while attending the guests, or maybe inexperienced, since they only had to attend three tables, which is their capacity. Though it doesn't affect my overall concept, it's something they have to work on. I also would like to comment the front desk guy who did my check out, forgot to coordinate my cab from Villa Maria (their gem in the Tayrona Park) which nearly made us miss our flight. It was quickly solved by the administrator of this hotel, who got us a cab in a hurry (45 minutes away, but still made it).

I strongly recommend this hotel!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ColombiaJuanSe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brian_sutcliffe, Owner at Casa de Isabella - a Kali Hotel, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Thanks for this wonderful review and we look forward to your return! Noted on breakfast. It really is an operational issue which we are constantly balancing. We want to offer made to order fresh breakfasts. Since we try to keep guest costs low and service high we are always balancing staff to fulliest. Adding an additional employee would mean we have to increase prices which we had been resisting.

Please when you return book direct as we offer our best rate and additional services. By booking direct we save commissions and try to pass those savings to guests with extra services.

Lastly we just added Cartagena to our Kali Hotel properties. We have 5% global discounts when booked in conjuction. Take a look when you have time prior to you next trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

602 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    492
    92
    15
    2
    1
See reviews for
67
309
45
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rockledge, Florida
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2013

We stayed at Casa de Isabella and they were wonderful. Unfortunately my husband got sick and we had to depart early so never got to experience this great hotel as much as we would have liked. However they were great got us a doctor and then transportation to get to Cartagena and the doctor that our US doctors had waiting for us. Thank you Franklin for all your help. We are looking forward to the time we can come again and have a truly enjoyable experience.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nancy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brian_sutcliffe, Owner at Casa de Isabella - a Kali Hotel, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
First we are sorry about your husband getting sick and hope all is well. We are glad we could help and you used the same doctor who treated my wife in July. great guy!

Please remember to book direct through Kali Hotels for best ates when you return and stay at Kali's Cartagena location on you next trip. We have 5% global discounts for combined bookings.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2013

I stayed at this hotel with my daughter from the 12th of September to the 15th of September 2013. We were greeted by a warm friendly staff after registering we were seated in the lovely lobby bar and offered the most delicious drink of Tamarindo Juice ...while we waited to be taken to our room....The room was absolutely beautiful ...fresh ...clean...large amazing bathroom...large screen tv in bed room...fridge even gave us a tablet to use during our stay....all the modern convinces! Fantastic roof top pool with beautifully appointed furniture ....also every morning a breakfast of your choice is served ...everything is FRESH! You can take this breakfast on the roof near the pool or served to you in your room...This LOVELY hotel is gated and so so so safe! I have to say that the staff at this hotel is of the highest quality! You will never find staff at a hotel better than these wonderful people! I highly recommend this Hotel!

Room Tip: I am very sure all the rooms are as amazing as the one we stayed in!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank terlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brian_sutcliffe, Owner at Casa de Isabella - a Kali Hotel, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Thank you so much for this great review. I wanted to add that you mention "Fresh" for breakfast. We actually grow all fruits on property of Villa Maria to suplly fruits to all our hotels. All eggs are from the Villa Maria chickens as well.

Remember to book direct when you return for best prices and deals like free airport pickup.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
344 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for a few nights and were upgraded on arrival which was a nice surprise. Our room was nice and spacious, comfy etc and we had our own private Jacuzzi/pool on a private rooftop, it was lovely. Staff were nice and the one breakfast I did get up in time for was also good...we are now moving onto their sister hotel! I would say room tax and optional tip are also added to your bill upon checkout.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ChilliLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brian_sutcliffe, Owner at Casa de Isabella - a Kali Hotel, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Thanks for the great review and I am so happy you had a chance to stay at Casa de Leda. Hopefully next trip you can visit Villa Maria. Remember to book direct for our best rate iotpion with best service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Casa de Isabella is by far one of the best places to stay in Santa Marta. Not only is the hotel beautifully colonial with modern touches it is located close to the beach and the historic center. Most importantly though, Casa de Isabella has incredible staff who work hard to make your stay as comfortable as possible.

Without a doubt I would recommend this hotel to my friends and family.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cdelnorte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brian_sutcliffe, Owner at Casa de Isabella - a Kali Hotel, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Thanks for the great review. Although the beach near hotel is not what we recommend for our guests it offers pleasant views of the new Marina. I love the beach in front of Villa Maria as my perfect place!

Remember to book direct for best rates (price match) and sevices (free airport pickup).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013

I adored this hotel! The decor and ambiance of the hotel is serene and relaxing. Staff was sweet and friendly. Franklin especially was super helpful. He helped us plan activities, called and spoke to the companies for us since our Spanish was rusty, and he made several arrangements for us. It was helpful that all the front desk staff spoke very good English, as that is not the case at most places. We also met the owner, Jacob, as we were standing outside the hotel trying to figure out where to go. He walked with us to town and gave us some helpful pointers for getting around, as well as his favorite places to hangout/eat. He was very sweet and even checked back in with us to make sure we were enjoying our stay. The rooms were great! They were very comfortable and clean. I loved eating breakfast (made to order) each morning outside on the patio. Beautiful hotel, wonderful staff, comfortable accommodations. Couldn't ask for more in a vacation!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank doodlebug-d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brian_sutcliffe, Owner at Casa de Isabella - a Kali Hotel, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Jacob and Franklin both say hi and we look forward to your return. I myself hope to meet you next time. The front desk being able to speak english is something which is important in trying to bring the best service.

Remember to book direct with us for best rates next trip. We offer price match for best price as well as extras like free airport pickup.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pawtucket, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Recently my husband and friend stayed at this hotel. We negotiated special arrangements via email with the front desk to accommodate 3 adults traveling together. They responded immediately and proactively helped up come up with a solution. Upon checking in, we met the owner Jacob who actually walked us down to the main square and gave us some highlights we should see on a quiet Sunday morning. He was very helpful and followed up with us later in our visit to assure things were going well. Franklin at the front desk was always very friendly and helped us book all our tours and even arranged a private car for us directly to Cartagena (best way to go). The front desk attendant could always speak English and was very helpful to direct us around the city and help make reservations. Once we started talking to some other tourist we found out this was rare and felt very lucky as many places did not speak English.

The rooms were great. They were very comfortable and clean and I could not have asked for more! The breakfast was delicious and was cooked to order each morning.

I can't recommend this hotel more highly! I would suggest it to anyone and the upgraded price is definitely worth it!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank melhertel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brian_sutcliffe, Owner at Casa de Isabella - a Kali Hotel, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Thanks for the great review and Jacob says hi! He said it was a pleasure having you stay with us as did Franklin. I hope to have the opportunity of meeting you during your next stay.

Please remember to book directly with us for the best rates and we even have free airport pickup till year end for direct bookers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Marta
0.2 mi away
Casa de Leda - a Kali Hotel
Casa de Leda - a Kali Hotel
#2 of 66 in Santa Marta
5.0 of 5 bubbles 499 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Boutique Casa Carolina
Hotel Boutique Casa Carolina
#3 of 66 in Santa Marta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 441 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hotel Tamaca Beach Resort
Hotel Tamaca Beach Resort
#4 of 66 in Santa Marta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.9 mi away
Villa Maria Tayrona - a Kali Hotel
Villa Maria Tayrona - a Kali Hot...
#1 of 3 in Tayrona National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 513 reviews
7.0 mi away
Zuana Beach Resort
Zuana Beach Resort
#7 of 66 in Santa Marta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,417 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Boutique Don Pepe
Hotel Boutique Don Pepe
#5 of 66 in Santa Marta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa de Isabella - a Kali Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa de Isabella - a Kali Hotel

Property: Casa de Isabella - a Kali Hotel
Address: Carrera 2 N. 19-20 | Centro, Santa Marta, Colombia (Formerly Casa de Isabella Hotel Boutique)
Phone Number:
Location: Colombia > Magdalena Department > Santa Marta District > Santa Marta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 66 Hotels in Santa Marta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Casa de Isabella - a Kali Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa de Isabella pays homage to the charm and history of Santa Marta's colonial era while ushering in a future rich in culture and beauty. Founded in 1525, Santa Marta is Colombia's oldest city. Its natural port provided a refuge from long journeys on Spanish galleons, and its position on the north coast allowed explorers to use it as a base camp for trips to the interior. Casa de Isabella sits in the Centro Historico, the Old City of Santa Marta. This area, first developed after the Manzanares river receded in 1850, holds buildings that reflect traditional Mudejar architecture. The building's original owners inhabited the house for four generations and contributed significantly to the city's growth in the 19th and 20th centuries. In renovating the hotel for the modern era, we consistently chose classic style, maintaining the original integrity of the building and its surrounding neighborhood. Our guests feel the simplicity of Santa Marta's natural charm while enjoying modern comforts. From the greenery of the courtyard to the intimacy of a personal rooftop pool, Casa de Isabella fuses the tranquility of Colombian culture with top quality hotel conveniences. With lighting fast Wi-Fi, complimentary I-Pads, and Apple TV, as well as restored furniture and handmade adornments, this hotel stays anchored in tradition while looking ahead toward a bright future. We have proudly renovated the most beautiful boutique hotel in the Colombian Caribbean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda, Hotwire, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Casa de Isabella - a Kali Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing