We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Casa de Isabella - a Kali Hotel
Ranked #2 of 68 Hotels in Santa Marta
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
338 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for a few nights and were upgraded on arrival which was a nice surprise. Our room was nice and spacious, comfy etc and we had our own private Jacuzzi/pool on a private rooftop, it was lovely. Staff were nice and the one breakfast I did get up in time for was also good...we are now moving onto their sister hotel! I would say room tax and optional tip are also added to your bill upon checkout.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ChilliLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brian_sutcliffe, Owner at Casa de Isabella - a Kali Hotel, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Thanks for the great review and I am so happy you had a chance to stay at Casa de Leda. Hopefully next trip you can visit Villa Maria. Remember to book direct for our best rate iotpion with best service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

593 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    483
    92
    15
    2
    1
See reviews for
65
305
43
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

Casa de Isabella is by far one of the best places to stay in Santa Marta. Not only is the hotel beautifully colonial with modern touches it is located close to the beach and the historic center. Most importantly though, Casa de Isabella has incredible staff who work hard to make your stay as comfortable as possible.

Without a doubt I would recommend this hotel to my friends and family.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cdelnorte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brian_sutcliffe, Owner at Casa de Isabella - a Kali Hotel, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Thanks for the great review. Although the beach near hotel is not what we recommend for our guests it offers pleasant views of the new Marina. I love the beach in front of Villa Maria as my perfect place!

Remember to book direct for best rates (price match) and sevices (free airport pickup).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

I adored this hotel! The decor and ambiance of the hotel is serene and relaxing. Staff was sweet and friendly. Franklin especially was super helpful. He helped us plan activities, called and spoke to the companies for us since our Spanish was rusty, and he made several arrangements for us. It was helpful that all the front desk staff spoke very good English, as that is not the case at most places. We also met the owner, Jacob, as we were standing outside the hotel trying to figure out where to go. He walked with us to town and gave us some helpful pointers for getting around, as well as his favorite places to hangout/eat. He was very sweet and even checked back in with us to make sure we were enjoying our stay. The rooms were great! They were very comfortable and clean. I loved eating breakfast (made to order) each morning outside on the patio. Beautiful hotel, wonderful staff, comfortable accommodations. Couldn't ask for more in a vacation!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank doodlebug-d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brian_sutcliffe, Owner at Casa de Isabella - a Kali Hotel, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Jacob and Franklin both say hi and we look forward to your return. I myself hope to meet you next time. The front desk being able to speak english is something which is important in trying to bring the best service.

Remember to book direct with us for best rates next trip. We offer price match for best price as well as extras like free airport pickup.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pawtucket, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

Recently my husband and friend stayed at this hotel. We negotiated special arrangements via email with the front desk to accommodate 3 adults traveling together. They responded immediately and proactively helped up come up with a solution. Upon checking in, we met the owner Jacob who actually walked us down to the main square and gave us some highlights we should see on a quiet Sunday morning. He was very helpful and followed up with us later in our visit to assure things were going well. Franklin at the front desk was always very friendly and helped us book all our tours and even arranged a private car for us directly to Cartagena (best way to go). The front desk attendant could always speak English and was very helpful to direct us around the city and help make reservations. Once we started talking to some other tourist we found out this was rare and felt very lucky as many places did not speak English.

The rooms were great. They were very comfortable and clean and I could not have asked for more! The breakfast was delicious and was cooked to order each morning.

I can't recommend this hotel more highly! I would suggest it to anyone and the upgraded price is definitely worth it!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank melhertel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brian_sutcliffe, Owner at Casa de Isabella - a Kali Hotel, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Thanks for the great review and Jacob says hi! He said it was a pleasure having you stay with us as did Franklin. I hope to have the opportunity of meeting you during your next stay.

Please remember to book directly with us for the best rates and we even have free airport pickup till year end for direct bookers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is fabulous! We stayed in one of the suites, which was stunning. We loved the private roof-top terrace and plunge pool, which was romantic and perfect for cooling down after a day of sightseeing. Our room was also equipped with everything we could possibly need including iPod dock and Apple TV. The hotel's colonial architecture and luxury furnishings are superb. The hotels best asset though has to be its staff - the level of service we received was outstanding. Staff happily recommended and arranged restaurant reservations and day trips. We arranged a trip to Tyrona National Park through the hotel's in-house driver, Thomas, which was fantastic. This hotel deserves it's number one rating in Sant Marta and we look forward to staying here again on our next trip to Santa Marta!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ydnak80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brian_sutcliffe, Owner at Casa de Isabella - a Kali Hotel, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Thanks for the great review and the kind words! Please remember to call or book direct when you return for the best rate and extra service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
48 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

we stayed here for one night before we headed out to Villa Maria and Tayrona Park for 3 nights. we had the gorgeous suite, with a private plunge pool and roof deck, with sea and mountain views. the room was beautiful, clean, modern with way more amenities that we would need or use in our one night, but that would probably be great for other guests....apple TV, iPads, Netflix, etc....we didn't use any of those things since we were there for only one night. instead we enjoyed the rooftop terrace views, and the little pool. the thing that stood out the most was the excellent service. it was a relief to have excellent, English speaking help at the hotel. the front desk comforted us, and gave us very valuable info for our upcoming trip to Tayrona Park, and Villa Maria. they also helped us book/reserve our bus back to Cartagena.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brett r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brian_sutcliffe, Owner at Casa de Isabella - a Kali Hotel, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Thank you for the wonderful review. We do try to offer as much as possible to our guests in a great price and appreciate when people notice so thank you so much. I am so glad you got to visit Villa Maria we are now having some issues as people want last minute accomodations at Maria and we are full.

Tahnks again and we look forward to your return. Please remember to book direct with us for best rates. We also do not allow online or third party bookings of Villa Maria in order to allow guests of Casa de Isabella and Casa de Leda to have better booking options of Villa Maria.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tottenham
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

Some of the best customer service I have encountered. Rooms are clean and comfortable, location is excellent. Quiet but close to the action.
On the down side, breakfast could be improved upon. Adequate, but not on par with the high quality of the rest of the hotel. Otherwise everything was first class.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laurene C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brian_sutcliffe, Owner at Casa de Isabella - a Kali Hotel, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Laurene thank you for the great review. We are always trying to improve and I would lie to hear from you regarding how we might improve breakfast. We really have relied a great deal on guest feedback. We currently grow and farm all our ingredients at Villa Maria from the eggs to the fruits. I look forward to hearing from you and also when you return. Thanks again for the great review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Marta
0.2 mi away
Casa de Leda - a Kali Hotel
Casa de Leda - a Kali Hotel
#1 of 68 in Santa Marta
5.0 of 5 bubbles 490 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Boutique Casa Carolina
Hotel Boutique Casa Carolina
#3 of 68 in Santa Marta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 428 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hotel Tamaca Beach Resort
Hotel Tamaca Beach Resort
#4 of 68 in Santa Marta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 568 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.9 mi away
Villa Maria Tayrona - a Kali Hotel
Villa Maria Tayrona - a Kali Hot...
#1 of 3 in Tayrona National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 500 reviews
7.0 mi away
Zuana Beach Resort
Zuana Beach Resort
#7 of 68 in Santa Marta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,401 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Boutique Don Pepe
Hotel Boutique Don Pepe
#5 of 68 in Santa Marta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa de Isabella - a Kali Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa de Isabella - a Kali Hotel

Property: Casa de Isabella - a Kali Hotel
Address: Carrera 2 N. 19-20 | Centro, Santa Marta, Colombia (Formerly Casa de Isabella Hotel Boutique)
Phone Number:
Location: Colombia > Magdalena Department > Santa Marta District > Santa Marta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 68 Hotels in Santa Marta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Casa de Isabella - a Kali Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa de Isabella pays homage to the charm and history of Santa Marta's colonial era while ushering in a future rich in culture and beauty. Founded in 1525, Santa Marta is Colombia's oldest city. Its natural port provided a refuge from long journeys on Spanish galleons, and its position on the north coast allowed explorers to use it as a base camp for trips to the interior. Casa de Isabella sits in the Centro Historico, the Old City of Santa Marta. This area, first developed after the Manzanares river receded in 1850, holds buildings that reflect traditional Mudejar architecture. The building's original owners inhabited the house for four generations and contributed significantly to the city's growth in the 19th and 20th centuries. In renovating the hotel for the modern era, we consistently chose classic style, maintaining the original integrity of the building and its surrounding neighborhood. Our guests feel the simplicity of Santa Marta's natural charm while enjoying modern comforts. From the greenery of the courtyard to the intimacy of a personal rooftop pool, Casa de Isabella fuses the tranquility of Colombian culture with top quality hotel conveniences. With lighting fast Wi-Fi, complimentary I-Pads, and Apple TV, as well as restored furniture and handmade adornments, this hotel stays anchored in tradition while looking ahead toward a bright future. We have proudly renovated the most beautiful boutique hotel in the Colombian Caribbean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Casa de Isabella - a Kali Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing