We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couldn't be better”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Casa de Isabella - a Kali Hotel
Ranked #2 of 67 Hotels in Santa Marta
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Recently my husband and friend stayed at this hotel. We negotiated special arrangements via email with the front desk to accommodate 3 adults traveling together. They responded immediately and proactively helped up come up with a solution. Upon checking in, we met the owner Jacob who actually walked us down to the main square and gave us some highlights we should see on a quiet Sunday morning. He was very helpful and followed up with us later in our visit to assure things were going well. Franklin at the front desk was always very friendly and helped us book all our tours and even arranged a private car for us directly to Cartagena (best way to go). The front desk attendant could always speak English and was very helpful to direct us around the city and help make reservations. Once we started talking to some other tourist we found out this was rare and felt very lucky as many places did not speak English.

The rooms were great. They were very comfortable and clean and I could not have asked for more! The breakfast was delicious and was cooked to order each morning.

I can't recommend this hotel more highly! I would suggest it to anyone and the upgraded price is definitely worth it!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank melhertel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brian_sutcliffe, Owner at Casa de Isabella - a Kali Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2013

Thanks for the great review and Jacob says hi! He said it was a pleasure having you stay with us as did Franklin. I hope to have the opportunity of meeting you during your next stay.

Please remember to book directly with us for the best rates and we even have free airport pickup till year end for direct bookers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (647)
There are newer reviews for Casa de Isabella - a Kali Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

286 - 292 of 647 reviews

Reviewed September 16, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is fabulous! We stayed in one of the suites, which was stunning. We loved the private roof-top terrace and plunge pool, which was romantic and perfect for cooling down after a day of sightseeing. Our room was also equipped with everything we could possibly need including iPod dock and Apple TV. The hotel's colonial architecture and luxury furnishings are superb. The hotels best asset though has to be its staff - the level of service we received was outstanding. Staff happily recommended and arranged restaurant reservations and day trips. We arranged a trip to Tyrona National Park through the hotel's in-house driver, Thomas, which was fantastic. This hotel deserves it's number one rating in Sant Marta and we look forward to staying here again on our next trip to Santa Marta!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ydnak80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brian_sutcliffe, Owner at Casa de Isabella - a Kali Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2013

Thanks for the great review and the kind words! Please remember to call or book direct when you return for the best rate and extra service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2013

we stayed here for one night before we headed out to Villa Maria and Tayrona Park for 3 nights. we had the gorgeous suite, with a private plunge pool and roof deck, with sea and mountain views. the room was beautiful, clean, modern with way more amenities that we would need or use in our one night, but that would probably be great for other guests....apple TV, iPads, Netflix, etc....we didn't use any of those things since we were there for only one night. instead we enjoyed the rooftop terrace views, and the little pool. the thing that stood out the most was the excellent service. it was a relief to have excellent, English speaking help at the hotel. the front desk comforted us, and gave us very valuable info for our upcoming trip to Tayrona Park, and Villa Maria. they also helped us book/reserve our bus back to Cartagena.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brett r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brian_sutcliffe, Owner at Casa de Isabella - a Kali Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2013

Thank you for the wonderful review. We do try to offer as much as possible to our guests in a great price and appreciate when people notice so thank you so much. I am so glad you got to visit Villa Maria we are now having some issues as people want last minute accomodations at Maria and we are full.

Tahnks again and we look forward to your return. Please remember to book direct with us for best rates. We also do not allow online or third party bookings of Villa Maria in order to allow guests of Casa de Isabella and Casa de Leda to have better booking options of Villa Maria.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Some of the best customer service I have encountered. Rooms are clean and comfortable, location is excellent. Quiet but close to the action.
On the down side, breakfast could be improved upon. Adequate, but not on par with the high quality of the rest of the hotel. Otherwise everything was first class.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laurene C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brian_sutcliffe, Owner at Casa de Isabella - a Kali Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2013

Laurene thank you for the great review. We are always trying to improve and I would lie to hear from you regarding how we might improve breakfast. We really have relied a great deal on guest feedback. We currently grow and farm all our ingredients at Villa Maria from the eggs to the fruits. I look forward to hearing from you and also when you return. Thanks again for the great review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

if i had to describe my experience in one word, casa de isabella feels like HOME, not only the service is excellent but the locations couldn't be better,it's the perfect example of Santa Marta's worldwide touristic potential, walking in to this beautiful boutique hotel takes me back to Garcia Marquez short stories books,it feels safe and adventurous, there is romance and mystery in every corner of this exclusive but accessible take of paradise...

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MujerdeCandela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brian_sutcliffe, Owner at Casa de Isabella - a Kali Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2013

Wow what a great review! Thanks and it is the feeling we were trying for as each hotel as it's distinct "Feel".

We look forward to you return and remember to book direct with us for the best rates.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2013

Returning from beautiful Parque Tayrona, that I was really sad to leave, I spent one night in "Casa de Isabella" before going back to Bogota. The staff was very welcoming and helpful (one of the employee even spoke French wich was really nice!). I really enjoyed the tamarind juice they offerd me when I first arrived at the hotel (from the tamarind tree of the hotel!). The room was very clean, nicely decorated and I really appreciated the loan of IPads, the free international phone calls, the VOD... And the terrace and the pool were really enjoyable after a long day of travel in the heat!
The only minor down side is that the room I had on the ground floor was a little noisy especially in the morning.
Breakfast was excellent, it's nice to have different choices. I tried the "Cayeye" a local speciality I had never heard of before.
The proximity of parque Los Novios offers different nice dining options.
I had a very pleasant stay for a very affordable price and I highly recommend this hotel!


  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ida80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brian_sutcliffe, Owner at Casa de Isabella - a Kali Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2013

Thank you so much for this wonderful review. We try to offer as much as we can into a great price. We hope you can book direct with us when you return for the best prices and specials. Operating small hotels requires a tight profit margin and booking directly with us saves all of us as you will get the best price and we avoid booking charges.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2013

My husband and I recently spent a night here on our honeymoon in Colombia. We were only in Santa Marta as a jumping off point for Tayrona, but we were pleasantly surprised at how much we enjoyed Santa Marta. The seafood was amazing and Plaza de los Novios provided a wonderful evening. Casa de Isabella certainly did not disappoint. Our room was nicely decorated and the decor of the hotel was lovely. The breakfast choices were very nice (we had a local option that we didn't find anywhere else in Colombia), and we really enjoyed eating on the terrace. We didn't get into the pool, but it did look inviting. The hotel truly looks like the pictures posted on Trip Advisor. We easily walked everywhere from the hotel, and safety was never an issue. The staff were very helpful and assisted us with transportation to Tayrona. After an evening out, we returned to our welcoming hotel and had a drink at the bar there. The bartender was very nice and we had a great conversation with him. If returning to Santa Marta, without a doubt I would stay at Casa de Isabella.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jessica J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brian_sutcliffe, Owner at Casa de Isabella - a Kali Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2013

Thank you so much for the onderful review. We look forward to when you do decide to return. Remember to book direct with us for best prices and freebies like free airport pickup on stays of 2 nights or more.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Marta
0.2 mi away
Casa de Leda - a Kali Hotel
Casa de Leda - a Kali Hotel
#3 of 67 in Santa Marta
533 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Boutique Casa Carolina
Hotel Boutique Casa Carolina
#1 of 67 in Santa Marta
504 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hotel Tamaca Beach Resort
Hotel Tamaca Beach Resort
#5 of 67 in Santa Marta
658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Zuana Beach Resort
Zuana Beach Resort
#8 of 67 in Santa Marta
1,580 reviews
22.9 mi away
Villa Maria Tayrona - a Kali Hotel
Villa Maria Tayrona - a Kali Hot...
#1 of 3 in Tayrona National Park
579 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Boutique Don Pepe
Hotel Boutique Don Pepe
#6 of 67 in Santa Marta
229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa de Isabella - a Kali Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa de Isabella - a Kali Hotel

Address: Carrera 2 N. 19-20 | Centro, Santa Marta, Colombia (Formerly Casa de Isabella Hotel Boutique)
Phone Number:
Location: Colombia > Magdalena Department > Santa Marta District > Santa Marta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 67 Hotels in Santa Marta
Price Range: $71 - $114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Casa de Isabella - a Kali Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa de Isabella pays homage to the charm and history of Santa Marta's colonial era while ushering in a future rich in culture and beauty. Founded in 1525, Santa Marta is Colombia's oldest city. Its natural port provided a refuge from long journeys on Spanish galleons, and its position on the north coast allowed explorers to use it as a base camp for trips to the interior. Casa de Isabella sits in the Centro Historico, the Old City of Santa Marta. This area, first developed after the Manzanares river receded in 1850, holds buildings that reflect traditional Mudejar architecture. The building's original owners inhabited the house for four generations and contributed significantly to the city's growth in the 19th and 20th centuries. In renovating the hotel for the modern era, we consistently chose classic style, maintaining the original integrity of the building and its surrounding neighborhood. Our guests feel the simplicity of Santa Marta's natural charm while enjoying modern comforts. From the greenery of the courtyard to the intimacy of a personal rooftop pool, Casa de Isabella fuses the tranquility of Colombian culture with top quality hotel conveniences. With lighting fast Wi-Fi, complimentary I-Pads, and Apple TV, as well as restored furniture and handmade adornments, this hotel stays anchored in tradition while looking ahead toward a bright future. We have proudly renovated the most beautiful boutique hotel in the Colombian Caribbean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Casa de Isabella - a Kali Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing