We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Rate Hotel; Excellent Staff; Outstanding Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Casa de Isabella - a Kali Hotel
Ranked #1 of 67 Hotels in Santa Marta
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“First Rate Hotel; Excellent Staff; Outstanding Location”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

The title says all! The hotel is very nice & cozy. The staff was excellent, very helpful, especially Franklin Linero, who was waiting for us at the entrance on the day we arrived. The room was pretty big and though it was on the first floor, there was no noise, in fact, Franklin promised us that. And the location, couldn't have been better. It was walking distance from the Plaza de Novios; the Cathedral and the beach, all very important places in Santa Marta. I would happily go back again.

Room Tip: Though the rooms 9 & 10 would be the best, even room 3, which is on the first floor is pretty go...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SChaudhuri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brian_sutcliffe, Owner at Casa de Isabella - a Kali Hotel, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Thanks for the review and Franklin is a great guy who really understands customer service. The comment about the noise is interesting as I too feel that there is no noise in any of the rooms yet some guests may be sensitive to it on first floor. Eitherway we discount first floor to reflect this possibility but I agree with you in there is little if any noise in my opinion. Maybe it is only when we are completely full. not sure but possibility is reflected in rate.

Thanks for the great review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

624 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    511
    94
    15
    2
    2
See reviews for
70
319
47
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona, Spain
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2013

My girlfriend and I were fortunate enough to stay at this wonderful hotel from the 24th – 27th January 2013. We were staying in room 7.

The whole experience was fantastic.

The staff were great and more than helpful. You could sense that they were proud and happy to work in the hotel.

Breakfast was top notch – good choice, service and quality food.

They offer many nice touches, one of which being able to order from the menu of restaurants in the city and the hotel taking care of the order and delivery without any charge. The bathroom products are extremely high quality provided by L'Occitane. You are provided with an IPAD, Apple TV and free WiFi. Also, some minutes for international calls and domestic calls.

Although the hotel was fully occupied you don’t get the slightest sense of overcrowding. A reason for this maybe that 2 of the suits have private pools and terraces.

I have been lucky enough to stay in many hotels all around the world and have to say that Casa de Isabella ranks as a favourite.

We are already planning our next trip and would definitely like to combine a return to Casa Isabella with the newer property (Villa Maria) in Sierra Nevada which also looks wonderful.

I got the feeling everyone working in Casa Isabella wanted to make you leave having had the best experience possible. It certainly worked.

All in all a first class, top quality hotel. Staff are a credit to the hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alex M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brian_sutcliffe, Owner at Casa de Isabella - a Kali Hotel, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Thanks for this wonderful review. We really do have a great staff who I believe love their jobs. It is why we have the "Optional tip" on room rate. This is to build a team approach. I even hate staying at a hotel and trying to decide what to leave a cleaning person or receptionist. That receptionist or cleaning person is just as important as the other in my stay experience.

When you return please email hotel as we will be running some package deals with Villa Maria and Casa de Leda or Casa de Isabella.

Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
virginia
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2013

We just returned from stay at Casa de Isabella for our son's wedding in Santa Marta. The staff was outstanding - very attentive, going out of their way to accomindate our every need. Our spanish is poor at best, several of the staff spoke english, were mindful of our safety, and were able to point us to some great restaurants. We stayed in rooms 1&2 which are nicely done and comfortable - although sometimes a little noisey due to there location under the pool and next to the front desk.

Room Tip: Room 2 had temperamental hot water and a slow drain in the shower. Suite 10 is spacious - be carefu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cuervoslammer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brian_sutcliffe, Owner at Casa de Isabella - a Kali Hotel, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
So happy you enjoyed your stay with us and also took the time to offer a review. We have priced Room 1 and 2 at a lower rate as all our first floor rooms to compensate our guests as when we are busy there can be additional noise. We built all rooms with double walls to insulate against noise and outfitted windows and doors in hand crafted Narzarino wood as well. However nothing in 100% in life:( Hope you can return soon and also try Casa de Leda or Villa Maria.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Casa de Isabella and its new incarnation Casa de Leda for about 6 nights. Without doubt the most comfortable, relaxed place we stayed in Columbia. Staff are always welcoming and smiley. Rooms are beautifully designed and cool. The place is centred perfectly for restaurants in nearby square and became a much needed hub for short trips to Tayrona, Minca etc.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chilliconcarne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brian_sutcliffe, Owner at Casa de Isabella - a Kali Hotel, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful review and also having an opportunity of trying both properties in El Centro. We are really excited and proud of Casa de Leda as a First Class Spa Hotel. We have spent 2 years designing and building with every detail we can imagine in mind. We hope to complement Casa de Isabella with her new sister property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, NY
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed May 7, 2013

This was probably my favorite hotel I've ever stayed in. It was so chic and cool and there are so many amenities. They greet you with a glass of juice and they tell you all about the town. You can sit on the upstairs deck and watch the sunset with a cocktail. They have ipads for you to use. The rooms have Apple TV and you can watch Netflix and other stuff. The breakfast was so delicious. I love Santa Marta and I love this colorful place. My wife and I were so sad to leave. My one critical comment: Don't expect too much from the pool.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gillstein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brian_sutcliffe, Owner at Casa de Isabella - a Kali Hotel, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
I first want to say this is such a nice review that it made me feel so proud. We really try to make our guests comfortable and get a great value and when someone says we are their favorite hotel ever it really is a nice compliment.

I also am glad you had a chance to say at Villa Maria our property next to Tayrona. We really want guests to try it as we feel it completes a trip to Santa Marta and gives a foreigner areally different experience which they take home with them forever.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2013

I had some reservations about staying with my family in the old part of Santa Marta on our way to Parque Tayrona. We spent a total of 4 nights here.

These were quickly dissipated on arriving. We immediately felt "at home".
We stayed in room 10 which is very tastefully decorated, everything works and is immaculate. It has a rooftop terrace overlooking the bay with a very small private pool/jaccusi. Quite splendid for sunset coctails!

The place has a very relaxed, and serene feeling about it. The staff, Franklin, Ana, Blanca Luis and Javier are absolutely charming and will pamper every wish. Breakfast is delicious... try the " arepa con huevo".

As for the old area of Santa Marta is has a wonderful languid feeling of another era. Lots of small restaurants and bars and in May was wonderful.

We would definitely love to return. You can choose Casa de Isabella without any hesitation. This is a perfect luxurious modern boutique experience.

Room Tip: Room 10. It really is worth the difference.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Impresionist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brian_sutcliffe, Owner at Casa de Isabella - a Kali Hotel, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Thank you for the great review and also discovering the Old City of Santa Marta. This is why we choose to invest in our hotels here and near Tayrona. The renaissance of the old city is underway with an ecletic mix of restaurants. Although still a work in progress it is not touristy and a true sampling of Colombia.

Casa de Isabell and Casa de Leda serve as perfect centerpoints to Tayrona, Taganga, Rodadero etc.. We hope next time you can stay at Villa Maria our property next to Tayrona. It is a very special place and part of our properties.

We hope you can return soon as well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2013

This is a 2nd review of Casa de Isabella, the first one back in November 2011.
As promised, if we were going back to Santa Marta, we would again stay at Case de Isabella and we did in the beginning of April 2013. It's so rare to find an establishment that continues to strive for perfection almost 2 yrs later, but the staff (if possible) has shined even brighter than our first visit. Upon our entrance, the story of the Hotel and the Tamarind tree is a nice touch. Finishing it off with some fresh Tamarind juice from that same tree makes the history story priceless. We were fortunate to have a room with private jacuzzi upstairs overlooking the city. Breathtaking sunset view while enjoying a pleasant breeze in the hot Santa Marta sun. As far as the room, it was just as beautiful as it was almost 2 yrs ago. The bathrobes, L'Occitaine bath products and Apple TV help enhance the experience. Add breakfast to those beautiful rooms and it's amazing that the prices are as low as they are. By the way, the breakfast was outstanding and they give you many choices to choose from. We were offered a tour of their new spa that , if not open now, will be opening shortly and can't wait to return and see it open. Of course, after 2 stays at Isabella, we may not want to go anywhere else. Thank you to the staff who went out of their way to treat us like royalty while there. Thank you to the owners for bringing the public a 5 star hotel, and a 5 star staff, at rock bottom prices. When visiting Santa Marta, there really is no competition for your hotel stay. Keep up the great work!!!!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bbarone216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brian_sutcliffe, Owner at Casa de Isabella - a Kali Hotel, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Thank you for the wnderful review and most of all the fact that we not only earned your return trip but improved upon your experience. This is our goal in building a consistant clientele.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Marta
0.2 mi away
Casa de Leda - a Kali Hotel
Casa de Leda - a Kali Hotel
#2 of 67 in Santa Marta
519 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Boutique Casa Carolina
Hotel Boutique Casa Carolina
#3 of 67 in Santa Marta
475 reviews
7.0 mi away
Zuana Beach Resort
Zuana Beach Resort
#7 of 67 in Santa Marta
1,550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Hotel Tamaca Beach Resort
Hotel Tamaca Beach Resort
#4 of 67 in Santa Marta
629 reviews
22.9 mi away
Villa Maria Tayrona - a Kali Hotel
Villa Maria Tayrona - a Kali Hot...
#1 of 3 in Tayrona National Park
546 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Boutique Don Pepe
Hotel Boutique Don Pepe
#6 of 67 in Santa Marta
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa de Isabella - a Kali Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa de Isabella - a Kali Hotel

Property: Casa de Isabella - a Kali Hotel
Address: Carrera 2 N. 19-20 | Centro, Santa Marta, Colombia (Formerly Casa de Isabella Hotel Boutique)
Phone Number:
Location: Colombia > Magdalena Department > Santa Marta District > Santa Marta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 67 Hotels in Santa Marta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Casa de Isabella - a Kali Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa de Isabella pays homage to the charm and history of Santa Marta's colonial era while ushering in a future rich in culture and beauty. Founded in 1525, Santa Marta is Colombia's oldest city. Its natural port provided a refuge from long journeys on Spanish galleons, and its position on the north coast allowed explorers to use it as a base camp for trips to the interior. Casa de Isabella sits in the Centro Historico, the Old City of Santa Marta. This area, first developed after the Manzanares river receded in 1850, holds buildings that reflect traditional Mudejar architecture. The building's original owners inhabited the house for four generations and contributed significantly to the city's growth in the 19th and 20th centuries. In renovating the hotel for the modern era, we consistently chose classic style, maintaining the original integrity of the building and its surrounding neighborhood. Our guests feel the simplicity of Santa Marta's natural charm while enjoying modern comforts. From the greenery of the courtyard to the intimacy of a personal rooftop pool, Casa de Isabella fuses the tranquility of Colombian culture with top quality hotel conveniences. With lighting fast Wi-Fi, complimentary I-Pads, and Apple TV, as well as restored furniture and handmade adornments, this hotel stays anchored in tradition while looking ahead toward a bright future. We have proudly renovated the most beautiful boutique hotel in the Colombian Caribbean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire and Travelocity so you can book your Casa de Isabella - a Kali Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing