We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Colombia's Most Exclusive Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Casa de Isabella - a Kali Hotel
Ranked #1 of 67 Hotels in Santa Marta
Certificate of Excellence
Amman, Jordan
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Colombia's Most Exclusive Hotel”
Reviewed March 23, 2013

Casa de Isabella redefines the meaning of boutique hotel in Colombia. Indeed, this is by far the most exclusive hotel in Santa Marta, offering the most intimate, sophisticated and charming experience that is unparalleled to any other accommodation option in town. As a foreigner living in Colombia and travelling frequently to Santa Marta for both business and pleasure, I have practically experienced all accommodations in there; from backpacker-oriented hostels in Taganga, to mid-level hotels in Rodadero to the overrated beach resorts (located close to the airport). Casa de Isabella stands out for its excellent location (3 minute walk to the Parque de los Novios at the heart of Santa Marta), exceptional service, sophisticated all-around design and large and gorgeous rooms. Attention to details is the rule of the game at Casa de Isabella which features things like L’Occitane bathroom amenities and Apple TV. Areas of improvement: The breakfast is adequate but not outstanding; the swimming pool is just for cosmetics and looks more like a large jacuzzi. Tips: Eat at "Donde Chucho" (opt for the seafood salad) and at "Bistro"; have a cocktail at "Via Roma" and party at "La Puerta". (all of these locations are max 10 minute walk from the hotel.)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrea N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brian_sutcliffe, Owner at Casa de Isabella - a Kali Hotel, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Thank you so much for the wonderful review and I feel as though we have earned your future business which is what we are striving to do. We are opening our sister property next month Casa de Leda Spa Hotel. It is three blocks away and we hope you can come try it out. Please email us prior as we are offering great specials for previous guests of Casa de Isabella to as we try to replicate the our model of guest service and focus at reasonable prices.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

614 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    502
    94
    15
    2
    1
See reviews for
67
316
46
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2013

A very special thanks to Brandon, Federico and above all David for taking very good of us during our stay. The room itself was lovely, but it was the service that stood out. When we arrived David apologetically informed us that our selected room was unavailable as apparently the guests before us over did it/trashed it (we inferred this, he was too professional to say outright). He offered us a different room and honestly, perhaps a better one, at a discount. This was of course the right thing to do, but his professional and caring manner made the situation much less stressful than it could have been. Also every day when we left David and Brandon graciously answered our numerous questions about how to navigate the buses/what was a fair taxi price. etc. and basically treated us like special guests as opposed to garden variety tourists who were only there a few days never to be seen again. I was sad when we left!

While the service and the lovely room receive the main comments, we would be remiss not to mention the great and varied breakfast options, free phone calls, wifi and cable/apple tv. Bravo!

Room Tip: We were worried about the noise, but I use ear plugs anyway and my husband wasn't at all bothere...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Theresa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brian_sutcliffe, Owner at Casa de Isabella - a Kali Hotel, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
First I want to thank you for this glowing review! Second I want to apologize for your room not being available. Hotel management can be difficult at times and our total staff is in my opinion the most professional in Colombia. We want to focus on making the guest the focus and service is key.

Thank you also for mentioning the items which we try to include int the room rate! We really have tried to make a small guest focused boutique hotel. We do hope you can visit us at our new property Casa de Leda. We are offering some great opening specials for our Isabella guests. Please email us direct as we will not be advertising.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2013

We spent four nights at Casa Isabella and were sad to leave. Very friendly and helpfull staff. Always a pleasure coming back after a day or evening of site seeing. Large rooms with big showers and tons of water. Pool was a little small, more like a spa. Nice served breakfast of eggs or pancakes, fruit, juice and coffee. Easy walking distance to the waterfront (one block) and the main attractions of the old city. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Don S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brian_sutcliffe, Owner at Casa de Isabella - a Kali Hotel, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Thank you so much for this wonderful review. We are so glad we could meet your expectations. The room size at Casa de Leda which we open next month will be much larger even though you were happy at Isabella we feel we want to have a larger room option. When you return please email reception as we ave you now in our loyalty program as a previous guest and we can offer you some great rates at both properties. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2013

We will always stay here when we visit Santa Marta.

The rooms were beautiful, spacious, with apple tv, aromatherapy, and complementary l'occetane de provence toiletries, as well as unlimited long distance calling to Canada. The house itself was charming and well laid out, including a small pool, poolside lounge, and garden area.

What set this place apart, however, was the amazing service. Everyone was exceptionally helpful, friendly, and willing to accomodate any request. Breakfast was charming, with several options to choose from each morning.

Highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lalesander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brian_sutcliffe, Owner at Casa de Isabella - a Kali Hotel, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Thank you for the great review and also noting the additional things we try to add into our price. We really are focused on giving guests as much as we can with a great price. The most important part is the staff. They are my primary investment. I invested in building this hotel but they make it! Hopefully as Santa Marta continues to turn into a true destination then these investements will pay off. However in the meantime we want to focus on what we can do to build our reputation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2013

We spent 5 nights very recently staying at the Casa de Isabella in Santa Marta and would happily return. It is a creatively restored townhouse providing an oasis of tranquility with tastefully appointed rooms and a lovely outdoor pool/garden/lounge area where breakfast is served and whole afternoons can be lazily passed in the heat. It is located ideally, one block away from both the bay/marina and the Parque de Novios where the better restaurants and bars are situated.

We spent one night in a suite, which had its own private roof terrace with a small pool as an added bonus. Apple TV, L'Occitane toileteries and complimentary use of Ipads were great touches, and there was a wide choice of breakfast menu options to be enjoyed in the outdoor garden.

A particular standout for us was the service, in particularly from the reception staff. Good English speakers with a great local knowledge, they gave us great tips and suggestions for places to go, things to do, restaurants etc in and around Santa Marta, Tayrona and Taganga, and even helped with some of our more unusual requests (e.g. arranging appointments with real estate agents for my friend).

I believe the owners are shortly about to open another hotel in Santa Marta which promises to be even better than Casa de Isabella - if it provides even half as good an experience as Casa de Isabella, it will do well!

Room Tip: Room 10 (suite) has its own private roof terrace with pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ND1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brian_sutcliffe, Owner at Casa de Isabella - a Kali Hotel, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Thanks for the great review! We understand a guest experience is based on attention from staff. We really try to emphasize this and over staff if possible within budget. We also never want to bother guests with silly costs and try to include as much as possible in rate. Sort of like going somewhere and then they charge you for breakfast or wifi or movies in rooms. Heck we even include the international calling from rooms:) So we hope you can return soon and please email us directly so we can make arrangements at Casa de Leda for our returning guests we have some very good offers coming!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013

This is a belated review but we stayed at the Casa de Isabella Hotel in July 2012. The hotel was the best we stayed in of our whole 2 week Colombia trip. The location is close to everything and the hotel was was clean, well maintained, and the front desk hotel staff were very friendly and helpful, especially when we had to stay an extra night unexpectedly. The breakfasts were very good and the Apple TV was very welcomed after one of us had too much suspicious street food and was confined to the room for a while. The hotel staff helped us navigate changing car reservations, hotel reservations etc. in Spanish when we needed to change our itineraries in other cities due to the delay. I can't say enough good things about this hotel. You will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sara P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brian_sutcliffe, Owner at Casa de Isabella - a Kali Hotel, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful review. We really try to focus on guest service as it is in our opinion the most important aspect of your stay. It requires a higher guest to employee ratio which makes our business a very tigh margin business. However when we see these types of reviews about the service level we know our mission statement as a hotel is correct.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
48 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013 via mobile

Casa de Isabella is a tastefully restored townhouse in central Santa Marta. The rooms are extremely well furnished and include complimentary international phone calls, high end toiletries and an apple TV. The owner and staff are very interested in customer satisfaction which is almost unique in Colombia! When you consider the 5 star service and rooms the room rates look extremely reasonable.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zchal24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brian_sutcliffe, Owner at Casa de Isabella - a Kali Hotel, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Thank you for the wonderful review and as with the last review noticing some of the amenities we include in the price of room. We try to not charge for little thingds and add what we can to guest experience. If you notice which I believe you have so many other hotels will give an initial low price and then add and add to what a guest eventually pays. We try to price based on as much as we can include in the room We also will not make extra from arranging transportation or tour services like so many other hotels. We only view this as a service to our guest and try to arrange best service at their price and the guest pays them directly. This is another thing most guests do not see.

Thanks for the great review and hope you can come back soon to try our new hotel Casa de Leda Spa Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Marta
0.2 mi away
Casa de Leda - a Kali Hotel
Casa de Leda - a Kali Hotel
#2 of 67 in Santa Marta
512 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Boutique Casa Carolina
Hotel Boutique Casa Carolina
#3 of 67 in Santa Marta
460 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hotel Tamaca Beach Resort
Hotel Tamaca Beach Resort
#4 of 67 in Santa Marta
604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Zuana Beach Resort
Zuana Beach Resort
#8 of 67 in Santa Marta
1,488 reviews
22.9 mi away
Villa Maria Tayrona - a Kali Hotel
Villa Maria Tayrona - a Kali Hot...
#1 of 3 in Tayrona National Park
531 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Boutique Don Pepe
Hotel Boutique Don Pepe
#5 of 67 in Santa Marta
213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa de Isabella - a Kali Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa de Isabella - a Kali Hotel

Property: Casa de Isabella - a Kali Hotel
Address: Carrera 2 N. 19-20 | Centro, Santa Marta, Colombia (Formerly Casa de Isabella Hotel Boutique)
Phone Number:
Location: Colombia > Magdalena Department > Santa Marta District > Santa Marta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 67 Hotels in Santa Marta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Casa de Isabella - a Kali Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa de Isabella pays homage to the charm and history of Santa Marta's colonial era while ushering in a future rich in culture and beauty. Founded in 1525, Santa Marta is Colombia's oldest city. Its natural port provided a refuge from long journeys on Spanish galleons, and its position on the north coast allowed explorers to use it as a base camp for trips to the interior. Casa de Isabella sits in the Centro Historico, the Old City of Santa Marta. This area, first developed after the Manzanares river receded in 1850, holds buildings that reflect traditional Mudejar architecture. The building's original owners inhabited the house for four generations and contributed significantly to the city's growth in the 19th and 20th centuries. In renovating the hotel for the modern era, we consistently chose classic style, maintaining the original integrity of the building and its surrounding neighborhood. Our guests feel the simplicity of Santa Marta's natural charm while enjoying modern comforts. From the greenery of the courtyard to the intimacy of a personal rooftop pool, Casa de Isabella fuses the tranquility of Colombian culture with top quality hotel conveniences. With lighting fast Wi-Fi, complimentary I-Pads, and Apple TV, as well as restored furniture and handmade adornments, this hotel stays anchored in tradition while looking ahead toward a bright future. We have proudly renovated the most beautiful boutique hotel in the Colombian Caribbean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity and HRS so you can book your Casa de Isabella - a Kali Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing