We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Casa de Isabella - a Kali Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$91
Official Hotel
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$88
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$160
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$66
$58
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$120
$98
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Irotama Resort(Santa Marta)
$159
$128
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Zuana Beach Resort(Santa Marta)
$253
$85
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Casa Verde Hotel(Santa Marta)
$67
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$78
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$214
$206
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (705)
Filter reviews
706 results
Traveler rating
577
103
17
3
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
577
103
17
3
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsapple tvprivate poolbeautiful hotelboutique hotelwithin easy walking distancegreat boutiquelounge areasister hotelrestaurants and barsbreakfast serviceseveral optionsfirst floorspent nightstayrona national parksmall hotelvisiting santa martathe ground floor
Filter
Updating list...
368 - 373 of 706 reviews
Reviewed February 9, 2013

The hotel is very nice, located near the center of Santa Marta, the street is not one of the nicest ones but when you enter to the hotel you feel in a different place. Our room was located on the first floor, was cozy but a bit noisy on the morning because was to close to the kitchen.The breakfast is not as good as we expect for the hotel rate. The staff is warm, kind and helpful, they help us with some tips to visit the beaches, the inconvenient is that the access is not easy, and is quite expensive need a better quality regular transport.Is a nice hotel but not great value for money.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ASAN25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brian_sutcliffe, Owner at Casa de Isabella - a Kali Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2013

Sorry that we did not fully meet your expectations. I do believe we are the best located hotel in Santa Marta as we are a block from the bay and block from Parque de los Novios which is where all the best restaurants are located. There is a bit more noise on first floor when we are full and we have discounted room prices to reflect such. The hotel is centrally located so a guest can go travel 10 minutes west to Taganga for scuba or 10 minutes east to Roader and Playa Blanca. Tayrona is 45 minutes west and we also offer Villa Maria as a room possiblity for location near Tayrona. We have priced the rooms to include as much as possible such as free International calling, L'Occitane bath, free movies and Apple TVs as well as AC and high grade linens. This on top of extra staff makes what I believe a great value in which we must maintain high occupancy in order to breakeven.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2013

The rooms are lovely and come with an Apple TV which has lots of films on in many languages, the hotel is beautifully decorated with the bar and pool area both lovely and so relaxing, and the staff couldn't be more friendly and helpful. Quite possibly the best hotel we have ever stayed in- thank you to all the staff for such a wonderful and special stay. Also the breakfasts are amazing too! Can't fault it.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elmorethrudd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brian_sutcliffe, Owner at Casa de Isabella - a Kali Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2013

Thanks for the wonderful review. We will be expanding the movie selection soon as we have many new movies to add but have been a bit behind schedule with construction at Casa de Leda.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2013

My friend and I had been talking about taking a trip to the Lost City for many years. In association with this trip we wanted a hotel centrally located in Santa Marta to stay in before the trip started and after returning from the trip. We first stayed two days in the hotel, and then two more days after returning from the trip to the Lost City. The hotel was small and very nice and the location in Santa Marta was perfect. We rented room 10, that was a suite, with a small private pool on the roof with a view of the ocean. The personnel spoke fluent English and the service was perfect. We left our luggage in the hotel for the days we were walking. I managed to forget my passport and two credit cards in the hotel room when we left the first time. The cleaning personnel gave that to the reception and they returned it when we came back. I would highly recommend this hotel for anyone who wants to visit Santa Marta.

Terje and Per

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Per H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brian_sutcliffe, Owner at Casa de Isabella - a Kali Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2013

Thank you for this wonderful review! We really appreciate it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2013

We stayed here for two nights and were blown away by a number of things about this hotel. It was beautiful with amazing amenities (apple TV, great design, hot showers, tasty breakfast). Its located right in the heart of Santa Marta. The best part was perhaps the staff (fluent in English and Spanish). They helped us coordinate all our activities (scuba diving, taxies to Tayrona park, restaurant reviews). Can't say enough about how great a value this hotel was, especially for the price. The only minor hassle was that our room was right next to the front desk, so it was a little loud later in the evening, but for what we paid, I really can't complain...

Room Tip: Ask for a room farther from the front desk if possible. Also, the suites have private pools and amazing rooftop pools!
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lydia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brian_sutcliffe, Owner at Casa de Isabella - a Kali Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2013

Thank you for the wonderful review! We appreciate you seeing the value we are trying to bring but not charging guests for as many services as we can include in our rate. We also do not take any commissions for tours, transport etc. but simply want guests to get best price/service. We recently had a guest mention they were staying at another hotel (we were booked on some of his dates) and he asked if we could arrange transport from Cartagena as the price for same service and company at the other hotel he ended up staying was higher:) These are things people do not see we are doing and we appreciate when people take notice of the value.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2013

The entire staff is incredibly helpful and friendly. Clean rooms, good breakfasts, and the location is great. The wood for the beds, closets, doors are all beautiful. There is a nice little pool in which to soak in the Santa Marta heat. I would definitely return and recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AGM1299
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brian_sutcliffe, Owner at Casa de Isabella - a Kali Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2013

Thanks for the great review! We really spent a lot of time in the design stage with the hotel. The woods and furniture are all hand made or renovated antiques. We employed a full time carpenter shop and spent a lot of time with details that we felt important. Thank you so much for pointing them out and we really look forward to your return. Remember to email or call prior as we are opening Casa de Leda around corner next month and unpublished loyalty rates for guests of Casa de Isabella.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews