We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Casa de Isabella - a Kali Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$91
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel la Riviera(Santa Marta)(Great Value!)
$51
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$151
$80
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$57
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$77
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Irotama Resort(Santa Marta)
$165
$128
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Casa Verde Hotel(Santa Marta)
$67
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$95
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Zuana Beach Resort(Santa Marta)
$560
$85
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$484
$401
getaroom.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (706)
Filter reviews
706 results
Traveler rating
577
103
17
3
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
577
103
17
3
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsapple tvprivate poolbeautiful hotelboutique hotelwithin easy walking distancegreat boutiquelounge areasister hotelrestaurants and barsbreakfast serviceseveral optionsfirst floorspent nightstayrona national parksmall hotelvisiting santa martathe ground floor
Filter
Updating list...
370 - 375 of 706 reviews
Reviewed February 6, 2013

My friend and I had been talking about taking a trip to the Lost City for many years. In association with this trip we wanted a hotel centrally located in Santa Marta to stay in before the trip started and after returning from the trip. We first stayed two days in the hotel, and then two more days after returning from the trip to the Lost City. The hotel was small and very nice and the location in Santa Marta was perfect. We rented room 10, that was a suite, with a small private pool on the roof with a view of the ocean. The personnel spoke fluent English and the service was perfect. We left our luggage in the hotel for the days we were walking. I managed to forget my passport and two credit cards in the hotel room when we left the first time. The cleaning personnel gave that to the reception and they returned it when we came back. I would highly recommend this hotel for anyone who wants to visit Santa Marta.

Terje and Per

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Per H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brian_sutcliffe, Owner at Casa de Isabella - a Kali Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2013

Thank you for this wonderful review! We really appreciate it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2013

We stayed here for two nights and were blown away by a number of things about this hotel. It was beautiful with amazing amenities (apple TV, great design, hot showers, tasty breakfast). Its located right in the heart of Santa Marta. The best part was perhaps the staff (fluent in English and Spanish). They helped us coordinate all our activities (scuba diving, taxies to Tayrona park, restaurant reviews). Can't say enough about how great a value this hotel was, especially for the price. The only minor hassle was that our room was right next to the front desk, so it was a little loud later in the evening, but for what we paid, I really can't complain...

Room Tip: Ask for a room farther from the front desk if possible. Also, the suites have private pools and amazing rooftop pools!
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lydia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brian_sutcliffe, Owner at Casa de Isabella - a Kali Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2013

Thank you for the wonderful review! We appreciate you seeing the value we are trying to bring but not charging guests for as many services as we can include in our rate. We also do not take any commissions for tours, transport etc. but simply want guests to get best price/service. We recently had a guest mention they were staying at another hotel (we were booked on some of his dates) and he asked if we could arrange transport from Cartagena as the price for same service and company at the other hotel he ended up staying was higher:) These are things people do not see we are doing and we appreciate when people take notice of the value.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2013

The entire staff is incredibly helpful and friendly. Clean rooms, good breakfasts, and the location is great. The wood for the beds, closets, doors are all beautiful. There is a nice little pool in which to soak in the Santa Marta heat. I would definitely return and recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AGM1299
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brian_sutcliffe, Owner at Casa de Isabella - a Kali Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2013

Thanks for the great review! We really spent a lot of time in the design stage with the hotel. The woods and furniture are all hand made or renovated antiques. We employed a full time carpenter shop and spent a lot of time with details that we felt important. Thank you so much for pointing them out and we really look forward to your return. Remember to email or call prior as we are opening Casa de Leda around corner next month and unpublished loyalty rates for guests of Casa de Isabella.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2013

Just spent a two night stay at the Casa Isabella and can't fault it. Location is great just a block from the seafront and also a block from the lovely Central Park where there are some great aces to eat in the evening (would recommend Ouzo)

The staff were very welcoming and the breakfast very tasty, particularly the great coffee.

We stayed in a suite with its own rooftop terrace and splash pool with sea views. One of the nicest rooms I've ever stayed in. Apple TV is a nice touch. The decor is very stylish.

The whole atmosphere of this boutique hotel is lovely and I couldn't recommend it more highly.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Welsh_traveller1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brian_sutcliffe, Owner at Casa de Isabella - a Kali Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2013

Thank you for the wonderful review. I am glad you enjoyed your stay both in our hotel and Santa Marta. We are trying to bring quality service and standards at a reasonable price. We really try to include as much as possible from L'Occitane to free international calls from room to Apple TVs with movies on demand in our price. Thanks for your review and pointing out some of the details!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2013

Attentive staff and a stunning well renovated property. The room had huge built in wardrobes, high beamed ceilings, fluffy towels, L'Occitane products, Apple tv and a mini bar.

The breakfast was great but attention to the small details is lacking and would make a lovely place really special. The pool was murky which was off putting and although the room was large with 3 big windows, there was no natural light. The windows have shutters which you cant really open as they are highly trafficked on the ground floor next to the kitchen, supply cupboard and metal stairs, which also made it a bit noisy. The last window was to a light well which didn't really function.

Would recommend this establishment but have since found a brilliant place just around the corner, which we love and have extended the stay by 4 days and will review that next.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Badmuscle1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brian_sutcliffe, Owner at Casa de Isabella - a Kali Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2013

Thanks for the great review. I am glad we met most all of your expectations. The light issue on the first floor is one which we tried to design around during construction. The internal gardens are designed to allow light to pass. I thought a novel idea that I had not seen in any other hotel designs. It works but we also understand because of the light and traffic we discount these rooms as well. Thus the rates of 1st floor rooms are lower than second floor to compensate. Thanks again for the great review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews