We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Casa de Isabella - a Kali Hotel
Ranked #3 of 67 Hotels in Santa Marta
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 27, 2012

We decided to stay somewhere really nice for the end of our trip and chose Casa de Isabella for one night....we werent disappointed! It was beautiful. Franklin checked us in and explained that there was a problem with the room we had requested, they did not have a double only a twin...so he had arranged for a suite...amazing!! We had a sitting room area, fabulous bedroom, comfy bed, soft sheets...all that you would hope for with a boutique hotel. What we didnt expect was the stairs up to our own private jacuzzi and roof terrace...incredible!!

We got breakfast which was really good, the staff were really nice, it was really close to the Marina and a number of restaurants...couldnt recommend it highly enough, especially if there was an occasion to get a suite

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nicki g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brian_sutcliffe, Owner at Casa de Isabella - a Kali Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2013

Thank you for your fantastic review. The suites are very nice an in high demand. I personally would like to use the terraces for that late afternoon sunset but it never is available. There is nothing better than watching a sunset on the suite terraces. Really just perfectly tranquil moments are extremely hard to find in life these days and the moment that the sun touches the bay is so perfect IMO.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (656)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

341 - 347 of 656 reviews

Reviewed December 23, 2012

Casa Isabella is a great little boutique hotel in the historic centre of the city of Santa Marta.
We only spend 1 night, so did not get to know too much of the city, but the location seems great; it's just 1 block from the beach, and 2 blocks from a nice park with some bars and restaurants.

The hotel has great service, good food, and cute and appropriate rooms. Despite being on the main floor, and in one of the less bright and private rooms, the atmosphere created in the room makes it feel much different than it is.

If going to Santa Marta again I would not even doubt to stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank uncrase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brian_sutcliffe, Owner at Casa de Isabella - a Kali Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 27, 2012

Thank you for the great review! Yes the rooms on the first floor can be a little darker because of building design. We created internal gardens to allow light in and also windows on both sides of room. A Patio window and internal garden window in all rooms. Most places you will not see an internal garden window so we feel we exceed 99% of comparable places. However since they are on first floor there is less light passing than the second floor rooms and of course the suites. Thus we discount the price of these rooms on 1st floor to a lower rate than 2nd floor and suites to compensate.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2012

Great little hotel! Firstly, the staff is amazing - from the front desk to the lovely people preparing your breakfast, everyone was friendly, always smiling and very very helpful in terms of helping us plan our days in Santa Marta. The front desk, especially David, was very patient with my questions about Tayrona Park, local restaurants etc. etc. I very much appreciated being able to talk to someone in English and put away my guidebook for a few days!

Secondly, the little perks were pretty awesome - from free long distance calling, the availability of an i-pad, L'Occitane body products to having an on site full bar incase you didn't feel like heading out for a drink.

The breakfasts were delicious (I recommend the pancakes); and the overall zen feel of the hotel helped us forget that we were in the midst of the hustle & bustle of a somewhat chaotic city.

Most importantly for two female travellers, safety was never a concern (even though our room was on the main floor) - the front door was always locked and you had to buzz in to have someone come and open the door for you.

I would definitely recommend Casa de Isabella (if you're lucky enough to get a room!).

Room Tip: We would have preferred a room with some more natural light but I'm not sure if any of them have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ladymarielle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brian_sutcliffe, Owner at Casa de Isabella - a Kali Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 27, 2012

Thank you for you wonderful review. I do think having someone who speaks english always on staff is imprtant and hard to find in Colombia. We are trying to cater to international guests. We kknow we are not perfect but trying and we will always be trying to improve. Recognition of the good work of the staff really is helpful as we see we are getting better.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2012

My boyfriend and I just spent three nights at Casa De Isabella in Santa Marta. We specfically chose the hotel because of the great reviews on Trip Advisor, and we were not disappointed. To the contrary, we found the staff and management to be very customer service orientated and responsive. The hotel is a little oasis in an otherwise unremarkable town. We chose a suite and they selected room No. 10 for us which is the best room/suite in the hotel. We had our own private rooftop dipping pool and patio, an amazing four post bed, and all the modern amenities one would want in a hotel room. The apple TV with the free movies was a plus, although I will have to say the "free" movies were a bit dated. Nevertheless, we found some oldies but goodies to watch.
The hotel is also nicely situated from the beach boardwalk and all the noteworthy places to visit. While the locals appeared to be enjoying the beach at Santa Marta, our hotel staff recommended a nearby town of Taganga and Playa Grande as an alternative, which we would also recommend. The beach at Santa Marta is surrounde by a lot of sea polluting boats.
Another BIG PLUS was their no tipping rule. Instead of having to tip for every little service, you can choose to add 5% to your hotel room bill which I thought was well worth it. I am so tired of trying to figure out when I'm supposed to tip, to whom, and how much, it was a great reprieve to avoid the whole hassle. Another big plus was their room service. You can choose amazing food from the local restaurants and they deliver it to your room as part of their service. We loved the ceviche from Rocotto restaurant.
So if you are planning on stopping by in Santa Marta, we would definitely recommend a stay at Casa de Isabella.

Room Tip: If you are a couple and can spring for the extra charge for the suite, I would recommend room 10. Ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ashley T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brian_sutcliffe, Owner at Casa de Isabella - a Kali Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2012

First of all thank you for this wonderful review. I also want to thank you for recognizing the tipping policy. It is for the benefit of the guest as well as staff. We spent much time in the beginning determining it and decided that in order to build a true "Team" everyone needed to play a part of the experience. Thus tips are ONLY on room rate and nothing else. They are split only with employees and not managers equally from room cleaning & cooking to reception. I think it works so well and feel it has help us really build the service aspect we want.

We will be updating movie list with a lot of the more recent releases of the last 12 months within the next few weeks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2012

LOVED this hotel. The breakfast is great, the location is great, the workers were all super sweet and helpful and they let you borrow an iPad with your stay and the rooms have appleTV...awesome perks for no extra fee.

Absolutely loved it.

Keep in mind that we did stay on the first floor and there was work being done on the 2nd floor so it was a bit noisy but we're heavy sleepers so it didn't bother us.

Room Tip: There are 1 or 2 rooms at the top with a private sun deck.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank adelantecs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brian_sutcliffe, Owner at Casa de Isabella - a Kali Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2012

Thanks for the great review. I do apologize for the noise on the floor. We do have to do maintenance from wear and tear but we make sure to do it off sleep hours and employees all recognize this issue. This will be addressed. Thanks again as it seems we still made up for it with the rest of our efforts.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2012

Santa Marta is a great town full of life. Close to Tyrona ntl. park.
We had a great welcoming at Casa Isabella. With a glass of Tamarindojuice. Witch tasted very good. Great serviceminded staff.
Excellent rooms.
We stayed 2 nights, and will choose this Casa if we decide to come back.

The breakfast was top class.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Helge G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brian_sutcliffe, Owner at Casa de Isabella - a Kali Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2012

Thanks for the great review. The most important part of our hotel is the service. We are so glad we met your expectations as it is something we focus on everyday.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2012

Pros: Breakfast, front desk staff, delightful man serving breakfast, beautiful room, Wi-Fi that worked perfectly, free international phone calls, location

Cons: I can't say one bad things about this hotel. It's a must if staying in Santa Marta!

Room Tip: Try these restaurants that are near by: Ouzo for great pizza and La Placita Burger Bar
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ashley U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brian_sutcliffe, Owner at Casa de Isabella - a Kali Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2012

Thank you for the great review. The "Wonderful man" you mentioned is Francisco and I have personally told him of your review. This bought a smile to his face. He does not speak english but is just so wonderfully nice and seems to be able to communicate with all non-spanish guests perfectly. Thanks again for the review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Marta
0.2 mi away
Casa de Leda - a Kali Hotel
Casa de Leda - a Kali Hotel
#2 of 67 in Santa Marta
551 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Boutique Casa Carolina
Hotel Boutique Casa Carolina
#1 of 67 in Santa Marta
535 reviews
22.9 mi away
Villa Maria Tayrona - a Kali Hotel
Villa Maria Tayrona - a Kali Hot...
#1 of 3 in Tayrona National Park
604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3 mi away
Hotel Tamaca Beach Resort
Hotel Tamaca Beach Resort
#6 of 67 in Santa Marta
683 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Boutique Don Pepe
Hotel Boutique Don Pepe
#4 of 67 in Santa Marta
241 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Santa Marta Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa de Isabella - a Kali Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa de Isabella - a Kali Hotel

Address: Carrera 2 N. 19-20 | Centro, Santa Marta, Colombia (Formerly Casa de Isabella Hotel Boutique)
Phone Number:
Location: Colombia > Magdalena Department > Santa Marta District > Santa Marta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 67 Hotels in Santa Marta
Price Range: $71 - $124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Casa de Isabella - a Kali Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa de Isabella pays homage to the charm and history of Santa Marta's colonial era while ushering in a future rich in culture and beauty. Founded in 1525, Santa Marta is Colombia's oldest city. Its natural port provided a refuge from long journeys on Spanish galleons, and its position on the north coast allowed explorers to use it as a base camp for trips to the interior. Casa de Isabella sits in the Centro Historico, the Old City of Santa Marta. This area, first developed after the Manzanares river receded in 1850, holds buildings that reflect traditional Mudejar architecture. The building's original owners inhabited the house for four generations and contributed significantly to the city's growth in the 19th and 20th centuries. In renovating the hotel for the modern era, we consistently chose classic style, maintaining the original integrity of the building and its surrounding neighborhood. Our guests feel the simplicity of Santa Marta's natural charm while enjoying modern comforts. From the greenery of the courtyard to the intimacy of a personal rooftop pool, Casa de Isabella fuses the tranquility of Colombian culture with top quality hotel conveniences. With lighting fast Wi-Fi, complimentary I-Pads, and Apple TV, as well as restored furniture and handmade adornments, this hotel stays anchored in tradition while looking ahead toward a bright future. We have proudly renovated the most beautiful boutique hotel in the Colombian Caribbean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Casa de Isabella - a Kali Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing