We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the nicest hotels I've ever stayed in”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
La Casa del Farol Hotel Boutique
Ranked #16 of 67 Hotels in Santa Marta
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 10, 2013

We spent two wonderful nights here. Each room is decorated differently; ours was the Havana room. It was large, uniquely and beautifully furnished and comfortable. The hosts will do anything for you. The breakfasts are delicious and they have a dailiy happy hour with wine and beer. The pool on the rooftop terrace offers fantastic views of Santa Marta.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Babs226
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (430)
There are newer reviews for La Casa del Farol Hotel Boutique
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

80 - 86 of 430 reviews

Reviewed December 8, 2013

The hotel was just perfect for us. Nice rooms, excellent service and privacy.
A la carte breakfast, swimming pool in the roof top with a nice deck with beautiful city views.
The hotel was an old house recently restored, with nine thematic rooms. Rooms weren't too big, but perfect for our stay.
Owners are usually there and are happy to give advice and counseling about what to do in the area.
Don't miss Tayrona Park!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pvngr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2013

Since we arrived everything Was especial the owner received whith a refresing beverage an explain us everything about santa Marta, where to go, where to eat and what to see. Ángel Was ver y helpful. The hotel has a especial decoration, breakfast was delicious, staff was kind and nice. Perfect localitation close to the restaurants and bars area. Our tip a cocktail on the top roof terrace. Our stay was really really charming

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marcus P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Beautiful rooms, great location, and super staff.

I spent three night at La Casa del Farol; two nights in the enormous two room, three balcony, Barcelona suite( which feels more like a private Colonial apartment than a hotel room) and one night in the equally exquisite Paris suite.

The charming owner Sandra,a Barcelona native, and her conscientious staff were very helpful and made sure that all of my expectations were met.
This colonial hotel has a super hip vibe while preserving its original colonial style (the main area is over 300 years old). There is a pool and sun lounge on the roof and a spa with waterfall in the main floor garden. The hotel is within one or two blocks of all types of restaurants, bars, cathedrals, and Plaza de los novios. In addition, the staff arranged side trips to Tayrona national park, Minca, and Taganga. Also, in recommending different restaurants and nightlife options...They definitely know the spots!

Thank you again La Casa del Farol for a perfect stay in Santa Marta. I hope to get back there again soon.

Muchas gracias por todo!!!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank W H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013

Couldn't have asked for a better experience. The hotel is beautiful, the staff is friendly and extremely helpful, and the location is ideal. The owner gave us a rundown of the kinds of things we could do in the area, and helped us coordinate sharing a taxi to Tayrona Park with other couples so we could reduce our costs. The breakfast was delicious and predictable. We loved having the pool on the rooftop--no, it's not big, but it's clean and has a great view of the beautiful sunset. There's also another pool/jacuzzi downstairs. The hotel is intimate enough that you can meet other guests if you'd like, which we really liked. The location is great for getting to la Plaza de los Novios, the beach, the supermarket, Parque de Simon Bolivar, and restaurants/bars. Upon arrival you get a map and are told which areas to stay in and where to go to eat, etc. It's clear that there are parts of the town that are less well-developed, but we never felt unsafe, and certainly if you stay in the area that they'll mark off for you, you'll be perfectly fine.

We decided to not camp in Tayrona Park (the potentially stormy weather intimidated us), and the staff put us up in another hotel essentially next door, owned by the same couple (La Casa del Agua). It's also a very nice facility, and we appreciated the staff's flexibility and help!

Thank you to everyone there--we had a wonderful stay with you guys!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gabriele B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2013

Stylish rooms, great breakfast, excellent roof pool terrace, but also very helpful staff who hooked us up with a professional driver for Tayrona and anywhere else we wanted to go. Can't beat the central location.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank whereintheworldisjb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Good size bedroom (stayed in room Roma), nice staff, excellent breakfast and perfect location in the old city of the town. On the top floor is a chill out space with a nice view. Overall a very nice experience and we do recommend it and will come back next time.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andries G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Marta hotels
0.0 mi away
Casa de Leda - a Kali Hotel
Casa de Leda - a Kali Hotel
#3 of 67 in Santa Marta
534 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Boutique Casa Carolina
Hotel Boutique Casa Carolina
#1 of 67 in Santa Marta
504 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa de Isabella - a Kali Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Hotel Tamaca Beach Resort
Hotel Tamaca Beach Resort
#6 of 67 in Santa Marta
659 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Miami SM
Hotel Miami SM
#53 of 67 in Santa Marta
62 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hotel Palma Blanca
Hotel Palma Blanca
#32 of 67 in Santa Marta
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Casa del Farol Hotel Boutique? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Casa del Farol Hotel Boutique

Address: Calle 18, 3-115, Santa Marta, Santa Marta 472, Colombia
Location: Colombia > Magdalena Department > Santa Marta District > Santa Marta
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 67 Hotels in Santa Marta
Price Range: $55 - $137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — La Casa del Farol Hotel Boutique 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique Hotel located in the historical center of Santa Marta, Colombia. It has 6 rooms each dedicated to a world city and decorated for this purpose. Three categories of rooms: 3 Deluxe (30 m2), 2 Junior Suite (40 m2) and a suite (65m2). It has 2 terraces, a colonial courtyard and a rooftop terrace with pool. You can find laundry facilities available, room service, health and beauty services and excursionsEscucharLeer fonéticamenteDiccionario - Ver diccionario detalladoHotel Boutique situado en el centro histórico de Santa Marta, Colombia. Dispone de 6 habitaciones cada una dedicada a una ciudad del mundo y decorada a tal efecto. Tres categorías de habitaciones: 3 deluxe (30 m2), 2 Junior SUite (40 m2) y una suite (65m2). Dispone de 2 terrazas, un patio colonial y una terraza superior con piscina. Podrá encontrar a su disposición servicios de lavandería, room service, servicios de salud y belleza y excursiones ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your La Casa del Farol Hotel Boutique reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing