We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Small, secure and friendly” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Casa del Farol Hotel Boutique

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
La Casa del Farol Hotel Boutique
Ranked #14 of 68 Hotels in Santa Marta
Certificate of Excellence
Suffolk
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Small, secure and friendly”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2012

Small but very characterful hotel in one of the oldest buildings in the old part of Santa Marta. Very helpful staff, some English spoken. Security good. Rooms are stylish, rather than luxurious, but have all that you need. Free Wi-Fi (like most hotels in Colombia, we found). Particularly liked the roof top lounging area and small pool. We only had breakfast, but this was as good (and much the same as) we experienced at other hotels in Colombia - Fruit ~Juice, Fruit, Breads, and choice of omelette, pancakes, etc.

Room Tip: Our room ("New York") on the ground floor was nicely decorated, though it smelled a little...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cliffordson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

422 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    303
    76
    26
    9
    8
See reviews for
39
235
29
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
83 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2012

That's the first time that on my travels I write a comment. But this hotel was a disapoint

The breakfast you eat eggs, or fruit, or yogurth, or cereals, you just can have one of these with coffe, bread and milk

You woke up in the morning 6h 30m with the noise of the services.

The rooms are ill decorated and you feel unsafe, for example the safe box on my room wasn't fixed to any hall or closet, you just could bring it out of the room!!!

Room Tip: I really don't have a sugestion for this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Jose S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
111 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2012

This is a great little place to stay. There are six suites, all based on cities from around the world. I stayed in the Barcelona suite, which was very nice. All the furniture is really comfortable. The breakfast is included and consists of: Juice, water, coffee / tea / hot chocolate, toasted fruit brioche, croissant and then a choice of one of eight different mains. These are based on different countries. My favourite was the Spanish - two spanish style fried eggs, with sliced chorizo, tomato and toast. Very tasty. The roof top terrace is nice and relaxing with a small but lovely pool and a great view of the nearby cathedral. The people are lovely, and the owners, Sandra and her husband Angel (who are from Barcelona) speak good english and are really helpful and kind. The hotel is in a great location in the historical district, and very close to the sea. The price is very affordable.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank plummerh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colorado
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2012

We arrived late in the afternoon, with no reservation, and two hot cranky boys that were DONE with traveling for the day and everyone at La Casa del Farol stepped in to help and make our stay there nothing short of blissful. The property is gorgeous and brilliantly maintained. The staff so helpful and kind. The location, best in Santa Marta. Highly Recommended.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jamie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2012

After a terrible week we needed some luxury and this was it!!!Perfect from the start!We got here and the owner of the hotel came to welcome us.She is a lovely lady, speaking perfectly English! As we were checking inn we got a good cold refreshing drink. Then we got a little tour around to see the pool, breakfast room and out Paris suite that was THE relaxing room!Romantic, soulful , clean and serviceminded hotel! The stuff was helpful at anytime,pool on roof was awsome! Good choice for breakfast and it was delicious! Would love to stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Orchid2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2012

Beautiful house adapted to high standards accommodation and located in the heart of a city. We really enjoyed staying there. From the owners to all the staff, they all provide a very friendly service. Would definitely recommend it!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Adriana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
geneva, switzerland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2012

We spent three wonderful days in this colonial hotel, the service is impeccable, on ther arrival we were greeted with a nice cold drink, Sandra, the owner, gave us all the information about Santa Marta and surooundings, helped us to organize tours to Tayrona, Cristal Beach and Minca, everithung spectacular, thanks for your recommendations. The hotel is very nice, each room is decorated in reference to cities in the world, stayed in Rome, has a nice balcony, is spacious and full of detail. Breakfast is very good quality, delicious! Sandra and Angel are really doing a great job with its hotels and restaurant, we wish you every success!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PTTGNVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Marta hotels
0.6 mi away
Casa de Isabella - a Kali Hotel
0.4 mi away
Casa de Leda - a Kali Hotel
Casa de Leda - a Kali Hotel
#2 of 68 in Santa Marta
5.0 of 5 bubbles 476 reviews
0.4 mi away
Casa Verde Hotel
Casa Verde Hotel
#12 of 68 in Santa Marta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Boutique Casa Carolina
Hotel Boutique Casa Carolina
#3 of 68 in Santa Marta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 420 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hotel Tamaca Beach Resort
Hotel Tamaca Beach Resort
#4 of 68 in Santa Marta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 542 reviews
7.0 mi away
Zuana Beach Resort
Zuana Beach Resort
#7 of 68 in Santa Marta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Casa del Farol Hotel Boutique? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Casa del Farol Hotel Boutique

Property: La Casa del Farol Hotel Boutique
Address: Calle 18, 3-115, Santa Marta, Santa Marta 472, Colombia
Location: Colombia > Magdalena Department > Santa Marta District > Santa Marta
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 68 Hotels in Santa Marta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — La Casa del Farol Hotel Boutique 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique Hotel located in the historical center of Santa Marta, Colombia. It has 6 rooms each dedicated to a world city and decorated for this purpose. Three categories of rooms: 3 Deluxe (30 m2), 2 Junior Suite (40 m2) and a suite (65m2). It has 2 terraces, a colonial courtyard and a rooftop terrace with pool. You can find laundry facilities available, room service, health and beauty services and excursionsEscucharLeer fonéticamenteDiccionario - Ver diccionario detalladoHotel Boutique situado en el centro histórico de Santa Marta, Colombia. Dispone de 6 habitaciones cada una dedicada a una ciudad del mundo y decorada a tal efecto. Tres categorías de habitaciones: 3 deluxe (30 m2), 2 Junior SUite (40 m2) y una suite (65m2). Dispone de 2 terrazas, un patio colonial y una terraza superior con piscina. Podrá encontrar a su disposición servicios de lavandería, room service, servicios de salud y belleza y excursiones ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your La Casa del Farol Hotel Boutique reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing