We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing was too much trouble”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
La Casa del Farol Hotel Boutique
Ranked #16 of 67 Hotels in Santa Marta
Certificate of Excellence
Bogota, Colombia
1 review
“Nothing was too much trouble”
Reviewed May 12, 2011

We spent a wonderful 6 nights at the hotel and were delighted with the quiet location, in the old city of santa marta, away from the madding crowds of the beaches in Rodadero - but just a short drive away if you are eager to be with the crowds The staff and owners are friendly and completely dedicated to ensuring that the guests are well looked after. The hotel is peaceful,, super clean and provides a very comfortable and convenient base for exploring the coasts divine beaches - we really rested here! Thank you to all

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank inlovewithcolombia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

428 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    307
    78
    26
    9
    8
See reviews for
41
236
29
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2011

We were lucky enough to stumble upon this wonderful boutique hotel for a few nights in March. Everything here was perfect. We stayed in the 'Paris' suite which afforded us soaring ceilings and a great balcony overlooking the street - also, the rooftop pool can't be beat as a spot to enjoy the sunset over Santa Marta with a glass of wine in hand :-) A special thanks to the charming owners Angel and Sandra who manage to be the perfect hosts: warm, helpful, and professional. You won't find better - its worth it.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mncj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed May 9, 2011

We arrived intending to stay one night, but just could not leave, we ended up staying for six nights! It will happen to you too! La Casa del Farol is an absolutely gorgeous boutique hotel in the heart of Santa Marta. Without question the nicest hotel in Santa Marta. The hotel is housed in a lovely colonial-style building in the central downtown district of Santa Marta, walking distance to everything. My girlfriend and I were so taken by the staff, who were so warm and pleasant, they greeted us with a cold drink and cool towel, despite not having reservations. They showed us the rooms, six total, each one more amazing than the next. The theme of each room is an iconic travel destinations, the New York room is svelte and hip, the Cape Town room rustic but sophisticated, the Rome room tasteful and polished, and the Barcelona Suite expansive and elegant. The ceilings must be over twenty feet tall with beautiful exposed beams, tile floors, balconies overlooking the streets below on the second-floor rooms. The rooms are spacious and well-appointed, and the suites are even more amazing! The beds are large and comfortable, the breakfast is delicious, but the most wonderful thing about this hotel is the staff and the owners, Sandra and Angel, who were so warm and welcoming, going out of there way to make our stay enjoyable and help us with everything we needed. We became friends with them and the rest of the staff during the time we spent here.

The rooftop deck and pool are absolutely lovely and a perfect place to spend the sunny days in Santa Marta. The restaurant next door was absolutely wonderful as well. There are many great day trips from Santa Marta as well. We explored the mountain town of Minca (about 45 minutes away) and the more remote beaches past Parque Tayrona on the days not spent lounging by the pool at La Casa del Farol.

This hotel is unique and gorgeous, the staff are wonderful it is a perfect place to spent a few days (at least) in Colombia, just beware-you may not want to leave!

Room Tip: Pick a room that suits your taste and personality.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nels805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bogota, Colombia
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2011

After two nights in the Tayrona park we arrived at this beautiful, small, welcoming hotel. The attention was great from the very start: they received us with cool drinks and a refreshing face towel, more than welcome in Santa Marta's high temperatures. It is located in the historical center, which after many years is being recovered, and this hotel really helps with that effort. So ii is a beautiful Republican style house, with three floors and six rooms, each with the name of a city. We stayed at the Paris junior-suite on the second floor: great. All the amenities one might expect with great decoration, a balcony, a great shower and a good bed. On the third floor is the pool: beautiful; a relaxing little pool, just enough to cool off, with a view over the roofs. Delicious breakfast, with varied choices. The hotel was full but you never get the impression of a crowded place, it was quiet and they are so helpful and accomodating. We had a late flight and for a small fee we had a really late check out. We didn't use their guide and tour services, but we saw very happy guests who did. What is great about this place is that everything is personnalized and you feel you just don't want to leave.

Room Tip: Check the website; pictures are what you get.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JimBta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barcelona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2011

We are a family of four, me, hubby and my two girls. Using a visit to his family in Colombia we visited Santa Marta. the owners were charming and gave us all the help we needed, even when our littlest had a bit of flu. Highly recommended.

We are from Stockholm. My husband was born in Colombia, and he says it's one of the better places he's been in his country.

Room Tip: Use the webpage
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank macmilena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoboken, New Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2011

Cannot say enough good things about our experience at Casa del Farol. I had e-mailed another hotel in the weeks prior to my trip and was told no vacancy, and they directed me to Sandra, the proprietor (along with her husband, his name escapes me now) who over the course of a few days e-mailed diligently with me to answer all the questions - and there were numerous questions - I had about staying at their hotel. Thank goodness the other hotel was full because nothing could have topped the experience we had.

After arriving from Medellin we were met cheerily at the door by Sandra and her husband, and quickly checked in. They offered us refreshments and we took in the beautiful interior of the building. I believe it's a converted school. Open aired lobby with a perfect little rooftop deck and pool, the sunsets are amazing. Anyway, we checked into the Barcelona suite and the room was ridiculous. Fantastic layout, tasteful decor, multiple balconies overlooking the streets of Santa Marta. The staff was great as well, very happy to help with anything you needed.

The location is great, walking distance to numerous bars and restaurants. The closest bar, Crabby's, was awesome. Friendly bartenders, superb live music, and the best collection of classic rock tunes/videos that I've ever seen playing nonstop. It was our home base for the 3 nights we were there.

Each morning we had fresh fruit stocked in the room and an amazing breakfast cooked for us made to order. The food was incredible. Sandra helped us coordinate daytime activities including a trip to the beach one day and then a full day excursion with a guide that included hiking through the jungle, swimming in waterfalls, private beaches and then a trip to Tayrona beach. They had a packed bag with water and snacks and towels ready for us when we departed.

The hotel had just opened and my buddy and I were the first two people to stay in the Barca suite but you would have never known, there were no opening week hiccups. If I'm fortunate to travel to Santa Marta again hands-down there's no doubt I'll stay at La Casa del Farol again. Sandra (& husband), thank you once again for a great time!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jmudukes79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cartagena, Colombia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2011

La Casa del Farol , The Lantern House, is in a beautiful nineteenth century building right in the centre of the city. It is one block away from the cathedral and only two blocks from the seafront.
La Casa del Farol is the epitome of a boutique design hotel and each room is in a different style. It is clear that a lot of time was spent creating the individual rooms. Each pays homage to a famous city ranging from Paris, Havana, New York, to Cape Town. Designer pieces were shipped from Europe to help furnish the rooms ensuring the most luxurious taste and quality.
The hotels small size means you can be assured of a great level of service.
Despite the hotel being small in size and only consisting of 6 rooms they have managed to fit in everything, including a sunbathing terrace and a dipping pool which is situated on the roof. This area offers a great view over the city and you can request breakfast up on this level where you can watch the world pass you by and listen to the cathedral bells.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vivalatinamerica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Marta hotels
0.2 mi away
Casa de Isabella - a Kali Hotel
0.0 mi away
Casa de Leda - a Kali Hotel
Casa de Leda - a Kali Hotel
#2 of 67 in Santa Marta
519 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Boutique Casa Carolina
Hotel Boutique Casa Carolina
#3 of 67 in Santa Marta
475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Zuana Beach Resort
Zuana Beach Resort
#7 of 67 in Santa Marta
1,552 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hotel Tamaca Beach Resort
Hotel Tamaca Beach Resort
#4 of 67 in Santa Marta
629 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Miami SM
Hotel Miami SM
#47 of 67 in Santa Marta
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Casa del Farol Hotel Boutique? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Casa del Farol Hotel Boutique

Property: La Casa del Farol Hotel Boutique
Address: Calle 18, 3-115, Santa Marta, Santa Marta 472, Colombia
Location: Colombia > Magdalena Department > Santa Marta District > Santa Marta
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 67 Hotels in Santa Marta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — La Casa del Farol Hotel Boutique 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique Hotel located in the historical center of Santa Marta, Colombia. It has 6 rooms each dedicated to a world city and decorated for this purpose. Three categories of rooms: 3 Deluxe (30 m2), 2 Junior Suite (40 m2) and a suite (65m2). It has 2 terraces, a colonial courtyard and a rooftop terrace with pool. You can find laundry facilities available, room service, health and beauty services and excursionsEscucharLeer fonéticamenteDiccionario - Ver diccionario detalladoHotel Boutique situado en el centro histórico de Santa Marta, Colombia. Dispone de 6 habitaciones cada una dedicada a una ciudad del mundo y decorada a tal efecto. Tres categorías de habitaciones: 3 deluxe (30 m2), 2 Junior SUite (40 m2) y una suite (65m2). Dispone de 2 terrazas, un patio colonial y una terraza superior con piscina. Podrá encontrar a su disposición servicios de lavandería, room service, servicios de salud y belleza y excursiones ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your La Casa del Farol Hotel Boutique reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing