We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Toilet with a room!! Do not go there!!”
Review of Casa Verde Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Casa Verde Hotel
Ranked #11 of 67 Hotels in Santa Marta
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 6, 2014 via mobile

Worst hotel ever. The toilet is in the room just separated by a semi-transparent shower curtain (see picture). Just go there if you are single!! And they charge more then 100 EUR for this room. Unbelievable!! We will now try to find a hot with a separated bathroom.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank dd206cc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casa Verde H, Gerente at Casa Verde Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2014

We are very sorry to find out you had such a bad impression of one of our rooms at Casa Verde Hotel. However, I do not understand why, as each of our rooms has clear information and pictures in our web site and in all the online booking engines. We believe your commentary is out of order as you booked through an online booking engine and was able to see the room description and pictures of the room your were taking. “Our studio suite features a full-sized bed, sitting area with desk, and a kitchenette. Situated on the top floor of the hotel, this room is intended to be very open including the shower and bathroom, which are separated from the rest of the room by a curtain. This suite is 8 x 4 m”.

At Casa Verde Hotel we are proud to show the commentaries many of our guests have done on tripadvisor. Most of them describe a very nice hotel with great service. We appreciate your review even though we do not share your impression.

We hope you had a good time in Santa Marta.

Atentamente,

La Gerencia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (285)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

106 - 112 of 285 reviews

Reviewed December 30, 2013

In a world where the term "boutique hotel" is overused, this truly deserves the title. Located on a quiet side street, just off the main shopping area, the small plunge pool provides a restful spot to recover and cool down after a day's wandering. The staff are delightful and extremely helpful, Only the manager speaks English, but the others communicate effectively by signs and smiles. A really hospitable hotel with well designed and spotless rooms. The bathrooms alone are a joy... Breakfast is excellent, efficiently served and of good quality. Wifi signal is first-class everywhere in the building. Recommended. Worth the extra cost.

Room Tip: the triple room is excellent. A single bed down blelow and a double bed on a mezzanine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DUN01170
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2013

This little hotel has a lot of charm. It has 6-7 rooms of different sizes and styles. Yuly, the manager is very sweet and speaks english. the location of this place is about 3 blocks from the beach and is very secure. At all times the front gate/door is locked and you have to ring the bell to get in. it is staffed 24/7. Did I mention the outstanding cooked to order breakfast. Close to numerous restaurants and shopping. You can't go wrong here.

Room Tip: If you like a view ask for the top floor with a picture frame view of the church. The room just belo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stevemech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2013

This small hotel in the historical district of Santa Marta is a great find. It has a charming feel and the staff is great, especially Nancy. Her friendly disposition and readiness for good conversation made my heart sing. We had stayed at the much newer and more opulent Casa Leda next door but left Casa Verde with the same good feeling of having gotten our money's worth. We had a late flight so they let us keep our bags there and even offered us a shower and we were allowed to hang by the pool for as long as we wanted until our flight left. Great hotel and even greater staff.

Room Tip: Room with the balcony overlooking the pool with outdoor hammock was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fastawake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2013

Even with the positive reviews, Casa Verde still exceeded our expectations. The room was a good size, had a small balcony with a hammock, was clean and the bed was comfortable. With those basics covered, the location is really good, the roof top table is a great place for a beer and if you don't like rooftops, the hammock down stairs by the small pool is nice as well. We felt the cost of the room was very reasonable. We were only in Santa Marta for one night on the way to Tayrona, so didn't get to see too much of the city, but did enjoy the city and Casa Verde both.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CharlieOrlando
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2013

Casa Verde was our Colombian home and gateway to numerous day trips to Tayrona, the Sierra Nevadas and Palomino. The hotel offers a large and delicious breakfast to start every day which was definitely needed for our numerous activities. The hotel rooms were beautiful, clean and comfy with hot water (only time we had a hot shower) satellite tv and high speed internet. The lobby and roof top gardens provided a sense of tranquility making you forget at times how centrally located in the heart of the city the hotel is.

To say the hotel exceeded my expectations is an understatement. And that was not my favourite part of the hotel. The staff was incredible and some spoke fluent English really facilitating every aspect of our stay. Whether it was discussing where do go and what to see, where to drink and where to party, the staff always guided us in the right direction. And when we decided to go to Cartagena for the weekend the hotel allowed us to leave our packs with them, making the bus ride much easier.

This hotel is a must stay for all. I will remember this hotel, the staff and my trip to Santa Marta for years to come.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Nick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2013

The rooms were stylishly decorated, comfortable and clean. The hotel has a nice courtyard - and even though we didn't swim in the small pool it was a good space for relaxing with a hammock. The staff were friendly offering some great tips about the local area and spoke fluent English. We had our first Colombian breakfast here and it was delicious!

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank angbang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Marta hotels
0.0 mi away
Casa de Leda - a Kali Hotel
Casa de Leda - a Kali Hotel
#2 of 67 in Santa Marta
546 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Boutique Casa Carolina
Hotel Boutique Casa Carolina
#1 of 67 in Santa Marta
524 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa de Isabella - a Kali Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Santa Marta Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hotel Boutique Don Pepe
Hotel Boutique Don Pepe
#4 of 67 in Santa Marta
238 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Casa Bugambilia
Hotel Casa Bugambilia
#9 of 67 in Santa Marta
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Verde Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Verde Hotel

Address: Calle 18 # 4-70, Santa Marta 470004, Colombia
Location: Colombia > Magdalena Department > Santa Marta District > Santa Marta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 67 Hotels in Santa Marta
Price Range: $59 - $108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa Verde Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Verde is a home away from home in historic Santa Marta, Colombia. Originally a Republican house built in the 1920′s, it has been restored and refurbished to host a six room hotel, right in the heart of Santa Marta. It is truly the home of the guests as you will always be welcomed with a smile and the team at Casa Verde provides exceptional service to meet all of your needs. The hotel is situated around a tranquil, shaded courtyard that invites guests to lounge on the hammocks or take a dip in the pool that provides an essential escape from the Santa Marta heat. The hotel houses two standard rooms, two lofted duplex rooms, a king sized suite, and a studio suite. All of the rooms are equipped with air conditioning, private bathrooms with hot water showers, and flat screen televisions. Breakfast is complimentary and served daily. Wi-Fi is also complimentary and available throughout the hotel. Casa Verde is located in the center of the historic district in Santa Marta, amongst wonderful restaurants and nightlife and just minutes away from Santa Marta’s beautiful parks, cathedrals, and the water. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Casa Verde Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing