We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A sea of tranquility”
Review of Casa Verde Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Casa Verde Hotel
Ranked #11 of 67 Hotels in Santa Marta
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 4, 2013 via mobile

Highly recommended. Our stay here was very pleasant. Although the rooms are small, they are very comfortable. The location is great and the small pool was perfect for cooling off. Our room rate came with breakfast.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cocobum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (285)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

122 - 128 of 285 reviews

Reviewed May 20, 2013

A small hotel but with everything you need. Spotlessly clean rooms, a small cooling pool, a pleasant terrace to sit and read, a variety of books available, delicious breakfasts, and helpful staff that speak English well if required. Central for the old town, the port and beach, and a variety of cafes and restaurants. Small double rooms, with well appointed bathrooms. Larger two storey rooms available.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sian_Eiry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

A lovely place to stay - great location. A few minutes walk to the beach, restaurants just round the corner, and a big supermarket across the road. But with all that it was still in an area with heaps of character. The staff are terrific and went out of their way to help with everything. I stayed for a week and felt completely at home there. Loved the place.

I thought Santa Marta was a great place. And it was good being in the historic centre. Days out to beaches in Tayrona are special and a trip up to Minca in the mountain area is well worth the trip.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JayDee010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yuli a, Manager at Casa Verde Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2013

Thank you for such a great review.

Casa Verde team is always happy to hear what our guest think about us. We are a small hotel and our team is always ready to help. It means lots when you appreciate our work.

Santa Marta is an upcoming destination and we encourage to see our city and its surroundings.

Thanks again from the Casa Verde Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2013

Casa Verde exceeded my expectations in every way. Though humble and unassuming from the outside, the interior overall Is wonderfully decorated and the inner courtyard provides a quaint yet pristine little pool accompanied next to a strategically placed hammock which act as the perfect escape from the afternoon sun. Rooms were simple and clean with ours even included a tv which was perfect for winding down at night. Staff was top-notch, providing essential local knowledge regarding things to do in the area and the juices they made were the definition of fresh and tasty. For those interested in hiking they provide a guided tour through Parque Tayrona which may have been the coolest hike I have ever done. A hike up into the jungle flattens out at an ancient tribal site, continuing on to descend to world class beaches-stunning.

My experience as Casa Verde was excellent and I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Drew N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Casa Verde is the heart of a growing number of oases in Santa Marta. As a place to set up camp and relax, Casa Verde serves its purpose well. A small, turquoise pool in the center of the property offers welcome respite from the sun, and the collective beauty of well-planned decor and design welcomes guests to feel at home.

The folks who run Casa Verde created an experience that topped simply nice lodging, to become wonderfully comprehensive. Fresh juices squeezed in the kitchen were a great start, and the hospitality extended throughout our stay. We regularly relied on Casa Verde staff for recommendations about where to swim, explore, and eat. As a parting recommendation, take Juan up on an offer to hike through Parque Tayrona if he's available. You'll be happy you did.

Room Tip: We stayed in the second-floor, double king bed room. The hammock on the private balcony there was am...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank keatongr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

We stayed here for several days recently. The location is very good in terms of seeing the old city and historic sights in Santa Marta. As others have noted the hotel is small and the staff are friendly and helpful. The decor is what I might call an "eco" style and quite attractive with a small inner courtyard with a small pool. However the rooms are very small with no place to set your luggage or hang up any clothes. Our bed was on the upper level of our room and with only a small hand rail, I feared rolling out of bed and falling downstairs to the lower level. On the positive side, the breakfast was very good and included in the room rate. We had problems with the toilet a couple of times during our stay, each time the staff came very quickly to repair it.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PicMorDaisies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2013

Pristinely clean, delightfully designed, warm, welcoming, extremely helpful, so accommodating, very friendly. The rooms were very comfortable, ours had a balcony that had a hammock that overlooked the gorgeous patio with beautiful plants and tiny pool below. Our daughter's room was smaller but very comfortable and again beautifully done. The beds were extremely comfortable. It is well located within walking distance of anything you want to do -- beach, shopping, sites. We do not speak Spanish very well at all and they were wonderful in helping us communicate. We would highly recommend it to anyone. If we have the opportunity, we will be back! The food was the only thing that was not as good as it could have been.

Room Tip: Ask for the balcony room or at least one looking out on the patio on the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patricia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Marta hotels
0.0 mi away
Casa de Leda - a Kali Hotel
Casa de Leda - a Kali Hotel
#2 of 67 in Santa Marta
546 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Boutique Casa Carolina
Hotel Boutique Casa Carolina
#1 of 67 in Santa Marta
525 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa de Isabella - a Kali Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Santa Marta Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hotel Boutique Don Pepe
Hotel Boutique Don Pepe
#4 of 67 in Santa Marta
239 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Casa Bugambilia
Hotel Casa Bugambilia
#10 of 67 in Santa Marta
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Verde Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Verde Hotel

Address: Calle 18 # 4-70, Santa Marta 470004, Colombia
Location: Colombia > Magdalena Department > Santa Marta District > Santa Marta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 67 Hotels in Santa Marta
Price Range: $59 - $108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa Verde Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Verde is a home away from home in historic Santa Marta, Colombia. Originally a Republican house built in the 1920′s, it has been restored and refurbished to host a six room hotel, right in the heart of Santa Marta. It is truly the home of the guests as you will always be welcomed with a smile and the team at Casa Verde provides exceptional service to meet all of your needs. The hotel is situated around a tranquil, shaded courtyard that invites guests to lounge on the hammocks or take a dip in the pool that provides an essential escape from the Santa Marta heat. The hotel houses two standard rooms, two lofted duplex rooms, a king sized suite, and a studio suite. All of the rooms are equipped with air conditioning, private bathrooms with hot water showers, and flat screen televisions. Breakfast is complimentary and served daily. Wi-Fi is also complimentary and available throughout the hotel. Casa Verde is located in the center of the historic district in Santa Marta, amongst wonderful restaurants and nightlife and just minutes away from Santa Marta’s beautiful parks, cathedrals, and the water. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Casa Verde Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing