We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Place, Immaculate Service”
Review of Casa Verde Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Casa Verde Hotel
Ranked #12 of 67 Hotels in Santa Marta
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful Place, Immaculate Service”
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Casa Verde is the heart of a growing number of oases in Santa Marta. As a place to set up camp and relax, Casa Verde serves its purpose well. A small, turquoise pool in the center of the property offers welcome respite from the sun, and the collective beauty of well-planned decor and design welcomes guests to feel at home.

The folks who run Casa Verde created an experience that topped simply nice lodging, to become wonderfully comprehensive. Fresh juices squeezed in the kitchen were a great start, and the hospitality extended throughout our stay. We regularly relied on Casa Verde staff for recommendations about where to swim, explore, and eat. As a parting recommendation, take Juan up on an offer to hike through Parque Tayrona if he's available. You'll be happy you did.

Room Tip: We stayed in the second-floor, double king bed room. The hammock on the private balcony there was am...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank keatongr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    186
    60
    12
    4
    6
See reviews for
40
120
25
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Level 6 Contributor
334 reviews
118 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

We stayed here for several days recently. The location is very good in terms of seeing the old city and historic sights in Santa Marta. As others have noted the hotel is small and the staff are friendly and helpful. The decor is what I might call an "eco" style and quite attractive with a small inner courtyard with a small pool. However the rooms are very small with no place to set your luggage or hang up any clothes. Our bed was on the upper level of our room and with only a small hand rail, I feared rolling out of bed and falling downstairs to the lower level. On the positive side, the breakfast was very good and included in the room rate. We had problems with the toilet a couple of times during our stay, each time the staff came very quickly to repair it.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PicMorDaisies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2013

Pristinely clean, delightfully designed, warm, welcoming, extremely helpful, so accommodating, very friendly. The rooms were very comfortable, ours had a balcony that had a hammock that overlooked the gorgeous patio with beautiful plants and tiny pool below. Our daughter's room was smaller but very comfortable and again beautifully done. The beds were extremely comfortable. It is well located within walking distance of anything you want to do -- beach, shopping, sites. We do not speak Spanish very well at all and they were wonderful in helping us communicate. We would highly recommend it to anyone. If we have the opportunity, we will be back! The food was the only thing that was not as good as it could have been.

Room Tip: Ask for the balcony room or at least one looking out on the patio on the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zürich
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2013

We had an amazing stay. The staff was very nice, the breakfast was great and the rooms are really nice. It is a nice small oasis only a few blocks from all the restaurants and stores in town. We stayed with friends and everyone liked the hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MABC82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at casa verde for 6 nights and had an overall positive experience. The hotel is small, only five rooms I think and the two rooms we had, on the ground floor, were a bit on the small side but fine really. The main aspect we liked about the hotel was the relaxing area by the small pool and hammock and the great staff! Particular thanks to Fleider and Nancy who were delightful! The main downside of this hotel is that it can be a little noisy. All the rooms are fairly close together so you can generally here what is going on in the hotel. The doorbell and the telephone ringing were also particularly loud and added to the "natural "alarm clock! If you are staying in Santa Marta then I would definitely recommend staying here for a couple of nights.

Additional note- In hindsight, I would have probably preferred to stay in taganga or rodadero as the beach is not particularly pleasant in Santa Marta but I think this just depends on preferance. A few people we met seemed to use Santa Marta as more of a base for heading to Tayrona park or the lost city trek.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chihiro1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2012

This place is nicely designed and has a peaceful internal oasis with a pool and garden. The rooms are small and concrete, but nicely designed. The down side is that for some strange reason the internal pool and garden area are cleaned every night after mid night, and so the noise and lights were a problem for sleeping. The reception could be better (there isnt really one), and the service was a bit more like a backpackers than a boutique hotel. Good location.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2012

The warm smiles of the helpful staff at Hotel Casa Verde made our time in Santa Marta. We arrived without any arrangements to get to Tayrona Park and then onward to Cartagena. They helped us arrange everything. The 'puerta a puerta' transport to Cartagena was comfortable and very reasonable. The rooms are clean and comfortable. The wading pool and lounging around it are ideal after a day exploring the city. The breakfast is delicious and they also serve snacks and drinks on request. The location is within walking distance to all of the top attractions (beach, Parque de los Novios, etc.).

Room Tip: The "rooftop" rooms on the second level have a beautiful view of the cathedral and surroun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rychlost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Marta hotels
0.2 mi away
Casa de Isabella - a Kali Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hotel Boutique Casa Carolina
Hotel Boutique Casa Carolina
#3 of 67 in Santa Marta
475 reviews
0.0 mi away
Casa de Leda - a Kali Hotel
Casa de Leda - a Kali Hotel
#2 of 67 in Santa Marta
519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Boutique Don Pepe
Hotel Boutique Don Pepe
#6 of 67 in Santa Marta
217 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hotel Tamaca Beach Resort
Hotel Tamaca Beach Resort
#5 of 67 in Santa Marta
629 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Calzada del Santo
La Calzada del Santo
#13 of 67 in Santa Marta
234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Verde Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Verde Hotel

Property: Casa Verde Hotel
Address: Calle 18 # 4-70, Santa Marta 470004, Colombia
Location: Colombia > Magdalena Department > Santa Marta District > Santa Marta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 67 Hotels in Santa Marta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa Verde Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Verde is a home away from home in historic Santa Marta, Colombia. Originally a Republican house built in the 1920′s, it has been restored and refurbished to host a six room hotel, right in the heart of Santa Marta. It is truly the home of the guests as you will always be welcomed with a smile and the team at Casa Verde provides exceptional service to meet all of your needs. The hotel is situated around a tranquil, shaded courtyard that invites guests to lounge on the hammocks or take a dip in the pool that provides an essential escape from the Santa Marta heat. The hotel houses two standard rooms, two lofted duplex rooms, a king sized suite, and a studio suite. All of the rooms are equipped with air conditioning, private bathrooms with hot water showers, and flat screen televisions. Breakfast is complimentary and served daily. Wi-Fi is also complimentary and available throughout the hotel. Casa Verde is located in the center of the historic district in Santa Marta, amongst wonderful restaurants and nightlife and just minutes away from Santa Marta’s beautiful parks, cathedrals, and the water. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and Agoda so you can book your Casa Verde Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing