We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful retreat in the bustling, historic, Centro area.”
Review of Casa Verde Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Casa Verde Hotel
Ranked #11 of 67 Hotels in Santa Marta
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 26, 2012

This hotel is a real treat.

The location is great. Close to a large supermarket, banks and lots of cheap, classy restaurants serving fresh and delicious meals. The streets have a real raw, un-gentrified, charm with the amazing old architecture still untouched. The water is only 4 minutes walk away and a taxi to the other beaches just costs a few dollars. (P.s. the taxis don't have meters but they seemed fairly honest. Just check the price before you get in.)

The complimentary breakfast is really nice including: coffee, fresh fruit, toast, ham, eggs, and delicious tropical fruit juice. All served with a big smile.

The rooms are very contemporary and great for the climate. I stayed in the larger room which was a real treat. A/C is there when the heat gets too impossible or the plunge pool was a great option with an icy beer in hand (US$1.50).

The staff went out of their way to point out where the local cafes and restaurants were and how to get to the attractions. Tayrona National Park is a must do. Get the bus local bus there but its a full day trip, pack water, hiking shoes and so get up very early and don't forget your passport. Also check out Rodadero and Taganga beaches.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eddy747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (283)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

135 - 141 of 283 reviews

Reviewed July 12, 2012

Charming courtyard. Some rooms are very tiny. Location is central to everything. Staff is quite accommodating. However, prices are expensive for what the hotel is. You still have to put your toilet paper in a separate trash bin and buy your own drinking water. Beds were too hard for comfort and linen and towels were not up to standards for the price paid (no comforters on bed; towels and linen not changed daily and very rough quality and not machine washed.) Our bathroom door did not close properly and had to be kept shut with a rock.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kamoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2012

One of the nicest hotels I've ever stayed at. Very nice rooms, and common areas with a hammock to relax in, a small pool and lounging area. The breakfast the hotel staff made was also very delicious. The hotel staff was very helpful and friendly to us throughout our whole stay. Would love to go back!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank martin_206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2012

We just fell in love with Casa Verde. A beautiful, peaceful oasis in Santa Marta within a short walking distance to all in town. We are so glad we found it and enjoyed our duplex room for the 3 days we were there!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alkioneg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2012

We treated ourselves and stayed at the Casa Verde for a night and were not disappointed. The décor and rooms are beautiful and the staff really friendly and helpful. Great breakfast too.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sophie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2012

The location is in the heart of Santa Marta. Walking distance to the beach, the cathedral and the many great restaurantes and bars. I would recomend La Canoa for great lunches in the same street as casa verde. The staff is very friendly and helpful. If you can afford the suite I would go for that. Beautiful and quiet little hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bjornole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2012

This is the perfect boutique hotel! - We loved the rooms, the hammocks and specially the friendly service. Juan and his team were extremely helpful and kind to us. I highly recommend staying in Casa Verde for people wanting to explore Santa Marta and its surroundings.

Room Tip: I highly recommend room # 5. The hammock and the balcony makes it the best room in town!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carlos_BV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Marta hotels
0.0 mi away
Casa de Leda - a Kali Hotel
Casa de Leda - a Kali Hotel
#2 of 67 in Santa Marta
541 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa de Isabella - a Kali Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hotel Boutique Casa Carolina
Hotel Boutique Casa Carolina
#1 of 67 in Santa Marta
514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Casa Bugambilia
Hotel Casa Bugambilia
#9 of 67 in Santa Marta
109 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Boutique Don Pepe
Hotel Boutique Don Pepe
#5 of 67 in Santa Marta
231 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Santa Marta Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Verde Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Verde Hotel

Address: Calle 18 # 4-70, Santa Marta 470004, Colombia
Location: Colombia > Magdalena Department > Santa Marta District > Santa Marta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 67 Hotels in Santa Marta
Price Range: $56 - $98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa Verde Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Verde is a home away from home in historic Santa Marta, Colombia. Originally a Republican house built in the 1920′s, it has been restored and refurbished to host a six room hotel, right in the heart of Santa Marta. It is truly the home of the guests as you will always be welcomed with a smile and the team at Casa Verde provides exceptional service to meet all of your needs. The hotel is situated around a tranquil, shaded courtyard that invites guests to lounge on the hammocks or take a dip in the pool that provides an essential escape from the Santa Marta heat. The hotel houses two standard rooms, two lofted duplex rooms, a king sized suite, and a studio suite. All of the rooms are equipped with air conditioning, private bathrooms with hot water showers, and flat screen televisions. Breakfast is complimentary and served daily. Wi-Fi is also complimentary and available throughout the hotel. Casa Verde is located in the center of the historic district in Santa Marta, amongst wonderful restaurants and nightlife and just minutes away from Santa Marta’s beautiful parks, cathedrals, and the water. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Casa Verde Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing