We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rooms less than street appeal”
Review of Hotel Tayromar

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Tayromar
Ranked #38 of 67 Hotels in Santa Marta
Reviewed March 9, 2014 via mobile

We are two senior USA couples who were attracted by the nice street appeal, the location a few blocks from the main beach, and the looks of the upper deck. Could not see room as they said they were booked. We knew this was a basic budget hotel. We were disappointed with a AC that had a defective sensor which meant all on or off- it was very cool or very hot. We had to ask for towels and toilet paper. Had to leave before breakfast. We did sit on the deck which was narrower than expected and we could not find a fan switch which would have been nice. They additionally struggled to locate a confirmed reservation. The staff was nice and tried to deal with our problems as best they could.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Nick_Schmidt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcos G, Asistente de Mercadeo y ventas at Hotel Tayromar, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2014
Google Translation

Gracias por sus comentarios y por visitarnos.

Tomaremos en cuenta sus opiniones, esperamos que vuelva y que disfrute de su estadía en nuestro hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (132)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

26 - 32 of 132 reviews

Reviewed January 30, 2014

it was very close to everything we wanted to do / walk away from everything -- breakfast was very good and diff everymorning --- reception team very friendly and helpfull --- our room was always clean and neat ********* thank you very much *****

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank quicokico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcos G, Asistente de Mercadeo y ventas at Hotel Tayromar, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2014
Google Translation

Gracias por su comentario y por visitarnos.

Esperamos que nos visiten nuemavemte

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2013

Booked this hotel based on the price and the pictures. Price was right but the pictures displayed a much nicer room than what we assumed we were booking. Holes in walls from old plug ins. No wifi even though it was posted. Rubber bed mad the already hot night much worse (due to no ac in the room, again that the ad said it had) location was good but not close to a beach you would actually want to be at. We ended up heading to two different beaches about 7 Kms away in each direction.

On there defence it looks as though they are doing renovations to update the place. But still....

Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Mattyballz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcos G, Asistente de mercadeo y ventas at Hotel Tayromar, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2014
Google Translation

Gracias por dejar sus comentarios y sugerencia, los tendremos en cuenta.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2013

My neighbor and I live in Cartagena and we decided to take a weekend trip to Santa Marta. Around 8pm we came across this hotel and the receptionist was so nice, and the price was amazing ($90000 COP/aprox $50 USD for 2 people) so we decided to stay here. The room had all the basics- beds, private bath, TV- and everything worked fine. However, I was substantially grossed out by the amount of bugs in the bathroom. Breakfast is included and is up on the rooftop terrace, where you can enjoy a cute view out on the center of Sta Marta. However, I was once again appalled by the amount of bugs on the buffet- there were literally hundreds of ants crawling on it and the breakfast attendant seemed not to notice/like she didn't care. While I understand we weren't paying a whole lot, I think as a hotel establishment especially on the coast where insects are very prevalent, they should be more mindful of extermination.

However, my neighbor and I both would like to point out that the receptionist (can't remember her name) was absolutely amazing, she was very personable and if we were to go back to Sta Marta we'd probably stay there again because of her.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mickeymouse_0917
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TAYROMAR_HOTEL, Asistente de Mercadeo y ventas. at Hotel Tayromar, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2013
Google Translation

Muchas gracias por dejar su comentario y por visitarnos.

Tomaremos en cuenta todas sus sugerencias.

Esperamos nos visiten nuevamente

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013 via mobile

2 minutes from the sea and various bars and restaurants. Room was large and clean with good AC. Breakfast was good with lots of variety. Good internet.

The photos of this place are misleading and don't show the buildings proximity to many other very close buildings. This place could also benefit from some communal areas. Our biggest complaint was the noise from the street that went on into the early hours. Otherwise a decent hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dominic F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TAYROMAR_HOTEL, Asistente de Mercadeo y Ventas at Hotel Tayromar, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2013
Google Translation

Gracias por dejarnos tu comentario y sugerencia.

Esperamos que hayan disfrutado de su estadía.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013

I stayed with my family at this hotel for two nights and we were very pleased. The location is great, right in the center of santa marta and close to the boardwalk on the beach. The breakfast we delicious. The rooms were clean and the AC was very much appreciated. The wi-fi internet also worked well. The terrace is very pretty, especially around sunset. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AdrianaBeijaflor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TAYROMAR_HOTEL, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Tayromar, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2013
Google Translation

Buenas tardes.

Gracias por su comentario.

Para nosotros a sido un placer haberlos complacido, esperamos con agrado una próxima visita.

Gracias!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013

Very nice Hotel in the very best location near the citybeach in Santa Marta! You can reach all the interesting places in the City within 5 to ten minutes! Many good Restaurants near the Hotel around parque de los novios!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Didi1871950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TAYROMAR_HOTEL, Gerente at Hotel Tayromar, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2013

Thanks for visiting and for your comments.

For us it was a pleasure having attended, we hope you visit us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Marta hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Casa Bugambilia
Hotel Casa Bugambilia
#7 of 67 in Santa Marta
114 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Rodadero Real
Hotel Rodadero Real
#57 of 67 in Santa Marta
27 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hotel Palma Blanca
Hotel Palma Blanca
#32 of 67 in Santa Marta
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Miami SM
Hotel Miami SM
#53 of 67 in Santa Marta
62 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hotel Valladolid
Hotel Valladolid
#30 of 67 in Santa Marta
78 reviews
2.6 mi away
Portobahia Hotel
Portobahia Hotel
#44 of 67 in Santa Marta
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tayromar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tayromar

Address: Calle 20 1c -71, Santa Marta 470004, Colombia
Location: Colombia > Magdalena Department > Santa Marta District > Santa Marta
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 67 Hotels in Santa Marta
Price Range: $40 - $91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Hotel Tayromar 1.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Tayromar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing