We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ready for Demolition!”
Review of Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Park Hotel
Ranked #43 of 67 Hotels in Santa Marta
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Ready for Demolition!”
Reviewed March 27, 2012

Do not stay at this hotel - it is ready for demolition. The Park Hotel is totaly unloved (particularly by it's staff), run down, cold water, abandoned in certain parts.... I could go on. They are numerous nice, new hostels in the area which are far superior. We had to pay extra for a very poor breakfast - the fact they have only 3 breakfast tables for such a large hotel tells you all you need to know!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Samantha C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    29
    36
    18
    16
See reviews for
22
50
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cordoba, Argentina
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2012

It has a great view of the sea, specially at sunset. The hotel is old but the rooms are acceptable. It has a nice swimming pool. The relation price-service is very good.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gabriel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2012

The post about this hotel seeming like a set from a horror film was spot on. We stayed in the annex as well. The place was very run down and the hallways were dark and dim with no interior decoration. While the room was spacious, it was furnished and decorated like a military barrack.

At night someone knocked on our door twice. There were no peep holes, so I was afraid to answer the door, especially since the hotel entrance is not gated. I stayed in Santa Marta three nights at three different places. The other two were cheaper and way nicer. Plus the concierge at the other places were able to recommend some great restaurants. Park hotel staff told me to walk along the beach for restaurants. That is where all the expensive, over priced, mediocre restaurants in Santa Marta are located.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WestPhillyKat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Santa Marta hotels

Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2011

We stayed here over Christmas 2010. The hotel itself is very much a HOTEL, complete with swimming pool and gym area. Our room was spacious, with TV and minibar and ensuite bathroom. Our shower was cold but in the tropical heat of Santa Marta it is probably the best thing going!! Unless, of course, you count the excellent air-conditioning and fan (yes, it has both!). As far as I know there are a few rooms which have private balconies, if not there are a few good sized communal balconies which are great to sit on and try and catch some breeze! The hotel is literally opposite Santa Marta´s beach, which isn´t the best, but is very close to other beaches which are cleaner. Close to the city centre and shopping areas, bars and nightlife too.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank madescape
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
118 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2011

The hotel is located in Santa Marta center. The beach is not fine at all. The rooms are not good. No water at all at shower. The pool is not nice. The only good thing about this hotel is the very good behavior of staff specially the manager.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fershtet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tampa,fl
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2011

This is my 3rd time in this hotel and I was surprise when I arrived because they changed the main entrace and it looks nicer than before. Every time that I have being there I noticed something new in the hotel, that shows that the owners are interesting in a good service to the customers. And the people that are working in the hotel are always ready to go the extra step for customer satisfaction.

The location can't be better in front of the ocean, the marina, great restaurants, cafeterias, shops and the Gold Museum in a walking distance makes this hotel a prime location!!!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bluemarlin93926
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2011

I have stayed in hotels around the world and this one has a well earned place in the 10 worst. We arrived to find that we were not in the main hotel but on the fourth floor of an annex. The room was a slum: mould on the walls, paint peeling, bare wires, a broken toilet and shower, concrete for a mattress.(well, it felt like it) We asked to change rooms but had to wait for the following day. The next room was an improvement--it could hardly not be. But the shower was no more than a pipe out of the wall, a broken window in the bathroom, single sheets for a double bed, no mattress cover, and so on. At 0130am I had to shout at the local teenagers who were partying right outside with their boogie box at full volume. Breakfast is limited; no fruit, only an egg, coffee and juice. I asked to speak to the manager but no-one was available. So, if you want to pay hotel prices for the equivalent of a low grade backpackers hostel, then by all means stay at the Park.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank simonsaysNottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Marta hotels
2.3 mi away
Portobahia Hotel
Portobahia Hotel
#53 of 67 in Santa Marta
38 reviews
1.6 mi away
Caribe Mar Hotel
Caribe Mar Hotel
#52 of 67 in Santa Marta
18 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Tayromar
Hotel Tayromar
#38 of 67 in Santa Marta
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Ribai Hotels Santa Marta
Ribai Hotels Santa Marta
#58 of 67 in Santa Marta
34 reviews
5.0 mi away
Sanha Plus Hotel
Sanha Plus Hotel
#22 of 67 in Santa Marta
96 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Miami SM
Hotel Miami SM
#48 of 67 in Santa Marta
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Hotel

Property: Park Hotel
Address: Carrera 1 18-67 Centro Historico, Santa Marta 0000, Colombia
Location: Colombia > Magdalena Department > Santa Marta District > Santa Marta
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 67 Hotels in Santa Marta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Park Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing