We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent carpaccio”
Review of DONDE L'ITALIANO

DONDE L'ITALIANO
Ranked #164 of 292 Restaurants in Santa Marta
Price range: $6 - $12
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Mek'ele, Ethiopia
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Excellent carpaccio”
Reviewed November 21, 2013

I would strongly recommend the beef carpaccio with parmesiano which is one of the best I ever had! Don't miss it! The pastas were good as well.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank angelique a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    24
    5
    7
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Nice Place -- Good Foof”
Reviewed October 12, 2013 via mobile

Seemed like a nice place and posted menu looked good. Good choice.

I had a nice green salad and then spaghetti carbonara. Both very good. Service was courteous and efficient. Prices very reasonable.

I would return.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alex G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level 6 Contributor
252 reviews
162 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Friendly simple italian cuisine...in Colombia!”
Reviewed July 27, 2013

A complete surprise. We had just arrived in Santa Marta and stopped here by accident. Small dining room, internal courtyard, street tables in evenining...a bit run down but the staff are kind and kid friendly. We had Napolitaine and Arrabiata spaghetti - their tomatoe sauces were simply superb! Highly recommended for a simple meal.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank martin m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Marta, Colombia
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Ambience and Great Food”
Reviewed July 27, 2013

I love this place. It is a gem of Italian food in Santa Marta. The pastas are fantastic - especially the arrabiata sauce! It is located on a walking street that feels like a small alley in Florence or Venice. Softly lit with bandoliers play guitar music in the background. An idyllic scene for anywhere in the world.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jacob_Schwarz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katy, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A touch of the tuscany in the Caribe...”
Reviewed June 22, 2013

I was looking for a good home made food after traveling on/off for months. Brought my local co-workers and wives....what a nice experience! The place is simple but colorful and warm, once you get there you are welcomed by the chef's wife and co-owner, a lovely Colombian lady. The chef is italian and a wonderful guy....food is like you are eating in Italy..

Reasonable prices and a glass of wine on the house. Entrees are accompanied by a house salad. Portions are good size.

I am returning in 10 days to Santa Marta and definitely will visit again.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank IvanSotoP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed DONDE L'ITALIANO also viewed

Santa Marta, Santa Marta District
 
Santa Marta, Santa Marta District
Santa Marta, Santa Marta District
 
Santa Marta, Santa Marta District
Santa Marta, Santa Marta District
 

Been to DONDE L'ITALIANO? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing