We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a charming family at Casa Familiar”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hospederia Casa Familiar
Ranked #41 of 67 Hotels in Santa Marta
Reviewed June 26, 2010

This place is run by a few generations of the same family. Fabio, Luz and the rest of the family go above and beyond to ensure that your stay is perfect and that you feel like family. They always have time to chat, even with my terrible Spanish, and they always made me feel like their home was my home.

The private single room I had was average but comfortable. My bathroom was down the hall which was a minor inconvenience. Other rooms with private bathrooms and TV are also available. On the third floor, there is also an outdoor courtyard with hammocks and tables to relax.

And the place was constantly being cleaned. I am sure that my bathroom had been cleaned 3 times a day.

The location is fantastic. Two blocks from the beach and in close vicinity to many restaurants and bars.

WiFi was not available everywhere but certainly on the main and second floors but not on the third floor courtyard.

I would NOT recommend this place for people who do not like children. The grandchildren are often around and are absolutely adorable. They can be noisy at times and although not a problem for me, others may take issue.

I would recommend this place for people who can tolerate basic accomodations in exchange for the experience of being part of a very warm and loving family.

One more thing, I was in Santa Marta for 3 days and nights. The city is very safe in the daytime and for two evenings, I felt safe wandering around the dark streets by myself. However, on the Wednesday evening I was there, it seemed the entire city was drunk. On many streets, I had to push away extremely drunk men and agressive prostitutes. I asked the night watchman about this and he said it happens all the time. It only happened 2 of the 3 nights I was there but just be aware of it.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 04274108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (70)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

30 - 36 of 70 reviews

Reviewed June 18, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leandro-G-Lopez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2017
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2017
Thank Ale_Marco2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank NoW_CH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2017, traveled with friends
Thank Daniel E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: no hay problema,todas las habitaciones estan muy bien ubicadas y atendidas
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Manuel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: Hice las reservaciones online, de esa forma ya no me preocupaba en llegar y ver si habian habitacion...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2015, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Victor V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Marta hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Miami SM
Hotel Miami SM
#52 of 67 in Santa Marta
62 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hotel Mar Azul
Hotel Mar Azul
#38 of 67 in Santa Marta
21 reviews
0.4 mi away
Caribe Mar Hotel
Caribe Mar Hotel
#53 of 67 in Santa Marta
18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Hotel Valladolid
Hotel Valladolid
#31 of 67 in Santa Marta
77 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Las Vegas
Hotel Las Vegas
#44 of 67 in Santa Marta
11 reviews
3.8 mi away
Hotel Palma Blanca
Hotel Palma Blanca
#32 of 67 in Santa Marta
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hospederia Casa Familiar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hospederia Casa Familiar

Address: Calle 10c No. 2 - 14 Centro, Santa Marta, Colombia
Location: Colombia > Magdalena Department > Santa Marta District > Santa Marta
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 67 Hotels in Santa Marta
Price Range: $19 - $27 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hospederia Casa Familiar 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Hospederia Casa Familiar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing