We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hospederia Casa Familiar
Ranked #41 of 69 Hotels in Santa Marta
Reviewed May 8, 2014

I was extremely disappointed with my stay at this hostel. Our room was ok, extremely basic. The single beds were tiny in our twin room. The staff were not very helpful and overcharged us by one night citing that we had an early check in, even though charging a full extra night wasn't agreed. Check in is apparently 8am and we arrived at 6am. We really wish they could have told us that they were going to do this at the time, we are in a budget and would have waited the 2 hours.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mo P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (72)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

16 - 22 of 72 reviews

Reviewed February 21, 2014

The staff were generally friendly and helpful. Internet worked ok in our room, but don't expect it. The room was reasonable priced, room small and private bathroom tiny. The roof terrace and hammock terrace were lovely. It's not a palace, but considering the prices some of the hostels were charging for private rooms, this was great.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SaintMish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2012 via mobile

Its was a pretty good hostel, rooms were clean and have the necessary things for a backpacker. It is in the center of santa marta meaning there is a lot of restauranta and stuff near it. Prices are pretty affordable.. Cheap!!

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Heydanim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

Stayed for 2 nights. The owners are lovely, don't speak much English but were very patient with my bad Spanish and happy to help in anyway. They gave us good advice for our stay.
Rooms are basic and old but ok. Courtyard is nice, kitchen is ok, again basic and old but functional.
Location is not the best in my opinion. We were not comfortable in the area after dark. Maybe nearer the cathedral is better.
Value for money is great.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kayljay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

We were meant to stay 3 nights but we decided to cross the road and check other hostels. We found out that this hostel charged double and had smaller rooms. The first room we were shown was so dirty when I put my hand on it, I got like black dust all over. We asked for a second room which was clean but by then I was a bit put off already. Then at night we tried to find a common area for going online but the owner switched off our light when he wanted his kids to go to sleep - I think they live there as well on the ground floor. As I said, do yourself a favour, cross the road and walk into Hotel Miramar. The atmosphere is way more relaxed and social. They also have an inhouse restaurant you can use morning till night and its half the price.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank esmeralda_attard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2012

Actually, this is not a bad hotel. A bit expensive for the small room with hard bed that you get, but it's clean and the terrace is a nice place to chill, especially when you just return from the Ciudad Perdida tour as we did.
The laundry service however was extremely expensive and then it happened, when we were chilling out on the terrace in the hammocks, the owner came upstairs, commanded his dogs behind the fence (they were in the heat all day!!!) and when the dog didn't listen right away (the dog was so affraid and crawling away from him) he kicked the dog, he hit the dog with a stick, not once, not twice, but more than ten times. The dog cried in agony and tried to get away.

In the meantime we got up to protest to this mercyless kicking of this sweet dog, but he laughed and said something like "yes but he doesn't listen" and continued to kick the dog.

Five minutes later we grabbed our bags and left this hotel. We don't want to sleep in a place where the (very religious) owner thinks that animals are not the creation of god and thinks he can treat them this way. Shame on him!

If you want to stay here, fine, but I need to share this with as much people as possible.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank exhxv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2012

I stayed in total for five nights - before and after my "ciudad Perdida" tour. The house itselves is huge, and has three terraces. One of them with nice hammocks. From the rooftop terrace you have a nice view over the city. The people are friendly and helpful. Whenever you need them, just go and ask. They don't speak english - or not very much. So speaking at least a little spanish is helpful.

The rooms are clean - but especially the single rooms are very small. The rooms have private bathroom. As stated in another review, the shower is somewhat behind the toilet, with no separation - so basically everything gets wet, when you shower. In the first room i had, the fan was squeaking.

The kitchen is reasonably clean - not very big, and the pots and pans have seen better days. But nothing disgusting there.

The family and employees of the owners are living at the place and you share the kitchen with some of them. The children are noisy in the afternoon and early evening. The cleaning women start mopping the hallways at around 7:30am. That's really annoying if you want to sleep longer.

Alltogether i would go there again - for the price it's a good stay.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank grmpfhmbl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Marta hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Miami SM
Hotel Miami SM
#44 of 69 in Santa Marta
65 reviews
1 mi away
Hotel Las Vegas
Hotel Las Vegas
#51 of 69 in Santa Marta
13 reviews
3.7 mi away
Caribe Mar Hotel
Caribe Mar Hotel
#46 of 69 in Santa Marta
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Hotel Palma Blanca
Hotel Palma Blanca
#31 of 69 in Santa Marta
39 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hotel Valladolid
Hotel Valladolid
#30 of 69 in Santa Marta
78 reviews
3 mi away
Hotel Mar Azul
Hotel Mar Azul
#34 of 69 in Santa Marta
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hospederia Casa Familiar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hospederia Casa Familiar

Address: Calle 10c No. 2 - 14 Centro, Santa Marta, Colombia
Location: Colombia > Magdalena Department > Santa Marta District > Santa Marta
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 69 Hotels in Santa Marta
Price Range: $19 - $29 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hospederia Casa Familiar 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Hospederia Casa Familiar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing