We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Camping Tayrona
Nearby Hotels
$74
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$84
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Irotama Resort(Santa Marta)
$116
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$84
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Zuana Beach Resort(Santa Marta)
$176
$107
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$194
$184
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Arhuaco(Santa Marta)
$79
$76
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Casa Verde Hotel(Santa Marta)
$69
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Palma Blanca(Santa Marta)(Great Value!)
$54
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$85
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (146)
Filter reviews
146 results
Traveler rating
46
52
20
11
17
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
46
52
20
11
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdon pedrosan juanpark entrancecamping sitecold showerminute walkarrecifeshikenetsmattressesretreatlockers
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
38 - 43 of 146 reviews
Reviewed April 23, 2011

Cabo San Juan is an incredible place. You walk around 2-3 hours on the shore from the park entrance to get there, along the way passing some of the most stunning beaches that you will ever see, each secluded cove more beautiful than the one before it.

The group of wanders and travelers, most from Europe and Latin America there is fantastic. There's a lot of camaraderie amongst the backpacker set that really comes out at night. The food is basic and fairly cheap pasta and salads, but when you're hungry after a day of swimming and hiking it tastes like a Michelin 3 star restaurant.

The hammocks are surprisingly confortable. If you call ahead you might be able to get one up on the rock. We stayed down below, which was fine. The campsite bathrooms are shared and dirty, but that hardly seems to matter.

Durring the day the main attraction is the crystal blue waters and gorgeous shores. There's not much to do at Cabo San Juan except swim and relax, and I hope there never will be.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank btsofohio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2010

i went last december to Colombia with my boyfriend- i was 26 at the time, he was 32.
We have been on very exclusive vacations before, but also roughed it camping around the world.
I must admit, Can San Juan is one of the most AMAZING BEACHES i have ever been to- ive been to thailand, aruba, greece, all have been great, but honestly, the beach in Cabo San Juan was amazing.
i will add photos to demonstrate exactly what i mean by amazing.
Dont bother with Arrecifes- its tempting bc its closer and the rentals are very nice, but its crazy expensive and SO not worth it- you cant swim in the water there bc there is a very strong current so you are left with nothing to do but wander around the hot hot jungle- Cabo San Juan is about one hour hike more, a bit rougher around the edges but so much better! AND CHEAPER!
Cabo San Juan has crystal clear water, decent snorkeling around the rocks, big waves to play and jump in, great rocks for jumping off of....The thing you must understand is that it is not an easy walk to do- the trail takes ~2 hours and it is strenuous bc you are in a Colombian jungle. We carried our packs all the way, 50 lbs each and made it so its do-able but bring lots of water for the road and rest often.
When we walked onto the site, it looked kinda scummy. there are lots of hippie-ish ppl in tents and hammocks all over, but honestly, after seeing the beach, it didnt matter at all. we wanted hammocks in the upper dome "cabin" that overlooks the ocean but they were all occupied so we settled for hammocks on the campground, for 7 US dollars a night.
the atmosphere is just great out there- you wake up, eat breakfast with a large group of ppl at plastic picnic tables, then drink beer and hang out all day long- we would go for long walks, play in the water for hours at a time, play "bags" with coconuts, it was a relaxing and unorthodox vacation but both my boyfriend and myself who are spolied travelers, had a wonderful time here.
if you can, book ahead of time and get a hammock in the cabin thingy on top of the big rock. great views and no need for mosquito nets bc the breeze from the ocean keeps them away.
the owner Carlos is great, all the ppl that work there are really fun and nice and overall, its a wonderful place if you really want to get away from it all.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank konquistadora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2010

As we arrived to Tayrona National Park, we headed for Camping Tayrona in Castilletes, about 25 minutes walk into the Park from the entrance. It is probably the highest recommended place in the Lonely Planet book, "for nature lovers", with "25 campsites and excellent Quechua tents" ran by "a Dutch-Colombian couple heavily involved in the conservation and environmental protection of the park". It also talks about the "environmentally-driven workshops" and "astronomy". When we got there, we were completely alone. Not a single tourist was there. Looks like the Dutch-Colombian couple is gone, and so are the workshops, astronomy, restaurant, and the most important - a friendly service is gone as well. Within an hour or so we understood why there were no other tourists there, but we had no choice but to stay there overnight anyway. The bottom line - we don't recommend it. It is a much better, and much cheaper option to keep moving until you reach either Arecife or Cabo and to stay there, not in Camping Tayrona.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank hanabi2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2018
Google Translation

  • Stayed: March 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2018
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews