We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hostel made by travellers for travellers..”
Review of The Dreamer Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Dreamer Hostel
Reviewed February 19, 2014

Definitely the best location to be in Santa Marta.. Forget about hostels in the center. This is the place to be!. Near the bus terminal, very close to tayrona park (almost on the road to it), near to the good places for exciting nightlife..What can you expect more? good staff? Oh yeah. very friendly, always smiling and helping you with good advises or tips (A personal big big thanks to Esther, for her eternal and lovely smile, her welcome, her good vibes and fantastic energy) Good food? not only but made with love by smiling staff, and of course a kitchen for u if you prefer to cook yourself. Good place? a charming pool in the middle, surrounding by hammocks, desck chairs and nice rooms. Places to relax, to enjoy, to watch movies, many attractions and so much more. Good atmosphere? for sure.. A place like this, made in circle, to facilitate meetings and contacts between people can only attracts good and relaxing people.. If you go once there, for sure, if you come back to Santa Marta you will come back here without hesitation..

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dan44200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (622)
There are newer reviews for The Dreamer Hostel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

247 - 253 of 622 reviews

Reviewed February 15, 2014

I stayed here with a few friends back in January. Our only goal with going to Santa Marta was to get to Tayrona Park and this is the definitely the closest hostel. We left on foot and were able to easily catch the bus to the entrance of the park with no trouble. Just leave early! The staff was all very helpful for telling us how to get around. The hostel is a little ways from town though, so expect to pay a little bit more for your cab than you do around town.

All around the hostel was a nice stay. Clean facilities, quiet for sleeping, nice pool to lounge at and there is restaurant in the hostel which was very good. I would definitely recommend staying here, especially if your goal is Tayrona!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2014

How they can have
- This good of a service(All the staff are always smiling, they do laundry, they will help you with bookings of tours, other hostels and even transportation to other cities)
- Beautiful rooms(every room has its own country-themed design, with art and pictures that goes with it)
- excellent common areas(couches, TV area, pool and tanning beds, and a lot of hammocks!
and still have the same low prices as the smaller hostels is beyond me!
This hostel is everything it should be, and you can tell they take pride in being one of the best hostels in the country. I stayed a few extra days in Santa Marta just because of this hostel, and I am definitely coming back someday

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MalcolmReynolds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2014

This is a really great hostel and I would highly recommend it. The staff are lovely Ester, Diego and all the rest out of the team are super friendly and go out of their way to help you with any queries. I stayed there three times, both before and after my Ciudad Perdida trek which they can organise and after I came back from their sister hostel in Palomino. There is a big well equipped kitchen and a huge Exito close to the hostel if you want to cook. They also have a good buffet breakfast and nice restaurant if you don't feel like cooking. I had the pizza, fajitas and brownie there all good, especially the brownie. There is pool and hammocks to chill out in, good WiFi, computers you can use, plus a TV area with bean bags. The bar area is really social and they put on all sorts of activities which are fun to get involved in and good way to meet people, quizzes, beer pong, ring of fire, football and more. Plus you can do day trips through them too. The only slight negative is that the showers are really cold.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
Thank SalO17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hostellingcolombia, Propietario at The Dreamer Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2014

Dear guest ,

Thank you for your good feedback.

We are very happy to hear you liked our hostel, but most of all I am especially pleased that you enjoyed the service provided by our staff.

We hope to be able to welcome you again soon!!

Thanks,

Fulvio Bernardi
Manager
Dreamer hostel team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2014 via mobile

Wifi was awesome. Beer pong and good music! Friendly and helpful staff! Good food and the kitchen was well equipped! Great movie selection!! Dorms were spacious and air conditioned! Nice pool and lounge area. Would definitely recommend!

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
Thank Sundaybreakfastt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hostellingcolombia, Propietario at The Dreamer Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2014

Dear Guest,

We sincerely appreciate your comments regarding your recent stay at the Dreamer! it is always a pleasure to receive such positive feedback.

I have shared your comments with my team and particulary with Esther who you mentioned, they are all happy and more motivated after know that you so enjoyed your stay with us.

Hope to see you soon again in S.Marta

Fulvio
Manager
Dreamer Hostel team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2014

What an excellent experience. First class accommodation;friendly staff, very, very clean,good food and any amount of help and advice you need. A little way from the centre of town but taxis are cheap and readily available. Sorry to the rest of the excellent staff but esther is the star of the show. Would not hesitate to recommend

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roddy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hostellingcolombia, Propietario at The Dreamer Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2014

Dear guest ,

Thank you for your good feedback.

We are very happy to hear you liked the location, we are 15 minutes by car from the wonderfull Concha beach and 30 minutes from Tayrona park , restaurant and the facilities but most of all I am especially pleased that you enjoyed our staff and facilities.

Esther is happy to hear you loved the hostel too!!

Come back soon to S.Marta

Fulvio
Manager
Dreamer Hostel team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2014

We stayed at the Dreamer Hostel for two nights during our travels around Colombia. Hostel is clean but there is no hot water at anytime of the day. We were told this is common in hostels and hotels along the Caribbean coast, however, we didn't find this in any of the other places we stayed. The staff were really helpful and friendly. Breakfast was delicious!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank loui-travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hostellingcolombia, Propietario at The Dreamer Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2014

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for your stay at the Dreamer as well as leaving this wonderful review about your experience.

We also appreciate your suggestion about the hot water, it is true that the average temperature in S.Marta is very hight and hot water is not commun in the caribbean, We will take a good note in order to improve this service.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hostel.

Best regards,

Fulvio
Manager
Dreamer hostel team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Marta hotels
2.9 mi away
Hotel Miami SM
Hotel Miami SM
#53 of 67 in Santa Marta
62 reviews
2.9 mi away
Masaya Hostel Santa Marta
Masaya Hostel Santa Marta
#2 of 177 in Santa Marta
743 reviews
2.4 mi away
La Guaca Hostel
La Guaca Hostel
#5 of 177 in Santa Marta
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
La Villana Hostel
La Villana Hostel
#8 of 177 in Santa Marta
224 reviews
4.5 mi away
Casa del Ritmo
Casa del Ritmo
#6 of 177 in Santa Marta
183 reviews
4.2 mi away
Calle 11 Hostel Santa Marta
Calle 11 Hostel Santa Marta
#1 of 177 in Santa Marta
182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dreamer Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dreamer Hostel

Address: cr 51, 26D-161 (diagonal 32) Los Trupillos de Mamatoco, Santa Marta 5, Colombia
Location: Colombia > Magdalena Department > Santa Marta District > Santa Marta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 177 Specialty Lodging in Santa Marta
Price Range: $12 - $51 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dreamer bring to Santa Marta a new concept in QUALITY BUDGET ACCOMODATIONS, here you can indulge in a bit of luxory at backpackers rates.Escape from the caribbean hot enjoying our big swimming pool, hammocks and garden, available guest kitchen, TV lounge, Bar and Italian Restaurant...Our Vibe is relaxed.The hostel is located in a strategic position just outside the crowded city center but on the way to the Tayrona park,Minca,Taganga and Rodadero. Bus Station is three minutes ride away and in the immediate area you'll find supermarkets,Cinema,ATM etc travellers from all walks of life are welcome ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Dreamer Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Dreamer Hotel Santa Marta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing