We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best hostel yet.”
Review of The Dreamer Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Dreamer Hostel
Reviewed November 2, 2012

everything about this hostel is great. staff are super friendly, food is good and cheap, plus big portions. the staff are always cleaning the place. the hammocks and pool just make it so easy to kick back and enjoy. went for 1 week, ended up staying for 2 and a half. can not recommend it highly enough. wish i was around in december when they open their new hostel in Palomino.

Room Tip: they are all good, if you do not like humidity, get one with air con..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aaron C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (636)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

341 - 347 of 636 reviews

Reviewed October 19, 2012

The Dreamer Hostel really is THE place to stay in Santa Marta. Most guests seem to be reasonably transitive, meaning people are coming and going to the various attractions in the area and using the hostel as a base. However, like us, there's others just there to spend days by the pool and bar and just relax. It's a very social location and it's difficult to avoid interaction with other travelers. The pool is clean, there's plenty of seating and hammocks or shade if needed. We stayed in both a double room with bathroom and a 4 bed dorm. Both were consistently cleaned, the beds very comfortable and nice enough with just a fan (in October).

The restaurant is great as well. Nice variety of food and generous portions. The hostel is located close to a shopping mall with some great shops and cafes and even a cinema. It's also close to the Simon Boliver memorial however those wanting to explore beaches and downtown will need to get a cab. Staff were incredibly helpful and spoke great English, they even offer Spanish lessons on site for those wanting to improve. There's plenty of information regarding tours as well, just ask when you arrive. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mrenage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

This hostel really has it all, great rooms and a great atmosphere. All the staff were very friendly and eager to help. Food is excellent, a bit pricey but worth it for the huge portions! (If you're not that hungry go and get something from the street) The pool and bar are great for socialising. Shout out to Zac the barman for some great caiparinias!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ella M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012 via mobile

We stayed in the hostel either side of a trip to Tayrona Park. It's a great hostel with a really nice atmosphere. The pool and pool table are great to have and there are nightly activities for guests to meet other people.

The staff all speak English and were very helpful. I'd recommend getting air con as SM is seriously hot!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MJSlattery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2012 via mobile

Hostel has a great atmosphere and the pool is a god send in the heat. The rooms are spacious, I'd recommend getting one with a/c as the nights are hot.
Hostel is cleaned continuously, all the general areas and bathrooms are monitored and cleaned regularly.
Staff are helpful and restaurant is handy if you don't want to cook, just order early as it takes at least 30mins for food to be ready (apart from b'fast which is quick).
The only thing that could be improved is the kitchen - could be a bit bigger.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tmayb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2012

Me and my friends forgot the reservations (4 in total). So when we arrived, the manager proptly helped us by relocating to available beds and even to the TV room, causing no disruptions in our tour.
In addition, on the last day I forgot my shoes. so I called them and within 4 days, they arrived to me in bogota, before my departure! strongly recommend!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gmcleffe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2012 via mobile

We stayed twice, before and after our lost city trek. This is a purpose built hostel so everything is pretty good and well set up...hammocks, wifi, pool, bar and excellent on site restaurant. You really don't need to leave although it is conveniently located across the street from a big mall and a huge Exito in case you need to stock up on anything before your hike etc. My only criticism is the bathrooms were very squishy and there wasn't anyplace (dry) to put toiletries or hang up your towel inside the cubicle only near the entrance to to bathroom. Which is fine if your not shy but not ideal for everyone! Also, the booking system seemed a bit chaotic, even though I booked in a night for our return from the list city with the manager, it somehow didn't exist when we came back. Luckily there was one spare bed in a dorm and my bf was offered the tv room. Not ideal when you have been hiking for four days! Luckily they did manage to resolve this overbooking issue somehow.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GMonster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Marta hotels
2.9 mi away
Hotel Miami SM
Hotel Miami SM
#53 of 67 in Santa Marta
62 reviews
2.9 mi away
Masaya Hostel Santa Marta
Masaya Hostel Santa Marta
#2 of 189 in Santa Marta
796 reviews
5.9 mi away
Playa del Ritmo, Beach Hostel & Bar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3 mi away
La Villana Hostel
La Villana Hostel
#8 of 189 in Santa Marta
230 reviews
2.4 mi away
La Guaca Hostel
La Guaca Hostel
#5 of 189 in Santa Marta
178 reviews
4.2 mi away
Calle 11 Hostel Santa Marta
Calle 11 Hostel Santa Marta
#1 of 189 in Santa Marta
195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dreamer Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dreamer Hostel

Address: cr 51, 26D-161 (diagonal 32) Los Trupillos de Mamatoco, Santa Marta 5, Colombia
Location: Colombia > Magdalena Department > Santa Marta District > Santa Marta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 189 Specialty Lodging in Santa Marta
Price Range: $12 - $68 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dreamer bring to Santa Marta a new concept in QUALITY BUDGET ACCOMODATIONS, here you can indulge in a bit of luxory at backpackers rates.Escape from the caribbean hot enjoying our big swimming pool, hammocks and garden, available guest kitchen, TV lounge, Bar and Italian Restaurant...Our Vibe is relaxed.The hostel is located in a strategic position just outside the crowded city center but on the way to the Tayrona park,Minca,Taganga and Rodadero. Bus Station is three minutes ride away and in the immediate area you'll find supermarkets,Cinema,ATM etc travellers from all walks of life are welcome ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Dreamer Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Dreamer Hotel Santa Marta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing