We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice cabañas, bad food...”
Review of Ecohostal Yuluka

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ecohostal Yuluka
Ranked #3 of 117 Santa Marta B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed May 6, 2014

A really nicely built resort with pretty, quite luxurios and clean cabanas...
BUT:
- so close to the street that it is really loud at night (and we've had the cabaña that was the farthest away from the road)
- the food was really disappointimg: fish, mixed veggies and even patacón came from the deep freezer, and were topped with a "garlic sauce" that tasted merely like water and flour. Breakfast was ok, but not more.
- service was not very friendly - but at least free transit to Tayrona was offered.

Conclusiom: I wouldn't recommend Yuluka, but if you decide to stay there for a night close to Tayrona, avoid the restaurant.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ulix W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (246)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

68 - 74 of 246 reviews

Reviewed April 10, 2014

A beautiful situated eco-hotel located just a 5 min car ride or 15 min walk away from one of Tayrona's entrances. The owner Wilmar is the friendliest hostel owner you will ever meet and will sort you out with whatever you need. It helps if you speak some Spanish, but that counts everywhere in Colombia. We went tubing (saw monkeys and crocodiles), hiked through Tayrona national park and visited Playa Casa Grande. All of these activities are in close proximity of the hostel and Wilmar will be able to set you up.

The rooms are very spacious and perfect for larger groups. Our room had a double bed and 2 bunk beds. The rooms were very clean and had A/C. The only thing was the cold shower, but you are in the jungle not the city so if you can't cope with that stay in your Hilton in Cartagena.

The restaurants serves decent food and we ate there most of the times, because there aren't much other restaurants around and the view from their restaurant is picture perfect. And their ceviche is great.

All in all I would say look no further and stay with Wilmar and his lovely staff. You will not regret it.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wesley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2014

We stayed two nights at Ecohostal Yuluka as a gateway to Tayrona, Santa Marta & Sierra Nevada del Santa Marta. The grounds were gorgeous, as individual cabins are surrounded by lush vegetation and a pool. The dining area has hammocks which look out into the distant hills. Meals were a particular highlight, as the cooks prepare delicious local dishes and are all very friendly. The manager, Wilmur, was helpful and information.

Only issue is that the hotel is not far from the main road going to Tayrona, so it can be a bit noisy at night. But we got used to it, loved out stay and would go back in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jrsteinfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2014

I stayed 2 nights at Yuluka with my wife and 3 kids. It was such a great place. It is totally relaxing. It is a very special place and you can feel that they are proud of their place. Everyone is very nice and helpful. The drive to the entrance of Tairona was included and Nellys gave us great tips. We all would have liked to stay longer. The food and jugos were great too. The view from the restaurant is great. It is true that it is close to the main street (probably all accommodations in that area are). And there are some big trucks passing in the evening and early morning. It did not disturb us very much, but something to be aware of. This is the reason why I gave only 4 starts for sleep quality. Otherwise the beds were great, it was very clean and they also had air condition. And they accepted Visa, which helped me with my cash a lot. I would always stay there again.

Room Tip: We had two different rooms and both were great. I do not think that rooms further up have less traff...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CBTZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2014

I really enjoyed my stay last november there. The staff is really nice, there's a wonderful view of the forest and the mountains, and some hamac to lay in front of the landscapes... It is really close to Taganga and the Parque Tayrona, I think this might be a good basis to start your trip in one of these two stops !

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alain b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2013

I wish I could spend two weeks at this place. It was spotless, very pretty, very quiet (okay, the road is a little noisy, but won't ruin your time there), very scenic, the folks who own it are incredibly nice, the cabins are fantastic (with all these natural stones and materials incorporated in), the lack of internet (ok, you can use it if you HAVE to) was such a welcome break, and all in all, I would recommend it. I travelled here alone for a weekend break from a worktrip to Barranquilla, and loved it. if it were on the beach, I would quit my day job and beg them to hire me. I'll be bringing my parents back here in January.

Room Tip: All rooms are lovely - the private ones are further from the road, and the owners very kindly gave m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kb1043
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2013

Yuluka is really a great place to stay, We stayed only one night but everything was prefect. The rooms are huge ( with a massive 2x2m matress!!) and everything is made of rocks. The water comes by the river, and all around you is so calm and full of nature - the atmosphere is really amazing. Nice pool and really tasty food at the restaurant. The owners makes you feel welcome all the time. Can't wait to be back at Yuluka! Thank you for everything! :)

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nomadstraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Marta
19.1 mi away
Hotel Miami SM
Hotel Miami SM
#53 of 67 in Santa Marta
62 reviews
3.7 mi away
Villa Maria Tayrona - a Kali Hotel
Villa Maria Tayrona - a Kali Hot...
#1 of 3 in Tayrona National Park
604 reviews
20.9 mi away
Hotel Palma Blanca
Hotel Palma Blanca
#33 of 67 in Santa Marta
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19 mi away
Masaya Hostel Santa Marta
Masaya Hostel Santa Marta
#2 of 189 in Santa Marta
796 reviews
19.1 mi away
La Villana Hostel
La Villana Hostel
#8 of 189 in Santa Marta
230 reviews
16.5 mi away
The Dreamer Hostel
The Dreamer Hostel
#4 of 189 in Santa Marta
636 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ecohostal Yuluka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ecohostal Yuluka

Address: Km 28 Troncal Caribe | 2 Km Antes de la Entrada El Zaino Del Parque Tayrona, Santa Marta 55555, Colombia
Location: Colombia > Magdalena Department > Santa Marta District > Santa Marta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 117 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Marta
Price Range: $10 - $98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Ecohostal Yuluka 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Ecohostal Yuluka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ecohostal Yuluka Hotel Santa Marta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing