We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ecohostal Yuluka
Nearby Hotels
$84
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$128
$93
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$83
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$95
$85
Official Hotel
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$73
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Irotama Resort(Santa Marta)
$116
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$120
$101
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$83
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$192
$182
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Casa Verde Hotel(Santa Marta)
$68
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (279)
Filter reviews
279 results
Traveler rating
166
78
18
10
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
166
78
18
10
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstayrona parkeco hostelpark entrancenoisy roadred snappernatural environmentbring earplugssurrounded by naturewashing machinenoise comingcold waterevery morningcommunal kitchena great place to staycevichesierra nevadastayed here for nights
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
102 - 107 of 279 reviews
Reviewed January 4, 2012

This is a great value right on the edge of Parque Nacional Tayrona with excellent service from Wilmar and Nely who are great guides to the area and all the outdoor activities available (and who will provide transport to and from them for a small fee). All the rooms are hand-built cabins with bath and TV and are comfortable if not opulent. There are limitations: it's not IN the park if thats important to you. You have to pay in cash because there is no infrastructure for credit cards there. Internet access is only via a cell modem on a laptop at the front desk. Road noise is a big problem (may have been worse than normal during our stay due to a road closure in another part of the country that diverted traffic).

On the whole a great option if you're planning to explore the region.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Swingley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2011

A nice pool, ok restaurant and friendly staff. Cabins are ok. The entrance of Tayrona is near so this makes a good spott to discover it. Its on the main road, so traffic is sometime a bit loud.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AdTum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2011

This hostal comes HIGHLY RECOMMENDED! My boyfriend and I stayed here because of its proximity to Tayrona National Park. It's located only about 1 KM from the entrance of Tayrona National Park. The owner offers transportation service to and from the park, and also to other attractions in the area. Wilmar (the owner) and his wife were very helpful in helping us get around. They recommended some private beaches, which we sadly didn't have time to visit. They also recommended La Cascada Valencia (a local waterfall, which I also highly recommend visiting). We stayed in a private air conditioned room with a private bathroom. The room was clean and comfortable and came with a T.V. with DirectTV. There is also a nice, clean pool complete with a small waterfall to swim in. The kitchen area is small, but the food there was fantastic! The kitchen is open from early morning, to about 7:30 PM, so, be sure and order your food before the kitchen closes. The food was traditional Colombian fare consisting of Arepas con Huevo, Patacon, Arroz con Camarones, and delish natural fruit juices, amongst other things. They also sell beer, water, and other beverages. Really Important - They do NOT take credit card payments. So, please be sure to have plenty of cash with you when you stay here. The nearest ATM is extremely far away. Luckily, the owner's wife was headed back to Santa Marta on the day we were checking out, so, we were able to pay her the cash in Santa Marta when we were finally able to get to an ATM. Anyways, I definitely recommend this hostal. I would most definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jessica M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2011

I spent some time looking for accommodation near the entrance to the fabulous Tayrona National Park. as accommodation within the park boundaries is either basic or extremely pricey. Ecohostal Yuluka is very close to the entrance of the park, just off the highway from Santa Marta to Riohacha. This means it is easily reached by public transport from either city (but it also means that very light sleepers might feel disturbed by the noise of the traffic - I sure didn´t mind)

The lodge consists of several huts of different design, all of them quite original and comfortable. My hut, Colibrí, was a steep walk uphill. The hut was very roomy and had a huge bathroom with a big bathtub. It was equipped with TV and A/C. From the porch, complete with hammock, you had a nice view of the surrounding dense vegetation. I loved the hut, but had to get used to the strange smell, which I suppose came from the thatched roof. The room was spotless, so I didn´t care too much. It would be a good idea however to install mosquito nets. The owner said he would see to this.

The Ecohostal offers a wonderful pool (with little waterfall) and its own good restaurant (as there is not much else around). The owners are a good source of information on the area and offer different trips or transportation to various attractions or the airport.

For those who need to know - there was no wifi, but guests were welcome to use the owners´ netbook to connect to the internet.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank OliverE77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2011

This hostal is justoutside the National Park, a short bus ride from the entrance. The owner is very helpful and will drive you to the entrance of the park for a small fee. The hostal is in a really nice setting, very traditional buildings, a small swimming pool a nice cafe area. The food is nice but a little expensive. They have beers, waters, wine, juice all of which you can take from the fridge and let them know and they put it on your bill. All very relaxed. They are great at recommending what to do, how long hikes take etc. The afternoon we arrived we hiked out to Cascada de Vallencia on their recommendation which was beautiful. It was very quiet when we were there. All the double rooms were booked to se booked into the dorm but there were no other guests there. The dorm also had a double bed so we had the full large room and en suite to our selves at dorm prices!! We didnt see the doubles but heard they were very nice rooms. I would definely recommend staying here, we didn't stay within the actual national park and dont regret it. Accomodation within the park is expensive. Yuluka was great but only down side is its rather noisy when sitting in the cafe area as its right on the main road, although its really not that bad and within our room there was no noise other than the rain and the frogs outside our door! Lots of beautiful butterflys, frogs, lizards around and an adorable but hyper dog

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank jenny c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews