We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for relaxing after long hikes”
Review of Aluna Casa y Cafe

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Aluna Casa y Cafe
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 27, 2014

Patrick was away so his brother Jim and his wife (Berry, I think) were running the hostel while we were there and were really friendly and helpful.

Our en-suite private room was very comfortable and clean with plenty of space so was great for relaxing after hiking Ciudad Perdida. The bed was very comfortable! I would recommend trying to get an air con room as it was warm with only the fans.

The team helped us book onward transport which worked out well.

The cafe does a great breakfast and juices at a reasonable price and the hostel is also well located in Santa Marta.

Room Tip: Try to get a room with air con on the 1st floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank AndrewRitchie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (240)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

78 - 84 of 240 reviews

Reviewed June 28, 2014

I had the pleasure of staying in Aluna Casa y Cafe and found the experience lovely and peaceful.The staff where very helpful, the rooms clean and cheerful and the cafe served a great breakfast.The location is very central.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Berenicek21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2014 via mobile

Let me say good things first. Owner responded I emails (at the beginning) very fast. Greeted warmly, they informed us of the restaurants plaza and all was great. Rooms are pretty and clean, communal areas too. Ac and wifi were not working. The other person that came later To work at front desk offered no apologies, ignored us when we told him it wasn't working telling us that we probably wanted a freezing cold temperature? He didn't offer any help he just said that we should give it more time and that it might not cool the room because during the day it's too hot. But this is the reason why we asked for a room with Ac! It's hi in the 90's in the coast. We need a cool room specially during the day when it's hot. After and hour or more waiting for the Ac to cool I had to go downstairs to talk to the guy and finally came up and realized that it was just blowing the same hot air that was in the room. He didn't offer anything either. He face just expressed something Iile "oh well". No offer of a discount, or another room, or refer us to another place. We had to ask for a discount which is not really a discount is just the price for a room with no AC. At This point we didn't feel respected anymore, we felt like we were bothering them so we went out to look for another place which we found right away. When we came back we told the front desk guy we were leaving and he didn't even make eye contact with us. We were even saying "sorry but we have to go. It's just too hot". We were apologetic and he looked pissed. As I return the keys to him he rolled his eyes at me. I'm writing this review because I don't think it's difficult to treat people Nicely and with respect and because I emailed the owner about what happened and he didn't email back. So here you go my fellow travelers, don't stay at Casa Aluna.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kava32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2014

Stayed 4 nights here in May. Pat the owner is a nice guy and very helpful. Cafe serves good food for breakfast at reasonable prices.

Less of a party scene but still a good place to meet non lunatic travellers who still enjoy going out. Would definitely recommend it!

Stayed: May 2014, traveled solo
Thank clovelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2014

First of all we came in the room the roofventilation was not working. There were no Moskitos nets on the open Window.
Internet only worked close to the reception.
The kitchen was really dirty.
But the worst thing was the loundry service. Double the price of all we payed in columbia. And afterward the White clothes were more dirty than before. The boss of the hostel just said "we are not responsible for that, we wash all colors together." Some clothes real were ruind. It seamd that they only want money.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zackundweg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2014

We (couple, 41 & 50) stayed at the Aluna Hostel for three nights in April 2014. We paid $41 a night for a spacious room with private bathroom, air-conditioning and cable television. The standard double bed was average comfortable. The bathroom was clean, although the sink had a leak the staff had trouble fixing. We found two cockroaches in the room (one live, one dead) when we first arrived, but saw none afterwards. Patrick, the owner, was very friendly and helpful. He and the staff helped us arrange tours and reserve rooms in other cities. The adjoining cafe serves good inexpensive breakfasts and good sandwiches. The hostel is just one block from a main commercial street and five minutes walking from the cathedral, restaurants and ATMs. Aluna Hostel is a good value and we would stay there again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnothersEyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2014

Recently stayed in palomino. Spent the first two nights somewhere else and afte a quick excursion to cabo de la vela and punta gallinas stayed at this lovely place. The host, Lucian's is such a lovely, vibrant woman. Caring and hospitable, this place makes you feel at home. Clean, friendly, and incredibly helpful. Will definitely return!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Loni_C001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Marta hotels
0.1 mi away
Casa Verde Hotel
Casa Verde Hotel
#11 of 67 in Santa Marta
285 reviews
0.3 mi away
Masaya Hostel Santa Marta
Masaya Hostel Santa Marta
#2 of 188 in Santa Marta
793 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Dreamer Hostel
The Dreamer Hostel
#4 of 188 in Santa Marta
636 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
La Villana Hostel
La Villana Hostel
#8 of 188 in Santa Marta
230 reviews
2.9 mi away
Calle 11 Hostel Santa Marta
Calle 11 Hostel Santa Marta
#1 of 188 in Santa Marta
195 reviews
0.2 mi away
El Hostal de Jackie
El Hostal de Jackie
#15 of 188 in Santa Marta
240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aluna Casa y Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aluna Casa y Cafe

Address: Calle 21 No. 5-72 | Centro Historico, Santa Marta 23420, Colombia
Location: Colombia > Magdalena Department > Santa Marta District > Santa Marta
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 188 Specialty Lodging in Santa Marta
Price Range: $13 - $43 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Aluna Casa y Cafe 2.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aluna Casa y Cafe is a small family run guesthouse that caters for the independent traveler looking to explore and discover the natural and cultural landscape of the carribean coast of Colombia. Situated in the historical centre of Santa Marta, Aluna is within walking distance of restaurants, bars, supermarkets and the just 4 blocks from the beach. Aluna is designed around a 1920's Spanish villa and is centered around a shaded courtyard. The guesthouse has 3 floors, a roof terrace that looks out over the Sierra Nevada, a guest kitchen, TV room and a cafe. We also have the best book exchange on the coast and a luggage storage facility. *Aluna - Kogi Indian concept - thought, memory and possibility - past, present and future. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Aluna Casa y Cafe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing