We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay”
Review of Aluna Casa y Cafe

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Aluna Casa y Cafe
Certificate of Excellence
Santa Marta, Colombia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Stay”
Reviewed June 28, 2014

I had the pleasure of staying in Aluna Casa y Cafe and found the experience lovely and peaceful.The staff where very helpful, the rooms clean and cheerful and the cafe served a great breakfast.The location is very central.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Berenicek21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    92
    17
    5
    6
See reviews for
10
106
36
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2014 via mobile

Let me say good things first. Owner responded I emails (at the beginning) very fast. Greeted warmly, they informed us of the restaurants plaza and all was great. Rooms are pretty and clean, communal areas too. Ac and wifi were not working. The other person that came later To work at front desk offered no apologies, ignored us when we told him it wasn't working telling us that we probably wanted a freezing cold temperature? He didn't offer any help he just said that we should give it more time and that it might not cool the room because during the day it's too hot. But this is the reason why we asked for a room with Ac! It's hi in the 90's in the coast. We need a cool room specially during the day when it's hot. After and hour or more waiting for the Ac to cool I had to go downstairs to talk to the guy and finally came up and realized that it was just blowing the same hot air that was in the room. He didn't offer anything either. He face just expressed something Iile "oh well". No offer of a discount, or another room, or refer us to another place. We had to ask for a discount which is not really a discount is just the price for a room with no AC. At This point we didn't feel respected anymore, we felt like we were bothering them so we went out to look for another place which we found right away. When we came back we told the front desk guy we were leaving and he didn't even make eye contact with us. We were even saying "sorry but we have to go. It's just too hot". We were apologetic and he looked pissed. As I return the keys to him he rolled his eyes at me. I'm writing this review because I don't think it's difficult to treat people Nicely and with respect and because I emailed the owner about what happened and he didn't email back. So here you go my fellow travelers, don't stay at Casa Aluna.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kava32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2014 via mobile

Stayed 4 nights here in May. Pat the owner is a nice guy and very helpful. Cafe serves good food for breakfast at reasonable prices.

Less of a party scene but still a good place to meet non lunatic travellers who still enjoy going out. Would definitely recommend it!

Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank clovelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed May 22, 2014

First of all we came in the room the roofventilation was not working. There were no Moskitos nets on the open Window.
Internet only worked close to the reception.
The kitchen was really dirty.
But the worst thing was the loundry service. Double the price of all we payed in columbia. And afterward the White clothes were more dirty than before. The boss of the hostel just said "we are not responsible for that, we wash all colors together." Some clothes real were ruind. It seamd that they only want money.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zackundweg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level 6 Contributor
87 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2014

We (couple, 41 & 50) stayed at the Aluna Hostel for three nights in April 2014. We paid $41 a night for a spacious room with private bathroom, air-conditioning and cable television. The standard double bed was average comfortable. The bathroom was clean, although the sink had a leak the staff had trouble fixing. We found two cockroaches in the room (one live, one dead) when we first arrived, but saw none afterwards. Patrick, the owner, was very friendly and helpful. He and the staff helped us arrange tours and reserve rooms in other cities. The adjoining cafe serves good inexpensive breakfasts and good sandwiches. The hostel is just one block from a main commercial street and five minutes walking from the cathedral, restaurants and ATMs. Aluna Hostel is a good value and we would stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnothersEyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hollywood, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 20, 2014

Recently stayed in palomino. Spent the first two nights somewhere else and afte a quick excursion to cabo de la vela and punta gallinas stayed at this lovely place. The host, Lucian's is such a lovely, vibrant woman. Caring and hospitable, this place makes you feel at home. Clean, friendly, and incredibly helpful. Will definitely return!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Loni_C001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2014 via mobile

We stayed for two nights in this hostel. Af first we were really enthusiastic, nice double room, friendly staff, and the option to store our luggage while doing the ciudad perdida trip. We booked ahead for one extra night after the trekking. However when we returned they gave away all double rooms! We were tired after four days in the jungle and sleeping in hammocks, they only had a dorm room with four bunkbeds and insisted it was our mistake! The worst part is that we had to pay 60.000 (which is the same as for a double room!).

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnJens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Marta hotels
0.3 mi away
Casa de Isabella - a Kali Hotel
0.4 mi away
Hotel Boutique Casa Carolina
Hotel Boutique Casa Carolina
#3 of 67 in Santa Marta
476 reviews
0.3 mi away
Masaya Hostel Santa Marta
Masaya Hostel Santa Marta
#2 of 166 in Santa Marta
717 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
The Dreamer Hostel
The Dreamer Hostel
#3 of 166 in Santa Marta
611 reviews
0.6 mi away
La Guaca Hostel
La Guaca Hostel
#5 of 166 in Santa Marta
169 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Villana Hostel
La Villana Hostel
#9 of 166 in Santa Marta
210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aluna Casa y Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aluna Casa y Cafe

Property: Aluna Casa y Cafe
Address: Calle 21 No. 5-72 | Centro Historico, Santa Marta 23420, Colombia
Location: Colombia > Magdalena Department > Santa Marta District > Santa Marta
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 166 Specialty Lodging in Santa Marta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Aluna Casa y Cafe 2.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aluna Casa y Cafe is a small family run guesthouse that caters for the independent traveler looking to explore and discover the natural and cultural landscape of the carribean coast of Colombia. Situated in the historical centre of Santa Marta, Aluna is within walking distance of restaurants, bars, supermarkets and the just 4 blocks from the beach. Aluna is designed around a 1920's Spanish villa and is centered around a shaded courtyard. The guesthouse has 3 floors, a roof terrace that looks out over the Sierra Nevada, a guest kitchen, TV room and a cafe. We also have the best book exchange on the coast and a luggage storage facility. *Aluna - Kogi Indian concept - thought, memory and possibility - past, present and future. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Aluna Casa y Cafe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing