We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DONT EXPECT TO LEAVE”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Brisa Loca Hostel
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“DONT EXPECT TO LEAVE”
Reviewed September 24, 2013

Definetily the highlight of my trip was staying at La Brisa Loca. its a must stay in Colombia. Such a great environment, if you are looking for some rest can lay down at the tv studio, watch some films, or even get the best sunsets ever in the terrace. On the other hand if you are looking for party this is exactly the place to be because it is literally a melting pot. The pool and the bar offer you too much fun, great service and affordable prices, The bartenders are very welcoming, friendly and just warm people, just make sure you get jacob, carolina and josh behind the counter

I highly recommend to go to the mexican restaurant next door. realy tasty, good quality and One of the best setups in santa marta. Try the buffalo wings at the bar and the happy hour drinks.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LauraRonderos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

519 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    248
    161
    55
    31
    24
See reviews for
1
79
127
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
wollongong
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 24, 2013

People come here for the party - everyone friendly here, cool atmosphere and every night ends in the early hours....don't miss it

Reception and bar staff are all helpful and welcoming.

They have a great roof area with a load of hammocks, small pool and tv room to fall asleep after a night out

Room Tip: pay maybe 1 to 4 dollars more to get an air conditioned room. Rooms on second floor are nicer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank el_mochilero_ingles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 23, 2013

One of the best setups in Colombia, great bar, terrace, pool, etc. Just make sure you have an A/C room as it stays pretty hot at night.

Really good place if you want to settle down for a few days, watch some films, have a few drinks and eat some comfort food (burgers, cheese steak sandwiches, buffalo wings). Don't expect to want to leave

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Harry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Marta, Colombia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013

if your going to santa marta you have to stay at la brisa loca hostel. its a great environment great staff, jake, carolina are amazing workers and very friendly. the two owners from the states ryan/evan who happen to be brothers provide great accomodation as well as a fun hostel to meet people and enjoy santa marta. definitely have to go to minca a small town in the hills an hour away and stay at the hostel casa elemento.

Room Tip: all rooms are very nice, if you want to pay more maybe 1-4 us dollars a night more for airconditioni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mistafisha90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level Contributor
56 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2013

La Brisa Loca is a beautiful hostel. I stayed here three nights between various trips to Tayrona, Taganga, and Minca, and I was never disappointed. The rooms were clean and comfortable, and although there's a bar and pool, the staff made sure no one was too loud to get a good night's sleep. It's close to the beach, and a short walk to bus/colectivo transport to nearby cities. Plus, the Mexican restaurant next door, Agave Azul is EXCELLENT.

The only con was the Wifi was a bit slow due to the amount of people using it. I was recommended to stay here by a friend, and I've passed on the recommendations to others, as well.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JColbert29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2013 via mobile

This place is really expensive for what it is and staff is not helpful (read below). You have also to make and strip your own bed which I find a bit annoying, above all when they don't even give you a pillowcase (saying: sorry but I don't know what happened to the laundry lady today!); the air conditioning did not work properly and came on quite late.
The worst thing was asking for transport advice to staff and receiving false information for their own interest. I asked about a bus from santa marta to cartagena and the lady at reception on the night I arrived told me that the only company offering the service was the door to door shuttle and she could sell me tickets for 42cop. I asked why they had a sign advertising brasilia tickets and she said they are no operating anymore. Not convinced, the morning after I ask another member of staff which tells me that brasilia has regular buses but that they are so expensive (30cop plus 2 taxis!) that I should definitely buy the door to door shuttle bus ticket at reception. I refused the offer and decided to go to the terminal where I found Brasilia tickets for 23cop. Usually hostel's staff members are so understanding of backpapers limited budget that I was really surprised of this place. The second lady at the desk also tried to overcharge me for breakfast!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sara1510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 29, 2013

I love this hostel! One of the best, if not the best hostel I've stayed at. This hostel is a one of a kind experience, the bar is a great place to meet people and party. If the Santa Marta heat is too much you can always take a dip in the pool or catch a cool breeze on the rooftop terrace. The bar staff was always helpful and the food is a step above other hostels food choices, cheap drinks and great parties. If your someone who goes to bed by 8:00 this may not be the hostel for you because the bar can close around 2:00 to 2:30. Ricky at reception was always there to answer my questions and recommended places to visit around Santa Marta. You must stay here if your in Santa Marta.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevtron83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Marta hotels
0.2 mi away
Casa de Isabella - a Kali Hotel
0.1 mi away
Hotel Boutique Casa Carolina
Hotel Boutique Casa Carolina
#3 of 67 in Santa Marta
458 reviews
0.1 mi away
Masaya Hostel Santa Marta
Masaya Hostel Santa Marta
#2 of 161 in Santa Marta
708 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
The Dreamer Hostel
The Dreamer Hostel
#3 of 161 in Santa Marta
601 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Villana Hostel
La Villana Hostel
#9 of 161 in Santa Marta
210 reviews
1.5 mi away
Drop Bear Hostel
Drop Bear Hostel
#5 of 161 in Santa Marta
285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Brisa Loca Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Brisa Loca Hostel

Property: La Brisa Loca Hostel
Address: Calle 14 #3-58 | Centro Historico, Santa Marta 23420, Colombia
Location: Colombia > Magdalena Department > Santa Marta District > Santa Marta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 161 Specialty Lodging in Santa Marta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Created by two brothers, Ryan & Evan Doré, La Brisa Loca encompasses everything great they found in the best backpackers hostels around the world after years of traveling and research. This beautiful, centrally located hostel is in a two-story, 80 year-old neo-Republican mansion that has been meticulously restored and remodeled to both recreate the colonial charm of the historic building while providing a variety of amenities for the value conscious backpacker. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your La Brisa Loca Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Brisa Loca Hotel Santa Marta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing