We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasant Peaceful Paradise” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Santorini Hotel Boutique Santa Marta

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Santorini Hotel Boutique Santa Marta
Ranked #35 of 68 Hotels in Santa Marta
Auckland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Pleasant Peaceful Paradise”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stayed in the Villas for a couple of days. The room was good and they had a pleasant swimming pool/cocktail area and a couple of restaurants. A short walk up the road took us to the main hotel where we had an excellent breakfast every morning. They also had a roof-top swimming pool, bar-restaurant and niteclub area. A short walk to the beach where the hotel had a beachfront bar, restaurant and air-conditioned lounge upstairs along with complimentary beach shades and seating. It's a lot quieter and newer than El Rodadero or Santa Marta. You can catch a bus from the main road to El Rodadero or Santa Marta. El Rodadero is a lively, colourful and exciting small town.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank philipholdway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    31
    11
    10
    9
See reviews for
17
36
5
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

I stayed here for a few nights before moving on to the villas. The hotel itself is very nice and unusual. It has 2 pools onsite which were lovely and a third pool up at the restaurant about 20 yards up the road. The rooms were clean and comfortable but a wee bit small. The staff were friendly and accommodating.

We had the hotel to ourselves which was an added bonus however when we look back at it and how much we paid its hard to justify. To put it in perspective, I am paying pretty much the same price per night to stay in a 4* hotel in the centre of Rome (30 mins walk from Collesseum).

As the beach is less than a 5 min walk its not a case of if you stayed somewhere without a swimming pool you would not be able to swim.

Also the restaurant was quite pricey. When we arrived there was only the hotel restaurant to choose from so we were a captive audience, so for 3 adult main courses and a fruit juice and a childs chicken and chips it worked out at over €80 which is very steep by Colombian standards.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank markst33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neiva, Colombia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2012

I stayed at the Santorini and had a wonderful time. The room looked out on the beach and the upstairs pool was alot of fun. The breakfast buffet was well stocked and the trip to town was not expensive. They have cabanas on the beach for the guests to use and they will bring drinks out to you. I checked in early and they didn't charge me. Great fun.

Room Tip: Ask for a west facing room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jason S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2012

I stayed at the Santorini Hotel and Resort in Bello Horizonte. The hotel is situated in a quiet part of town, it's literally a 3 minute walk to the beach. The rooms are lovely, spacious, lots of room and a big bathroom. THe staff are friendly and helpful. Check in and check out were easy and no problems. The only downside to this hotel is that if you want to go the Historic Centre of Santa Marta or Rodadero then it's a 20 minute cab ride although not expensive. If you are looking for a relaxing stay by the beach and are not wanting to explore I recommend it however if you are someone who likes to venture out at night for a nice place to eat or go out for a drink I would recommend then staying somewhere closer. OVerall I really enjoyed my stay and think the hotel is beautiful.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RoseAustralia73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christoffel National Park, Curacao
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2012

We stayed at the Santorini Boutique in Santa Marta for 3 days. We (Marshall's Events planner (marshalleventsplanner@ymail.com)) travel to Santa Marta to plan and create a wedding Event. The overall view and design of the hotel is great nice and neat.
The check in process went terrible the receptionist told us she could not check us in because she couldn't see we made the reservation online, she asked to mail it for her, we email it twice after this she finally could see the reservation. In the mean time we spend a lot of time for check inn, she was really slow. We travel a lot and had never before spend so much time to check inn. For the rest of our stay there was 2 other receptionists, that are more professional. Every night +/- 10:30 PM the hotel turns off all the lights and there is no receptionist but there is a guard.
The area of the hotel is called tourist friendly, although it is not recommended to walk around on your own. There is no ATM machine in the hotel. The hotel call taxis cabs if needed, because they know it is not recommended to take a cab on the street.
There was no iron in the bedrooms, we had to call to borrow one at the receptionist and had to wait very long for them to bring it to the room. The bad-tub sink was clogged so the water didn't drain properly. In the morning hours, There are locals passing by yelling to sell products, which we could hear from the room. The check out process went smooth.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Shandaira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Springs, California
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2012

The hotel is overpriced. The rooms are nice with basic features, but the service leaves alot to be desired. Check in was slow even though reception was completely empty upn arrival. Hot water which they claim they had was lukewarm at best! I almost missed my flight as it took hotel staff 30 mins to confirm mini-bar purchases before they could check meout of the room. The hotel manager lacks patience and people skills required for the service industry. The food is decent yet unspectacular and concentrates heavily on international food instead of offering local varieties. I would seiously discourage anyone from staying in this pretentious concrete slab as it pretends to be everything it is not. If you want a santorini experience: you should probably go to thegreek isles, if you are looking for authenticity and colombian flavors, you should look elsewhere.

Room Tip: Dont stay in this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Allan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Santa Marta hotels

New York, NY
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2012

I stayed at the Santorini Resort, about a hundred yards away from the Boutique on the same street. This is a very sleepy area with a big resort hotel down the street, and what looks like smaller hotels and condos. There is one cash machine in the area, one drug store, and two mini marts. There is one knick-knack store and a couple of bars. If you want to party you need to get in a cab and take a ride over to the Rodero beach area - which has tons of restaurants, bars, and souvenir shops. To get to the beach you have to cross a small one-way street. From 9AM-6PM you can get a hotel cabana and wait service from the hotel staff. The rooftop pool has an amazing view (closed on Tuesdays). The main pool has fountains, is not too deep, and has sunny and shaded areas for lounging.

If you're looking for a lively place, the Santorini isn't there -- yet. The area is developing, and perhaps in a couple of years there will be blaring music and drunk tourists whooping loudly. But right now it's quiet. This is a great place to lay by the pool, eat, go to the beach, nap, and go back to the pool. Your kids won't be bothering you to buy junk because the junk stores are over in Rodero. You can arrange tours (cash only) at the hotel to tour Santa Marta and Tayrona Park. The rooms are clean and basic - my only complaints are no clocks in the rooms, and sometimes the cold water would go low in the shower.

The tour to National Park Tayrona beach is 97,000 pesos a person (about $50 to $55 US). The tour arranger spoke very good English, the guide did not - so it's good to have some basic Spanish. The trip to the park, with introductory video (English subtitles) and boat ride to Crystal Beach (aka la playa del muerto) took about two hours. Lunch in the park for 5 people ran about 140,000 pesos for 5 people. Renting a cabana with 5 chairs - 20,000 pesos for the day. Totally worth it. You can snorkel if you want. Take some small bills to tip the guy who washes the sand off your feet before you get on the bus to return to the city.

We also arranged to take the tour of the old town Santa Marta. Again, the guide spoke Spanish with about one semester of English. The tour was about 4 hours long and included the house where Simon Bolivar died, the statue of the great soccer player "El Pibe" Valderrama, a scenic look out, the cathedral, and the history museum where we got a quick tour of the section on the native peoples of Santa Marta. All the exhibits at the museum have English captions as does some of the stuff at the Bolivar museum. Even if you haven't a lick of Spanish, this tour is worth it. Cost of tour: 55,000 pesos a person. A cab alone would be at least 10,000 to 15,000 and the entry to the Bolivar house is 20,000 for an adult.

Last day we enjoyed the breakfast buffet and rooftop pool. Checking out the concierge arranged a small van to the airport for us free of charge (we tipped the driver).

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mingknit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Marta hotels
0.1 mi away
Santorini Hotel & Resort
Santorini Hotel & Resort
#46 of 68 in Santa Marta
3.5 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
3.9 mi away
Hotel Tamaca Beach Resort
Hotel Tamaca Beach Resort
#4 of 68 in Santa Marta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 542 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mercure Santa Marta Emile
Mercure Santa Marta Emile
#6 of 68 in Santa Marta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Hotel Tequendama Inn Santa Marta by Sercotel
0.2 mi away
Zuana Beach Resort
Zuana Beach Resort
#7 of 68 in Santa Marta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,354 reviews
6.8 mi away
Casa de Leda - a Kali Hotel
Casa de Leda - a Kali Hotel
#2 of 68 in Santa Marta
5.0 of 5 bubbles 477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Santorini Hotel Boutique Santa Marta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santorini Hotel Boutique Santa Marta

Property: Santorini Hotel Boutique Santa Marta
Address: Carrera 2a No. 3-93, Santa Marta 470001, Colombia
Location: Colombia > Magdalena Department > Santa Marta District > Santa Marta
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 68 Hotels in Santa Marta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Santorini Hotel Boutique Santa Marta 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Santorini Hotel Boutique Santa Marta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing