We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place...but brush up on your Spanish!”
Review of Zuana Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Zuana Beach Resort
Ranked #8 of 67 Hotels in Santa Marta
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 8, 2009

I traded a timeshare week to get myself to the Zuana, so I'm not sure what the prices are to determine the "value," but it was a great value for me! :) This was my first time to Colombia, so I wasn't sure what to expect. Bogota's airport was a bit of pain on the way in...beware of "helpers" who are just guys who don't speak English and want to escort you to the gate and then want you to tip them--$20 USD! ha!. It's a small airport, you can find it no problem. Anyway, the Zuana was only a couple minutes from Santa Marta's airport...it was Saturday (timeshare check-in day), so they were running busses for like $.50 USD. Other days you have to cab it, but that was only $7 USD. The hotel was very nice and tropically decorated. Room was spacious and had everything you'd need...blender, coffee maker, toaster oven...etc. The beds are hard as a rock, but somehow once laying on them, they weren't bad and I was surprized that my back didn't hurt in the morning, but it didn't! The pool is beautiful and is right on the beach (which is a little rocky...not white sugary like I was hoping for from the carribbean). There are the annoying beach vendors like Mexico, but security does not let them step one foot on the property. A/C worked very well, and the staff was fantastic too! My spanish is limited, as is their English...but we managed. The bellmen seemed to speak it the best, so I used them a couple of times to translate....and they were very happy to practice their english on us. There is a small grocery store with ice, beer, snacks, etc. I recommend taking (or buying there) a small collapsable cooler to take stuff down to the pool. They have no problem with you bringing your own goods down, they only got a little unhappy after we asked for like our 15th glass of ice. -can't blame them for that, though.
All in all, it was a great, relaxing get-away and my only piece of advice would be to brush up on your Spanish! Oh, and once back in Bogota's airport, be prepared to get patted down (several times) and have your luggage gone through 2 or 3 times before getting into your gate area, where you are sniffed by dogs and your luggage is gone through one final time. Happy Trails!

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Angela M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,580)
There are newer reviews for Zuana Beach Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

122 - 128 of 1,580 reviews

Reviewed May 9, 2009

Although the hotel is older, the rooms are clean and well maintained. The hotel is close to the main highway and there is some traffic noise. The food is buffet style and was excellent with great service (tips go a long way to ensure the service). There is a children's menu as well. The pools are ideal for children, especially the one with the water slide. There is also a special children's pool. The beach is nice, but there are a lot of vendors constantly approaching the guests on the beach trying to sell a variety of things. You will need to say "no gracias" many times before they leave. For those looking for shopping or night life you can take a taxi from the hotel to Santa Marta as the shopping and night life at the hotel are very limited. In summary, this hotel is reasonably priced, good for kids, and a great place to become acquainted with Colombia. Those looking for luxury should go elsewhere.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SDBLima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank lacatabetancur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, traveled with family
Thank SMCONT13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled with friends
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dorxy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, traveled with family
Thank Milo I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017
Thank Ferchandos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Marta hotels
4.1 mi away
Hotel Tamaca Beach Resort
Hotel Tamaca Beach Resort
#6 of 67 in Santa Marta
659 reviews
0.1 mi away
Santorini Hotel & Resort
Santorini Hotel & Resort
#37 of 67 in Santa Marta
151 reviews
1.8 mi away
Estelar Santamar Hotel & Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Casa de Isabella - a Kali Hotel
7.0 mi away
Casa de Leda - a Kali Hotel
Casa de Leda - a Kali Hotel
#3 of 67 in Santa Marta
535 reviews
7.2 mi away
Hotel Boutique Casa Carolina
Hotel Boutique Casa Carolina
#1 of 67 in Santa Marta
505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zuana Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zuana Beach Resort

Address: Carrera 2 No. 6-80 | Bello Horizonte, Santa Marta 470006, Colombia
Location: Colombia > Magdalena Department > Santa Marta District > Santa Marta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Marta
#3 Family Hotel in Santa Marta
#4 Spa Hotel in Santa Marta
Price Range: $111 - $270 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Zuana Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 330
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Between the mountains and the Colombian Caribbean sea you find Santa Marta, the oldest city in South America. In the middle of this tropical paradise and its charm is Zuana Beach Resort. This five star resort offers privileged landscapes and amazing tourist activities that allow relaxation and recreation of its visitantes. In Zuana you can have it all, the best beaches, great service and exclusive accommodation, which makes this the ideal destination to visit and enjoy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Zuana Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zuana Beach Hotel Santa Marta
Zuana Beach Santa Marta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing