We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Solid place in beautiful San Andres”
Review of Hotel Casablanca

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Casablanca
Ranked #6 of 42 Hotels in San Andres Island
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Solid place in beautiful San Andres”
Reviewed June 7, 2014

Recently finished up from 3 night here and overall Hotel Casablanca is a great place to stay in San Andres.

Good:
- location: it is located right in the main town in San Andres with a nice beach right across the street and shops/stores/restaurants all around
- rooms. our room was large, clean, and modern
- amenities: there is a really nice pool with outdoor showers as well as a great free breakfast buffet (coffee is fantastic!)

Not as good.
- shower: while the shower pressure was great with a nice rain showerhead (as well as a large shower), we only had hot water for one shower over 3 days. Not that big of a deal, but would have been nice.
- bilingual staff: it would have been nice if the staff would have spoken english as our spanish is pretty poor. One of the bartenders spoke english but he was the only one we could find. Granted, the vast majority of tourists here are from South America and speak spanish, so it is understandable.
- wifi: once again, not a major issue, but wifi did not work at all in our rooms - we had to go down to the lobby to get a signal

Overall, a very solid hotel at a reasonable price. San Andres is a beautiful place to visit, especially if you want to get away from the popular American spots (we were the only Americans we saw down here).

Sidenote - if you have the time, definitely head to Providencia for a few days! It is a smaller, more tranquil island than San Andres.

Room Tip: It is helpful to know some Spanish as none of the desk people spoke English
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mateo D, Customer Service at Hotel Casablanca, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Thank you for reviewing us on Tripadvisor. It is important for us to know how our guests assess our services as this helps us improve. We are satisfied to know that overall you liked the Hotel Casablanca and we will work on the issues you have noted on your review. We will be looking forward to having you at the Hotel Casablanca in a near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,200 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    474
    460
    159
    57
    50
See reviews for
332
571
21
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2014

Not only was San Andres a huge let down (go right to Providencia, which is amazing) this hotel was absolutely awful. The night manager acted more like a policeman, patrolling the grounds, calling our room late at night, and refusing to allow a friend not staying at the hotel into our room as if this were a pre-teen campground. Eventually, he kicked them out of the hotel at nearly midnight. He was completely unprofessional, down right rude, and more than unhelpful. Stay off the island, but more importantly, stay away from this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Melissa2643
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mateo D, Customer Service at Hotel Casablanca, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
Dear Madam,

Thank you for reviewing us on Tripadvisor. It is important for us to get feedback from our guests. Any feedback, positive or negative, help us assess our services.
We also check every statement made about the Hotel and this case we have just closed the investigation.

The security of our guests is our top priority and thus we cannot allow anyone not registered beyond the reception. We are sure you understand that every hotel has its policies and the Casablanca Hotel has strict policies on security, as so many hotels around the world do.

We have also taken into account the survey you left at the Hotel when you checked out and it was completely different from what you have stated here.

Having said this, we must ask you to change your statement since it is utterly unfair and inappropriate.

Best regards

The Casablanca Hotel Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed May 29, 2014

I must say By far one of the best places to stay in San Andres Colombia ! It's a hidden gem, beautiful beach, small and cozy hotel, A home away from home! Not even to say the food was amazing, my family and I will return! Thank you

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clacla09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mateo D, Customer Service at Hotel Casablanca, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Thank you for reviewing us. It is very important for us to receive feedback from our guests so we can assess the quality of the services we offer. We are pleased to know the Hotel Casablanca has lived up to your expectations. We will be looking forward to having you again with us the next time you visit San Andres Island.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bogota, Colombia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2014

Well shall I begin...
The checkin like many other people have stated took about a week, they could have cared less about us as people, and they proceeded to stop helping us and help some airline people during the middle of our process. They are previously and presently under renovation and that gives you lots of amazing surprises such as: Bathroom door does not have a handle so if after your hands our wet or have lotion good luck getting out without assistance, there is no hot water and thanks to possibly the worst service on earth no assistance with this, and the best surprise was little cable sneaking out of the bedside lamp switch that shocked the (insert explicative here and see photo) out of me. When I ran downstairs to inform them about being shocked, that my daughter of two was playing with the lamp earlier,(and I would have killed them had something happened to her) their response was.."ok I will send someone up". The employee came up in about 10 minutes and then grabbed the lamp from my hand, stated in the morning, and promptly left. I am only 1.5 days into our 4 day trip.. can not wait to see what greatness awaits at checkout.

In closing, San Andrés is amazing, most of the people are so caring and wonderful we have met so far, the hotel location is great, but the service, price, and quality just take what could be a spectacular hotel and make it una porquería/motel 6.

(We have stayed in more than 50 hotels (low to high scale) throughout Colombia and the service here is by far the worst)

There are many other options on the island.. do not COME HERE.. look elsewhere.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank eibborj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mateo D, Customer Service at Hotel Casablanca, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Dear Mr./Mrs.

Thank you for your review on the Casablanca Hotel.

It is very important for us to get feedback from our guests so we can assess the services we offer at the Hotel. This is why we take each and every single review as equally important. When we get any negative feedback we take immediate action and open an investigation on the subject so we can give an appropriate answer to our guests, and this case is not the exception.

Having studied your situation, we must ask you to reconsider the way you have qualified the Hotel as it does not correspond to the real events, making your statement inappropriate and unfair.

To illustrate our point, even though we know that sometimes the check-in process may take more than expected, this time the delay was due to the circumstances of your reservation as it was supposed to be for 2 rooms and 2 additional people but you let us know you were only taking 1 room and wanted a refund for the other one. Unfortunately this was impossible as stated on the terms and conditions of your purchase. Since you still wanted a refund after the explanation, it took more time to complete your registration.

The reason why the aircrew's process was faster is because the Hotel, in partnership with the airline, has every single detail needed to complete their registration prior their arrival.

We have also found out that the problem with the lamp was caused when someone pulled the cable during your stay and gave you a shock when you tried to pull it out. It is important to note that this was not caused by the Hotel.

Having said this, and bearing in mind the survey you left at the Hotel when you checked-out (in which you evaluate positively our services), we must insist you reconsider the way you have assessed us on Tripadvisor.

Warm regards,

The Casablanca Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suzhou, China
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2014

This hotel was the worst I have stayed in Colombia regarding staff attitude.. They will not even greet you if they run into you. When I was sitting by the pool, one of the staff would tell to move from my sunbed because they need to wash the covers..
There was not hot water in the room and another member of the staff would put me a bad face when coming to fix it.
At 11pm at night, someone from housekeeping come to my room and knocked the door thinking the A/C was not working, when I told him we hadnt reported any problems with the A/C he literally turned around and left without saying a word ( we were already sleeping) not even sorry ! not even bye..
I work in a five star hotel in China and I have travelled a lot around the world. I have never found such a bad service and attitude from employees anywhere.

The hote facilities are nice and the location is very convenient. The food is delicious and every day you have different dishes.
The rooms are big and clean but difficult to find a plug to charge the phone or use the computer! I had to move the bed and the furniture .. so not convenient!

Room Tip: Rooms on the building, not the "villas" are newer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Paula G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mateo D, Customer Service at Hotel Casablanca, responded to this review, March 22, 2014
Dear Ms.

We have checked your comments and we do have do disagree with everything you've pointed out in this review. Nothing you've reported did actually happen so we do have to ask you to reconsider what you have written as this damages the image of the Hotel drastically.

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2014 via mobile

We stayed all over Colombia and this hotel was by far the worst experience we had. Check in was delayed until 4:30 leaving us to sit and wait until we could go to the beach. When our second guest arrived he had to wait ten minutes for paperwork to be printed even after the check in process was complete. If they anticipated the second guest which we apprised them of they should have had the paperwork ready. The room itself was spare and poorly furnished - and the water smelled funny coming out of the shower. There are two sides to this hotel - a relatively modern side and a not so modern side. We got the poorer side - some call these the villas. The light was a depressing fluorescence reserved for fourth world countries. The staff was unhelpful and downright rude. After confirming we could delay our check in, the staff reneged on the offer, constantly harassing us by phone and coming to our door while we packed as fast as we could. Staying here absolutely ruined the trip to San Andres for me altogether - I won't be coming back and would discourage my friends from doing the same.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank razorweb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mateo D, Customer Service at Hotel Casablanca, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Dear Mr/Ms

Thank you for reviewing the Casablanca Hotel in San Andres Island. It is important for us to know how our guests qualify our services as reviews help us improve and get better each day.

We have studied this review and we'd kindly like to say we do not consider your rating as fair and appropriate, but we respect it as it is your very own personal opinion. However, it is important that we have our say in the matter.

First of all, we try to make the check-in process as fast as possible. Delays could happen and when it does, we suggest our guests to leave the baggage in our baggage room while our guests start using our facilities.

Regarding to the second guest, it is imperative that we get a photocopy of the passport and ID number to register anyone in the Hotel. This could be the reason why it took longer when this second guest arrived at the Hotel.

Please note that any maintenance problem must be reported at the front desk so we can start working on the problem.

Also it is important that we clarify that the Hotel has been completely refurbished. The Hotel does not have villas but Bungalows or Cabanas which have been refurbished not long ago and cost reasonably more than a standard room. It is important to clarify this as we do not understand how a more expensive kind of room, refurbished a few time ago, was in poorer conditions than a standard room.

The Casablanca Hotel offers you an apology if the staff was rude to you. We will study this situation and soon enough we will take proper actions on the matter.

Once again, the Casablanca Hotel would like to thank you for having taken the time to review us and would like you to reconsider the way you have reviewed on us.

Best Regards,

The Casablanca Hotel Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2014

The hotel is clean, small and is located in front of the most beautiful beach in San Andrés. The rooms are comfortable, we had a very good room,spacious, with balcony ( although most of the rooms are much smaller than this). The things that could be better: the breakfast, which could be better, but it's not bad; the internet works well only in the reception, in the rooms it does not works very well and the air conditioning that which minimum temperature was 23ºC and for me it's not cold enough to have a good sleeping.
The staff was very attentive to all our requests and go to great lengths to satisfy its inglenook. The hotel has 3 restaurants and the food is simply note 10, at any of them! Even if you do not stay there worth going in Sea Watch coffee and to enjoy the food, mandarin juice and lemonade coconut. I highly recommend the hotel and restaurants, for sure!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank BrancadeNeve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mateo D, Customer Service at Hotel Casablanca, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to review the Casablanca Hotel. It is very important for us to know how our guests qualify our services, helping us improve and get better each day. We will be waiting for you at the Casablanca Hotel the next time you visit San Andres Island
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Andres Island hotels
0.3 mi away
GHL Relax Hotel Sunrise
GHL Relax Hotel Sunrise
#5 of 28 in San Andres
1,502 reviews
4.7 mi away
Hotel MS San Luis Village
Hotel MS San Luis Village
#22 of 28 in San Andres
229 reviews
3.0 mi away
Cocoplum Beach Hotel
Cocoplum Beach Hotel
#8 of 42 in San Andres Island
869 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Hosteria Mar y Sol
Hosteria Mar y Sol
#2 of 42 in San Andres Island
431 reviews
6.4 mi away
Sunset Hotel
Sunset Hotel
#4 of 42 in San Andres Island
311 reviews
6.5 mi away
Casa las Palmas Hotel Boutique
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Casablanca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casablanca

Property: Hotel Casablanca
Address: Avenida Colombia, No. 3-59, San Andres Island 880060, Colombia
Phone Number:
Location: Colombia > San Andres and Providencia Department > San Andres Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in San Andres Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Casablanca 3.5*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
National Tourism Registration No. 3436. The Casablanca Hotel of the Island of San Andres, Colombia, is pleased to announce the opening of its new swimming pool. Hotel Casablanca, your right choice in the Island of San Andres. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Casablanca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casablanca Hotel San Andres Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing