We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beachfront, boutique hotel.”
Review of Hotel Casablanca

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Casablanca
Ranked #6 of 42 Hotels in San Andres Island
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
158 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Beachfront, boutique hotel.”
Reviewed January 13, 2014

I had booked for a week. I wanted to change my plans about 4 weeks out but the booking was non-refundable. I find this astonishing, given the notice they had. The hotel itself is conveniently situated right on the beach walkway, and away from the giant, package holiday hotels. My room was extremely clean and tastefully finished in white and scrubbed wood. Plenty of wardrobe space but bathroom was a little tight. Breakfast buffet was large. I ate in one of the restaurants, Mahi Mahi, ostensibly Thai cuisine - or at least one dish was. It was overpriced. The hotel employs many staff but none was particularly friendly. It was usually I who initiated a greeting. Serving staff have honed the ability to avoid looking at customers and service is slow. I asked for a toothpick after every breakfast (7) but only received one twice! On one occasion I was told to get one at the bar! The service here is not aporopriate to the style or the orice of the hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms on the 3rd floor, poolside only, have private balconies. The public walkway on the other side...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PhineasFogg54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mateo D, Customer Service at Hotel Casablanca, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review the Casablanca Hotel. It is important for us to know how our guests qualify our services and that is the reason why your comments will be taken into account. We are pleased to know that you liked the Hotel overall. The Hotel management will study the inconveniences you had with our staff to take proper actions. Once again, the Hotel would like to thank you for reviewing on us. The Casablanca Hotel will be waiting for you again, the next time you visit this part of the Colombian Caribbean
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,157 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    459
    445
    151
    54
    48
See reviews for
318
549
21
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Medellin, Colombia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 12, 2013

I stayed at this place and was unsure of what to expect, value for money is right up there with all others. If you want the Ritz or the Hilton, don't expect it, they never claim to be, so those below complaining about little problems,if you don't like that go somewhere else and pay for more, the breakfast menu was fine, the rooms are good and comfortable, staff are very friendly and were never rude and discourteous, there is a particular culture in San Andres, but they are not rude, get over yourselves, this is a very busy hotel and you get good value for money, the only complaint I had was that one person decided to let me know to wear a shirt in the eating area, but yelled it out so people right across the pool area could hear, remember lady, my money for staying keeps you in a job so show some respect and use your commonsense, a quiet word to the side was all that was needed, courtesy goes a long way, overall I will be back again when coming to San Andres, your hotel rocks and so do your staff,

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kiwipaisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mateo D, Customer Service at Hotel Casablanca, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Thank you for reviewing us. It is important for us to know our guests' experiences at the Casablanca Hotel. We are pleased to know that our services lived up to your expectations. We apologise for any inconveniences you may have experienced at the Hotel: We will take action on the case. The Casablanca Hotel and its staff will be waiting for you the next time you visit this part of the Colombian Caribbean.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2013

Clean, large room. Comfortable bed. We had a sea view room on the second floor. I would suggest asking for a room on a higher floor to avoid noise from the walkway in front of the hotel. Good swimming beach across walkway. Buffet breakfast had a good assortment of hot and cold foods. Would stay here again if visiting San Andres.

Room Tip: Book a sea view room on a high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank char s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mateo D, Customer Service at Hotel Casablanca, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Thank you for your review. It is very important for us to know how our guests qualify our services. We are pleased to know that the service we provided you with lived up to your expectations. We would like to see you again at the Casablanca Hotel soon. The Hotel and its staff will be waiting for you the next time you visit this part of Colombia.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2013

We were staying at the Casablanca Hotel located in San Andres Island for 4 days in the month of agosto/2013 and chose a room overlooking the Sea

We arrived at the hotel around 2 am , we were very poorly received and informed that there was a problem with the room ( note : took half day to solve the problem ) , there was a simple water leak in the bathroom sink which became worse with time. In the hotel there wasn't other similar room available to the reserve , as we were tired from the trip we decided to stay the night in the room and ask for repairing during the day while we would be walking around the island.

In the morning asked the repair and surprising us at the end of the day the problem not had been solved yet, it continued for 2 days more ( have been told for over 2 times) until the manager be informed in the last night . There were problems with the air conditioning too .

We pay dearly for a bad service, the positive was the breakfast, the view of the room and location.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank ThiegoXavier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mateo D, Customer Service at Hotel Casablanca, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Thank you for reviewing us. It is very important for us to know how our guests qualify our services. That's the reason why the information about the issues you have experienced during your stay at the Casablanca Hotel is extremely valuable to us. We will deliver those valuable comments to the respective departments so we can take action and make the appropriate adjustments. We offer you our most sincere apologies for the inconveniences you have experienced while you where at the Casablanca Hotel. Looking forward to seeing you again soon. Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2013

This is a great place to stay in Sapa, made even better by staff who are proud to show you their village and ensure you enjoy your stay. My wife and three teenage children had a wonderful stay. Mr Eddy was a brilliant host. It's not the Hilton by any means but I'd stay here again in a heartbeat. Couldn't recommend highly enough.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeremy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmuff
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2013

Went on Tripadvisor and the place looked like the best place on the Island. We were coming in via a private boat so I was not sure of my arrival date. Upon arrival we took a taxi over and was immediately greeted by a reception person that was very rude she had us sit down in front of her as she checked us in she kept answering other peoples questions that were rudely speaking from behind us where we were sitting. It took nearly an hour to check in. There was a total of 3 of us so we asked for 2 rooms. When we got to our rooms we saw that it was a duplex with a room upstairs with a king size bed and downstairs room had two doubles. So I went right back to the front desk and asked her why did she not explain the rooms to us. She replied we never asked I told her we can just stay in one rooms but was told it would be more expensive so instead of arguing with her I just said whatever and went back to my room.

The breakfast buffet is very mediocre if you show up before they open it and ask for a cup of coffee they are very rude and say they are not open yet.

Checking out was an ordeal as well took nearly 35 minutes. I was so happy to get out of there. The rooms were clean and had nice amenities but the entire staff just seemed very un friendly they do not even say good morning to you. I guess the fish smells from the head down. If you do not speak Spanish you have difficulties communicating with anyone at this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gmuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mateo D, Customer Service at Hotel Casablanca, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Dear Mr/Ms.

We have received your review of the Casablanca Hotel.

First of all we would like to thank you for your review as it is very important for us to know how our guests qualify our services. If I may, I would very kindly like to explain the issues you have experienced during your stay at our Hotel.

It is important that you know why we assigned you a Bungalow and not a Room: As requested by you, after revising the types of accommodation we offer, we allocated you a Bungalow as it has: A terrace facing the pool and garden, Lounge, Dining room, and two independent rooms including all the services the Hotel has to offer. This assignment was made as requested and taking into account your special request of a room in the first floor. This being stated in the voucher provided to us by your Agency.

When an explanation was required, we clarified that we assigned as required.

Regarding the coffee issue, the Hotel has coffee self-service from 6:00am to 11:00pm.

We will take note of your opinion on our food. It's always good to know our guests' perception on the quality of our food so we can improve.

We try to be as much friendly and polite as we can to all our guests. So please excuse us if you felt we were rude to you at some point.

Having exposed our perspective on the issue and in a very respectful way, we do not consider your rating as fair and appropriate, but we respect it as it is your very own personal opinion and perspective on us.

Once again we would like to thank you for reviewing us; as reviews, be good or bad, help us notice and improve the services we provide our guests with.

Best regards,

Hotel Casablanca Management and Customer Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2013

Wouldn't stay any place else, service was great, location is perfect right in front of the beach. You can walk from the beach to the pool, food was good although I find it fun to go out in search for places to eat, therefore only did the breakfast plan but the buffet looked good for all meals, they also have sit down restaurants to choose from. Wifi available. The lobby was under construction but the rooms were perfect. Do ask for ocean view, it's way better than staying in the rooms by the pool. Wouldn't stay any place else in the island.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SDF22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mateo D, Customer Service at Hotel Casablanca, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Thank you for your review. It is important for us to know how our guests qualify our services. We are pleased to know that you liked the Casablanca Hotel and its services and that you had a lively time here on the island. We would like to see you again soon at the Casablanca Hotel the next time you visit this part of the Colombian Caribbean.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Andres Island hotels
0.3 mi away
GHL Relax Hotel Sunrise
GHL Relax Hotel Sunrise
#5 of 28 in San Andres
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,482 reviews
6.4 mi away
Sunset Hotel
Sunset Hotel
#3 of 42 in San Andres Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
4.7 mi away
Hotel MS San Luis Village
Hotel MS San Luis Village
#22 of 28 in San Andres
3.5 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
San Andres Noblehouse Hotel
San Andres Noblehouse Hotel
#2 of 28 in San Andres
4.0 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Bahia Sardina
Hotel Bahia Sardina
#1 of 42 in San Andres Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 492 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Boutique Le castel blanc
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Casablanca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casablanca

Property: Hotel Casablanca
Address: Avenida Colombia, No. 3-59, San Andres Island 880060, Colombia
Phone Number:
Location: Colombia > San Andres and Providencia Department > San Andres Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in San Andres Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Casablanca 3.5*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
National Tourism Registration No. 3436. The Casablanca Hotel of the Island of San Andres, Colombia, is pleased to announce the opening of its new swimming pool. Hotel Casablanca, your right choice in the Island of San Andres. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Casablanca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casablanca Hotel San Andres Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing